1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Verizon] Need help! Stuck!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mills23, Jun 10, 2013.

  1. mills23

    mills23 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #292
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    752
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    752
    29
    78
    Female
    I am stuck on the Verizon boot logo. I can reboot into Odin? At least that's what it says in red at the top left of the screen. The problem is it just sits there with a big green android with "downloading do not turn off target" it does nothing else can someone tell me how to get my phone back?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Atma

    Atma Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    6,069
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011

    Dec 26, 2011
    6,069
    2,901
    533
    Male
    Survival
    North Carolina
    Hi Mills. Can you get to recovery and try a factory reset?


    • Make sure your device is completely off
    • While holding volume up simultaneously press the Power button
    • As soon as the phone vibrates, let go of the Power button but keep holding Volume Up
    • When you see the "Samsung Galaxy S4" logo (not just the word "Samsung"), right after that, the next screen you should see is your recovery
    • Don't let go of Volume Up until you see your recovery
    • Select factory reset and reboot when its done.

    If that doesn't work, see this thread on how to use Odin and restore your system back to stock.
     
    mills23 and halon like this.
  3. halon

    halon hakuna matata
    Rank:
     #74
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,402
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010

    Apr 13, 2010
    4,402
    1,396
    413
    Boilermaker, Norfolk Southern
    Altoona, Pennsylvania
    Thank you Atma! I was trying to help her thru pm but I don't have the S4 and wasn't able to help with Odin. Again, thank you!

    @mills23...do exactly what he listed. Rooting can be a headache sometimes!
     
    mills23 and Atma like this.
  4. Atma

    Atma Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    6,069
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011

    Dec 26, 2011
    6,069
    2,901
    533
    Male
    Survival
    North Carolina

    You're welcome and thanks for trying to help. :)
     
  5. mills23

    mills23 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #292
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    752
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    752
    29
    78
    Female
    OMG! That worked! Thank you both!
     
    Atma likes this.
  6. Atma

    Atma Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    6,069
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011

    Dec 26, 2011
    6,069
    2,901
    533
    Male
    Survival
    North Carolina

    Which one worked? :D

    Factory reset?

    Glad you got it going. :thumb:
     
  7. mills23

    mills23 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #292
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    752
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    752
    29
    78
    Female
    I did the factory reset. But now i don't have a status bar. Every time i tried to do a back up it said that the md5 was mismatched. idk what to do now. Makes me wish i would of never messed with it in the first place!
     
  8. Atma

    Atma Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    6,069
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011

    Dec 26, 2011
    6,069
    2,901
    533
    Male
    Survival
    North Carolina

    I'm not sure what the problem would be now. You can go back to stock and start over if you want to with that other link I posted. "see this thread on how to use Odin and restore your system back to stock. "
     

Share This Page

Loading...