1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

[Verizon] need some help flashing M1 rom

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by *idroid*, Jan 5, 2012.

  1. *idroid*

    *idroid* Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010

    Mar 2, 2010
    45
    5
    16
    i downloaded m1 rom from rom manager. i checked both boxes to wipe and clear data. the phone rebooted and a android with a red (!) over it showed up for about a minute then it reboot again and started up normal. what did i do wrong
     

    Advertisement

  2. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    It sounds like you are in the stock recovery not CWM, you have to flash CWM to flash a rom.

    I would also suggest not using rom manager to flash roms. I've seen many times where rom manager messes up when flashing a rom and softbricks a phone. I would use rom manager to flash CWM then use the reboot in recovery option within rom manager first make a backup then choose the options to wipe data/factory reset, wipe cache partition, (under advanced) wipe dalvik cache, (under mounts and storage) wipe system, then choose the install zip from SD card, navigate to the rom and flash it then reboot.
     
  3. *idroid*

    *idroid* Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010

    Mar 2, 2010
    45
    5
    16
    i flashed cwm recovery 5.5.0.4 oh well im going to try without rom manager tomorrow
     
  4. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    I figured you did, I think rom manager will require it to be flashed to work. Did you check to see if you have the file in /system that puts the stock recovery on at boot? If you do have it then rename it so it doesn't rewrite your recovery
     
  5. *idroid*

    *idroid* Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010

    Mar 2, 2010
    45
    5
    16
    no i need to check that. i just tried to enter recovery from rom manager and the same thing happened
     
  6. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    That is strange. Even with the file people have been able to reboot in recovery via rom manager without issues.

    If you can't get it to work after checking for the file I would suggest try flashing CWM in fastboot.
     
  7. *idroid*

    *idroid* Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010

    Mar 2, 2010
    45
    5
    16
    how can i check for this file and what im i looking for. thanks for all the help
     
  8. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    Use a file browser (I like root explorer) and check /system to see if there is a file in there called "recovery-from-boot.p" in there. If there is then rename it.

    If you don't have root explorer and don't want to pay for it then you can use ES file explorer to get the job done but it takes some set up
     
  9. *idroid*

    *idroid* Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010

    Mar 2, 2010
    45
    5
    16
    yep i got the recovery-from-boot.p file under system. so why is it there and i can rename it whatever i want. this is not going to mess anything up?
     
  10. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    No it shouldn't mess anything up if you rename it.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...