1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

[Verizon] Radio-Basic Guide Help

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Skydogg320, Apr 26, 2012.

  1. Skydogg320

    Skydogg320 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011

    Dec 19, 2011
    6
    3
    6
    Hi,

    As of yesterday, I'm a new member of the rooted/custom rom cool kid club.

    It was pretty easy as there are some excellent tools (wugfresh!) and good documentation for rooting and installing roms.

    However, the same can't be said with upgrading the radios. I would be much obliged if someone could take the time to reply with:

    1) How to tell what radio's you currently have on your phone

    2) Working download links with clear instructions on which file to get for Verizon, GSM or whatever.

    3) Explicit steps to flash new radios.

    Thank you!
     

    Advertisement

  2. jbdan

    jbdan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    7,121
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    7,121
    3,187
    513
    atl ga usa
    First, welcome here!!

    Go here and you can decipher which named radios refer to which OS versions/Builds.

    edit: btw you want "toro" radios for the vzw nexus :D
     
    trophynuts and Skydogg320 like this.
  3. Skydogg320

    Skydogg320 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011

    Dec 19, 2011
    6
    3
    6
    Thanks for the quick reply.

    So to get 4.0.4 radios I get the toro file (FA02), which is a .img file. Does this work like the .zip file you say I should put on the /sdcard and flash?

    edit: aw, nevermind-I see these are all Toro files. Thanks again!
     
    jbdan likes this.
  4. Skydogg320

    Skydogg320 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011

    Dec 19, 2011
    6
    3
    6
    Success! Guess I was making it more difficult that I needed too. As usual. :eek:
     
    jbdan likes this.
  5. jbdan

    jbdan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    7,121
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    7,121
    3,187
    513
    atl ga usa
    DId you end up finding the .zip and flashing via CWM?
     
  6. djc999

    djc999 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    43
    0
    15
    There are two different FA02 files. One just says toro the other says cdma. Do I flash both of them?
     
  7. jbdan

    jbdan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    7,121
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    7,121
    3,187
    513
    atl ga usa
    4.0.4 (IMM30B) radio package (from unofficial 4.0.4 OTA rom update)
    CDMA Radio Version - FA02
    LTE Radio Version- FA02

    You want to dnld THIS and flash it in CWM. It is ONE .zip file
     
  8. djc999

    djc999 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    43
    0
    15
    Sounds good one more question. Where is the sdcard folder? I can't find it.
     
  9. trophynuts

    trophynuts Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,630
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    5,630
    1,792
    313
    I work in a Tech related field. Have been in a tec
    SouthEastern US
    put it on your phone just like you do any other file. usually i create a specific folder in my sd card labeled "rooting" and put all root related stuff in there.
     
    jbdan likes this.
  10. djc999

    djc999 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    43
    0
    15
    Do I need to create a folder called sdcard or do I just not put it in a folder?
     
  11. jbdan

    jbdan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    7,121
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    7,121
    3,187
    513
    atl ga usa
    Put it where ever you'd like. Put it on the "root/aka not in a folder" if you'd like, which would be all by it lonesome self. I've created a folder called "Radios" and I have all 4 in there so I can switch when out in the field.

    Are you familiar with the virtual sdcard on the GN? It's where you drag and drop files/roms/kernels/etc... when connected to your pc?

    When you plug your phone in to your pc your "virtual sdcard" or what some here are calling "/sdcard" is what shows up on your drives list.
     
    trophynuts likes this.
  12. dallows

    dallows Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    24
    0
    15
    I'm trying to install a new baseband too. I have the zip file referenced above but when I load it through ROm Manager it reboots, just sits at the little android dude with the red exclamation for a few minutes and reboots back into the OS.
     
  13. Skydogg320

    Skydogg320 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011

    Dec 19, 2011
    6
    3
    6
    Yep. Smooth as butter. Everything seems happy. Thanks for the help!
     
    jbdan likes this.
  14. jbdan

    jbdan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    7,121
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    7,121
    3,187
    513
    atl ga usa

    Awesome!!
     
  15. djc999

    djc999 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    43
    0
    15
    So if I flash the 4.0.4 update posted in this thread, I can download the Franco kernel updater from the market and use it no problem?
     
  16. jbdan

    jbdan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    7,121
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    7,121
    3,187
    513
    atl ga usa

    Affirmative. ;)
     
  17. jmar

    jmar Nexican
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    523
    Posts:
    4,851
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010

    Sep 27, 2010
    4,851
    3,131
    523
    Male
    Sales
    San Jose, CA
    You don't have proper recovery. What you are seeing is stock recovery. After flashing CWM Recovery through ROM Manager (which I don't personally recommend, but is viable), use a root explorer and delete the file "recovery-from-boot.p" or rename it with a ".bak", no quotes and CWM Recovery will "stick."

    This file is located in /system/

    When you navigate to /system/ be sure to mount R/W before renaming or deleting as you will need Read and Write Permissions to modify or delete a /system/ file.

    Feel free to PM me if you have questions or respond in kind to this post.

    jmar
     
    jbdan likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...