1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Verizon] Phone Bricked?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jubex, Jan 4, 2013.

  1. jubex

    jubex Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013

    Jan 4, 2013
    11
    2
    16
    To make a long story short my friend was messing about on my galaxy note 2 and said it wouldn't come on. He said he was trying to install some fonts to see how it'd look.

    It was rooted and I tried holding the Samsung buttons to enter recovery mode and I tried resetting the phone to factory settings but it still stops loading on verizons lte splash screen.

    Any ideas?
     

    Advertisement

  2. jubex

    jubex Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013

    Jan 4, 2013
    11
    2
    16
    Anyone?
     
  3. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,585
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,585
    14,428
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    welcome to the forums!!!!!!!!

    what carrier do you have for the note 2? that way i can move you to folks who are more familiar with your device. the root forums are specific to what carrier you have.
     
  4. jubex

    jubex Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013

    Jan 4, 2013
    11
    2
    16
    Its Verizon.
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  5. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,585
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,585
    14,428
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    ok i moved you to the note 2 verizon root forums.

    hopefully someone here can help you out as i do not have this phone.

    good luck:)
     
  6. jubex

    jubex Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013

    Jan 4, 2013
    11
    2
    16
    I tried restocking it via odin but I'm on a mac and heimdal isn't responding.
     
  7. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,585
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,585
    14,428
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    do you know what fonts they were? where did your friend get them? do you have a link? exactly how did he do it?

    so can't access recovery? can the phone boot up?

    the more info we can get the better off, peeps here can help.
     
  8. jubex

    jubex Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013

    Jan 4, 2013
    11
    2
    16
    Some font he downloaded, jellyka or something. No links and he's not here and I can't text him.

    I can get into android recovery but I've already tried to factory reset but it didn't work, just loops on the verizon lte logo at boot up.
     
  9. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,585
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,585
    14,428
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    was the font flashed through recovery? and you are stuck in a bootloop, correct? can't boot the phone up?
     
  10. jubex

    jubex Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013

    Jan 4, 2013
    11
    2
    16
    Yeah it's stuck in a bootloop. I don't know if it was through recovery or through some program.
     
  11. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    10,628
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,628
    7,392
    1,333
    Washington, DC
    Generally Odin not responding points to drivers not being configured correctly, need to try a different usb port, or a different usb cable. I'm not familiar with macs, but if you had access to windows, I could help out more.
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  12. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    30,012
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,012
    24,921
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    I'm not sure if Odin will work on a mac at all....???
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  13. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    10,628
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,628
    7,392
    1,333
    Washington, DC
    I was also under the impression that it was Windows only as well, but I wasn't sure if he was emulating windows or if they made a mac client.
     
    Mikestony likes this.
  14. jubex

    jubex Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013

    Jan 4, 2013
    11
    2
    16
    I've got an old linux laptop. Would I be able to fix it from that?
     
  15. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    30,012
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,012
    24,921
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    Not sure as I was looking at this guide to root. Is has the stock, rooted images you can install via Odin, but it's for windows.

    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2024207
    Edit: appears to be a mac solution there also but it doesn't look like an image to flash tho...

    How did you root in the first place?
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  16. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    10,628
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,628
    7,392
    1,333
    Washington, DC
    Possibly, I'm not sure if you can use Odin with wine successfully or not.
     
  17. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,585
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,585
    14,428
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    so you say heimdal is not responding what do you mean? try running that on the linux pc.

    i found this guide for heimdal:
    How to Root Galaxy Note 2 on Linux/Ubuntu! | Galaxy Note 2 Root!

    not sure if that will help. use the beginning part to get recovery and see if you can get into recovery afterwards.
     
    Mikestony and jhawkkw like this.
  18. jubex

    jubex Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013

    Jan 4, 2013
    11
    2
    16
    It was through exynosabuse apk
     
  19. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    30,012
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,012
    24,921
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    Hmm, you could try the link Ocn provided there..perhaps that may help ya:)
    If not, can you get your hands on a windows computer?
    Or if on the mac, as jhawk suggested, install the drivers properly or a different usb cable.
    I am not familiar with a mac either, sorry.
    Can you re-dowload hiemdal on the mac? Perhaps it was a bad download?
    I'm just throwing out some ideas here for ya:p
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  20. OutOfPhase

    OutOfPhase Premium Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    523
    Posts:
    4,023
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010

    Dec 7, 2010
    4,023
    2,149
    523
    Retired Lineman
    Tampa, FL
    You can use Heimdall on a linux machine.
     
    ocnbrze, jhawkkw and Mikestony like this.
  21. OutOfPhase

    OutOfPhase Premium Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    523
    Posts:
    4,023
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010

    Dec 7, 2010
    4,023
    2,149
    523
    Retired Lineman
    Tampa, FL
    I am not a mac user but from what I have read there are no drivers to install when connecting a phone it automatically see's it as a drive.
     
    Mikestony and ocnbrze like this.
  22. jubex

    jubex Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013

    Jan 4, 2013
    11
    2
    16
    I borrowed a friends windows laptop.
     
  23. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    30,012
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,012
    24,921
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    Nice. I hope it works out for you :D
     
  24. jubex

    jubex Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013

    Jan 4, 2013
    11
    2
    16
    Odin doesn't recognize the phone??

    Nevermind I got it. Seeing if it works now.
     
  25. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    30,012
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,012
    24,921
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    Are the drivers installed?
     

Share This Page

Loading...