1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Verizon] OTA Update Failed

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by daniel178, Jan 11, 2014.

  1. daniel178

    daniel178 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011

    Mar 26, 2011
    88
    1
    16
    Hello,

    I just tried doing the OTA update for my Verizon G2 (rooted, stock). I downloaded fine, phone rebooted, got to the initial update screen, and in the middle it read:

    Err : 0x1111004

    Then the phone restarts, saying update failed, no changes made.

    Any suggestions? I have "OTA RootKeeper -no 4.3 support" (here) installed, but that's it... no TWRP, no ROMs, just stock rooted.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Rukbat

    Rukbat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    843
    Posts:
    10,392
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012

    Jan 16, 2012
    10,392
    2,894
    843
    Male
    Being retired and writing Tasker tasks.
    Fayetteville, NC, USA
    Unroot, OTA, reroot.
     
  3. copestag

    copestag Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,355
    Joined:
    May 23, 2010

    May 23, 2010
    1,355
    247
    143
    hmmm

    theres nothing inherent about root that would prevent the OTA as long as you dont have a custom recovery installed.... and rootkeeper doesnt do anything but a backup loop to preserve the root (it actually unroots then reroots in a sense on its own)

    in all likelyhood it was a bad download and thats why it failed........ been known to happen on many occassions

    having said that I would also agree with ruk that a simple solution would be to unroot... OTA.... then root again

    be sure to use the latest ioroot for the 12b update to root again (I believe the latest is 17 now)

    however IMO theres nothing in the OTA worth worrying about anyhow.... Im on stock ROM and I didnt bother to take the OTA (froze the updater so it didnt ask)...... everything in the update can be easily added through other mods (including the 'radio' updates)... and if nothing else most ROMS have already included the update in their latest versions
     
    bberryhill0 likes this.
  4. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
     #15
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,183
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,183
    8,681
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    If you have frozen or removed any apps with Titanium or similar, it could cause a failure. I believe it might also fail if you ever applied the wireless hotspot hack in that it required removal of stock files, replacing them with modded ones.
     
  5. copestag

    copestag Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,355
    Joined:
    May 23, 2010

    May 23, 2010
    1,355
    247
    143
    ahh yes..... forgot about the hotspot hack..... that will definitely cause the OTA to fail
     
  6. daniel178

    daniel178 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011

    Mar 26, 2011
    88
    1
    16
    Thanks so much! I changed the HotspotProvision files, and it worked perfectly!! Didn't even need to unroot temporarily. Or do anything else. And the whole thing took only about 2 percentage points off my battery :)


    Thanks again!
     
  7. starrk

    starrk Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014

    Mar 12, 2014
    1
    0
    5
    What did you do as far as changing the hotspotprovision files? I'm the exact same boat as you were and have been fighting with this for months lol!

    I'm guessing you had to change the file somehow, take the OTA, then change the file back for the hotspot to work again. Steps taken and details would be so much help. Thanks a ton in advance!
     
  8. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
     #15
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,183
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,183
    8,681
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    Check out post #14 here:
    Mobile Hotspot modded to skip provisioning check (VZW) - xda-developers

    It has a link for the stock version.
     
  9. gamingpsychotic

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014

    Apr 1, 2014
    1
    0
    5
    First post, had to remove the link because of that. Anyways! I grabbed the stock files from that post (MobileUpdateClient.apk and MobileHotspot.odex), placed them under system/app, restarted, but now hotspot just crashes, and the update still doesn't work. Any tips?
     
  10. bberryhill0

    bberryhill0 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    2,716
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010

    Read the entire thread you got the files from.
     

LG G2

The LG G2 has a 5.2-inch display with 1080p resolution. It also has a Qualcomm Snapdragon 800 processor, 2GB of RAM, a 13 megapixel camera, NFC, and more.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...