1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Verizon] One click root for VZW S4

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jkc120, May 30, 2013.

  1. jkc120

    jkc120 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,266
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010

    Apr 12, 2010
    2,266
    1,107
    313
    Senior Software Engineer
    El Dorado Hills, CA

    Advertisement

    fam and mills23 like this.
  2. syntrix

    syntrix Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,418
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    2,418
    303
    163
    engineer
    The South
    Beat me to it! I should have waited a few hours as I just rooted the wrong way today with links here, and then the right way with links elsewhere.

    Anyone try it here yet? I'll bet the only disadvantage is the flash counter incrementing, if that's even a thing. :D:D
     
  3. Janth

    Janth Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011

    May 21, 2011
    15
    0
    15
    This is probably a stupid question. What does it mean "Pick option and go!!"

    Is Option actually a button to click?
     
  4. DragonSlayer95

    DragonSlayer95 Resident Air Bender
    Rank:
     #37
    Points:
    653
    Posts:
    8,766
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012

    Mar 9, 2012
    8,766
    3,731
    653
    Male
    Shreveport, Louisiana
    According to the screenie on xda, I'm sure that's referring to either option 1: root device, option 2: prep for recovery, option 3: install cwm, option 4: install twrp all within the root toolkit
     
  5. Janth

    Janth Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011

    May 21, 2011
    15
    0
    15
    it doesn't seem to explain it very well on XDA, do I still use motochopper and Odin at some point and booting the phone in odin mode or whats going on?
     
  6. 3ricG

    3ricG Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    215
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011

    Apr 25, 2011
    215
    9
    36
    Philadelphia
    Does this wipe the phone, or is this the same as the old method, just scripted?
     
  7. 3base

    3base Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010

    Feb 14, 2010
    37
    23
    18
    Camarillo, CA
    Reading through the thread on XDA, it does not seem to wipe the phone.


    I'm going in!

    lol...when the download link comes back online.

    Back online and downloading now
     
  8. halon

    halon hakuna matata
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,399
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010

    Apr 13, 2010
    4,399
    1,395
    313
    Boilermaker, Norfolk Southern
    Altoona, Pennsylvania
    Here's a short video of downloading the program. It would have been nice if the guy actually had the phone to do show the whole process. I'm sure a video will be out soon enough with that.

     
  9. TCM

    TCM Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011

    Apr 1, 2011
    85
    32
    23
    Does not wipe phone, seems to be a scripted version of old method from everything I read.
     
    3ricG likes this.
  10. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    10,634
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,634
    7,397
    1,333
    Washington, DC
    Added link to the ATR guide.
     
  11. iToddh

    iToddh Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2013

    Apr 13, 2013
    10
    0
    15
    This may be a stupid question, but I've been out of the rooting game for a long time.

    Will this work on Mac or just windows? I see .exe files once unzipped.
     
  12. jkc120

    jkc120 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,266
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010

    Apr 12, 2010
    2,266
    1,107
    313
    Senior Software Engineer
    El Dorado Hills, CA
    Unless there are some Mac binaries inside or a .dmg I'd say it is probably windows only. :(
     
  13. iToddh

    iToddh Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2013

    Apr 13, 2013
    10
    0
    15
    That's what I was afraid of... Well only one way to find out!
     
  14. iToddh

    iToddh Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2013

    Apr 13, 2013
    10
    0
    15
    I successfully rooted my device earlier and all is going well, but I'm running into a snag for backing up in custom recovery/flashing new ROMs. The recovery isn't recognizing my extSD card, but the phone when booted will. I've moved the ROMs to the extSD to save space and want my backup to go there as well.

    Anyone found a fix for this at all?
     
  15. mills23

    mills23 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #278
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    752
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    752
    29
    78
    Female

    I'd like to know this too.
     
  16. mills23

    mills23 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #278
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    752
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    752
    29
    78
    Female
    This is not working for me
     
  17. halon

    halon hakuna matata
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,399
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010

    Apr 13, 2010
    4,399
    1,395
    313
    Boilermaker, Norfolk Southern
    Altoona, Pennsylvania
    I'm surprised there is not a video walkthrough of this by now. If someone is member of XDA they should ask someone on there to do one. Or even someone from here.
     
  18. BzB

    BzB Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    521
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009

    Oct 6, 2009
    521
    106
    93
    i had the same issue. my 64gb sd card was formatted in exFAT. recovery doesn't like the exFAT format. recovery does plays nice with fat32 though.

    you can reformat your sd card to fat32. first you will need to back up all contents of your sd card to your computer. formatting erases the card, so backing it up is necessary so you can copy the data back to the card after formatting.

    once the sd card is backed up you can format to fat32. i used a utility from the following link to format my card to fat32. Ridgecrop Consultants Ltd

    once formatted to fat32 recovery sees the card and can backup/restore just fine. it doesn't impact any features of the sd card in the phone. then copy your data back to the sd card and you're all set.
     
  19. mills23

    mills23 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #278
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    752
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    752
    29
    78
    Female
    Now that I'm rooted where do I go to find all the cool stuff I can do?
     

Share This Page

Loading...