1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

[Verizon] New radios = no bueno...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by kinfolk248, May 4, 2012.

  1. kinfolk248

    kinfolk248 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    522
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    522
    37
    68
    Jackson Mississippi
    flashed the new official 4.0.4 radios and call quality is still not up to par as i would like it. i was so hoping that the issue with the other person not being able to hear me would improve buttttt......guess not! i can hear them fine but they hear clicks or nothing at times, straight sucks!!!

    anyone else...?
     

    Advertisement

  2. TheRoosevelt

    TheRoosevelt Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    283
    Posts:
    815
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011

    Oct 11, 2011
    815
    1,289
    283
    Classy-man
    USA
    That doesn't sound like a radio problem, that sounds like a hardware problem.

    Radios are, as far as I know (and I could be underinformed), for CDMA and LTE, or in other words, data. I don't think new radios will affect call quality (especially weird things like clicks), for better or worse. Either way, for me, it does what it's supposed to do, i.e. connecting to 3g and handoffs between 3g and 4g is much faster now.

    Anyway, yeah, hardware problem. Very no bueno. You should get it checked out at a Big Red store.
     
  3. TexDaddy57

    TexDaddy57 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    180
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010

    Dec 26, 2010
    180
    19
    38
    Male
    Water Treatment Plant Operator, Owner/Culinary Art
    Somewhere north of Azle Texas

    My thoughts exactly. Sounds like a hardware problem. I had a Galaxy fasinate that did something like that. Got a replacement and all was right in my world. Have it checked out for sure. and anyone in N. Texas...there is a verizon store that will back up & unroot your phone...fix it and re root it for ya! Hows that for service ;)


    has a "kid" working there that does it I should have said that...gotta love small towns...Azle
     
  4. kinfolk248

    kinfolk248 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    522
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    522
    37
    68
    Jackson Mississippi
    only started happening recently (as in last week or so). before then everything was fine then bam call issues. but i am noticing a pattern. happens more often when i call rather than receive a call for whatever reason...idk

    and i thought radios were how the phone communicated with the network towers...

    ok so if i do indeed take it to the store, think i need to stock it out first?
     
  5. mruno

    mruno Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    946
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010

    Jun 30, 2010
    946
    179
    103
    Male
    Home
  6. colchiro

    colchiro Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    I would go back to stock first, just to make sure it's not a software (rom) problem.
     
  7. kinfolk248

    kinfolk248 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    522
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    522
    37
    68
    Jackson Mississippi

    hmmm, interesting... yea i figured i'd try a different rom/kernel even though i doubt it effects call quality but who knows...
     
  8. colchiro

    colchiro Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    A lot of roms share common code and stock is what you'll need to reproduce it (if you can) at VZW.
     
  9. byrds8

    byrds8 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    147
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011

    May 21, 2011
    147
    14
    38
    USAF
    Software can cause issues as well as hardware. The software is what allows the radios to function and decode the signal coming in. Granted Im not saying what you're experiencing isn't hardware by any means. Was just pointing out it can actually be either. Odds are though it could be hardware, especially if it wasn't happening before but is now.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...