1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Verizon] kingo

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by eclipsed039, Nov 19, 2013.

  1. eclipsed039

    eclipsed039 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012

    Jun 11, 2012
    105
    17
    38
    Cleveland, Ohio
    What's everyone's opinion on kingo?
     

    Advertisement

  2. thegreen

    thegreen Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    310
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    310
    49
    63
    PA
    Worked well for me. I've seen some reports that it may take multiple tries for success, and my first attempt failed, but it worked on the second try.
     
  3. ryancmatchett

    ryancmatchett Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,119
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011

    Nov 15, 2011
    1,119
    744
    213
    Male
    Auditor
    Austin, TX
    Didn't work for me first or second try on mj7. Will try again tomorrow, but I understand they are working on an update so who knows.
    I understand the hesitation by mods on other sites and want to know I am being safe.
    A big thanks to vzw tho...and the rep that took the update for me. Lol
     
  4. Digital Controller

    Digital Controller The Real Bass Creator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    953
    Posts:
    12,647
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012

    Sep 5, 2012
    12,647
    3,553
    953
    Male
    Civil Engineer
    Cincinnati, Ohio
  5. MrClean

    MrClean Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    274
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010

    Jan 27, 2010
    274
    73
    73
    Male
    Telecom
    KC MO
    I used it before all the 'questionable' info came about. Then I went in and flashed the updated SU app. From what I read the Kingo developers say the info they were gathering was for statistical reasons. I don't regret using it and I would probably do it again, I have the ability to flash ROMs now and that was the goal. I did go back and flash the updated SU app to ensure I was using the proper 'trusted' one.
     
  6. thegreen

    thegreen Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    310
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    310
    49
    63
    PA
    Question for you- I had intended to flash SU in SS as recommended, but shortly after rooting I got a notification from the play store to update various apps. SU was on the list, so I just let it update figuring that it would replace the Kingo version. Do you think that I'm good with that? Or is there something special about the whole 'flash in SS' method that I'm not aware of? The SU app on my phone shows that it is Chainfire's latest v1.69.
    Thanks.
     
  7. MrClean

    MrClean Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    274
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010

    Jan 27, 2010
    274
    73
    73
    Male
    Telecom
    KC MO
    I'm just guessing, but I believe it was made flashable since there wasn't an update and I don't believe you can remove SU and then add it back in without messing up something. That's the only thing I can figure at least. I'd say you're good now that you have the Chainfire version back on your device.
     
  8. ryancmatchett

    ryancmatchett Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,119
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011

    Nov 15, 2011
    1,119
    744
    213
    Male
    Auditor
    Austin, TX
    Update on mine...3rd time was the charm. Rooted, with Kingo and then Safestrap and now its like a new toy all over again!
     
  9. Digital Controller

    Digital Controller The Real Bass Creator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    953
    Posts:
    12,647
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012

    Sep 5, 2012
    12,647
    3,553
    953
    Male
    Civil Engineer
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Seems that process is just trial and error. At least you got it to work after the 3rd attempt.
     
  10. ryancmatchett

    ryancmatchett Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,119
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011

    Nov 15, 2011
    1,119
    744
    213
    Male
    Auditor
    Austin, TX
    For some reason I found a thread on another forum that said kingo required a usb2 plug..and it worked. Can't say if it was the plug or the 3rd try tho...but true trial and error.
    I am happy with mine and getting to set it all up again. Like I am a new flasher...lol
     
  11. eclipsed039

    eclipsed039 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012

    Jun 11, 2012
    105
    17
    38
    Cleveland, Ohio
    What kingo did you use, Note 3 9006?
     
  12. Digital Controller

    Digital Controller The Real Bass Creator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    953
    Posts:
    12,647
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012

    Sep 5, 2012
    12,647
    3,553
    953
    Male
    Civil Engineer
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Hmm, that is strange considering typically devices on PC's are 2.0 on the front, I know some new cases have the 3.0's on the front side.

