1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Verizon] New voicemails (-1)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jmm92108, Jan 10, 2014.

  1. jmm92108

    jmm92108 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010

    Feb 2, 2010
    109
    18
    58
    Male
    phone nerd
    San Diego
    I have a Verizon Galaxy S3. A few months ago I got a notification in my notification bar that I have a voicemail. It says "New voicemail (-1) Dial *86". I can't get rid of it, its been there for months. The notification has been there for so long, I can't even remember what happened to cause it to be there.
    When I dial *86 and enter my PIN, it says I have no voicemails.
    But I don't even use the Google voicemail app, I use Google Voice for voicemails.

    I'm rooted and I have the App Quarantine app. I put the Voicemail app in quarantine and rebooted, but the notification is still there!

    Does anyone have any ideas how I can get rid of the voicemail notification? And BTW, how could I have "-1" voicemails??

    [​IMG]
     

    Advertisement

  2. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #21
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    12,002
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,002
    4,970
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    If you identify your carrier we will move your question to the S3 all things root sub-forum where it is discussed.

    ... Thom
     
  3. jmm92108

    jmm92108 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010

    Feb 2, 2010
    109
    18
    58
    Male
    phone nerd
    San Diego
  4. tensazan

    tensazan Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    379
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011

    Apr 21, 2011
    379
    82
    53
    Indiana
    Have you tried wiping your cache and dalvik cache?
     
  5. jmm92108

    jmm92108 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010

    Feb 2, 2010
    109
    18
    58
    Male
    phone nerd
    San Diego
    I just wiped cache and dalvik cache and rebooted and that didn't fix it.
     
  6. tensazan

    tensazan Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    379
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011

    Apr 21, 2011
    379
    82
    53
    Indiana
    Have you tried doing a clean reflash of your rom (make sure you back up everything if you do)?

    Other than that, the only thing I can think of is to clear the data from the voicemail app... but I don't know if that could cause any issues (again make sure you back it up if you try this).
     
  7. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    29,595
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    29,595
    24,074
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    Try calling yourself (from your device) and leaving a voicemail. Listen to it, then delete it?
    What happens when you longpress that notification? Is there an option to remove it?
     

Share This Page

Loading...