    I know I always uninstall my 3.0's since they have issues with 2.0 devices :p

    [TOOL] How to GAIN ROOT on SM-N900V while running MJ7
     
  13. ryancmatchett

    ryancmatchett Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,119
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011

    Nov 15, 2011
    1,119
    744
    213
    Male
    Auditor
    Austin, TX
    One of my 3.0s was typically used for the external drive.. I tried the note 3 on one of them and was not happy with the charge.. But data transfer was unreal! However, using wifi, kies and just simple networking to transfer files, and plugging the phone into the wall wort..
    Somewhat confused by the USB 2.0 directions.. Must be something about the data transfer and hook for kingo.
    Hope it's working for others.
     
  14. eclipsed039

    eclipsed039 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012

    Jun 11, 2012
    105
    17
    38
    Cleveland, Ohio
    I Got the drivers to download but I couldn't get my phone to connect there after. It stayed in connecting limbo with both 2.0 and 3.0 cables. Any Ideas?
     
  15. Digital Controller

    Digital Controller The Real Bass Creator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    953
    Posts:
    12,647
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012

    Sep 5, 2012
    12,647
    3,553
    953
    Male
    Civil Engineer
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Have you made sure that you are connecting the 2.0 usb into a 2.0 port on your computer, PC's get mad at that ;)
     
  16. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #10
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    13,058
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,058
    12,939
    2,043
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    Dang it! The OTA broke my root: no need to wipe the phone and re-root until after the KitKat OTA because it will likely break root too :(
     
  17. ryancmatchett

    ryancmatchett Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,119
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011

    Nov 15, 2011
    1,119
    744
    213
    Male
    Auditor
    Austin, TX
    Unfortunately a common comment. Sorry Chief. Good luck.
     
  18. Digital Controller

    Digital Controller The Real Bass Creator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    953
    Posts:
    12,647
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012

    Sep 5, 2012
    12,647
    3,553
    953
    Male
    Civil Engineer
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    I should of warned you Chief, but I had no idea you planned on doing the OTA. :(
     
  19. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #10
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    13,058
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,058
    12,939
    2,043
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    Neither did I! It snuck in a 2:30 AM when the light of my phone on the nightstand woke me up. Had I any wherewithal at that time of the morning I would have rejected it. Methinks they shot it out at that time on purpose.
     
  20. thegreen

    thegreen Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    310
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    310
    49
    63
    PA
    So what FW version are you on after the OTA?
    Can't you just reroot using Kingo?

    True that the KitKat update will probably kill root again, but you probably have plenty of time until then... after Samsung updates it, Verizon's gonna take an eon and a half to do their stuff.
     
  21. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #10
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    13,058
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,058
    12,939
    2,043
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    The Build Number is JSS15J if that's what you're talking about.

    I'm actually mulling going full out, but I will NOT be the guinea pig on that one. Hence my new post in ATR. I want to know what all options I have at this point.
     
  22. thegreen

    thegreen Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    310
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    310
    49
    63
    PA
    That's it? No baseband added to the end of it? Mine ends in MJ7, for instance...
     
  23. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #10
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    13,058
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,058
    12,939
    2,043
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    Yeah, I gave you the short version. Here it is:

    N900VVRUBMJ7

    Looks like I'll be backing up what I can to the PC and re-rooting this thing, installing a custom ROM and going all out. Android 4.4 pretty much promises to end root for us, and I want it! :D
     
  24. thegreen

    thegreen Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    310
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    310
    49
    63
    PA
    I just moved stuff to the ext sd, then removed it to use kingo. Good luck!

    I have faith that the dev community will crack 4.4, they always do!
     
  25. thegreen

    thegreen Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    310
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    310
    49
    63
    PA
    Also, as far as being able to check out KitKat, I'm considering trying one of the custom roms available for the Gnex. Mine's been sitting on the desk feeling lonely lately, so I figure it won't hurt to use it for some experimenting.
     

Share This Page

Loading...