1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Verizon] Restore bloatware

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Croyal, Oct 18, 2013.

  1. Croyal

    Croyal Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013

    Oct 2, 2013
    10
    1
    16
    Male
    So I'm having some trouble. I got my gs4 a few weeks ago. I currently have the ME7 version. When I fist got it I rooted it and deleted all the bloatware. Big mistake. I know, I'm a total noob. Now I can't upgrade. Is there anyway I can restore all the bloatware so I can upgrade my phone? In the future I know just to freeze the bloatware and not remove it completely. I also didn't make a backup of the bloatware because I didn't think I would need it again. Any help would greatly be appreciated.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #72
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    5,414
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    5,414
    3,159
    413
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    If you reflash your stock firmware with Odin all the bloatware will be reinstalled. Although if you are going to flash stock so you can update you may as well just flash the updated firmware. Be advised that the latest firmware contains a locked bootloader and knox so it may cause problems if you wish to reroot after updating. Stock firmware can be downloaded from here

    Firmwares | SamMobile
     
  3. Croyal

    Croyal Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013

    Oct 2, 2013
    10
    1
    16
    Male
    Can you flash the stock firmware with a locked bootloader? I have the ME7 which locked my bootloader. My phone is rooted though. If I can do this can someone tell me the steps I need to go through. I am very new to all of this. I know the new update locks the phone as well, I'm just concerned for future updates like 4.3 or 4.4.
     
  4. Croyal

    Croyal Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013

    Oct 2, 2013
    10
    1
    16
    Male
    Also I went to the site Shotgun84 suggested and I cant seem to find an option for Verizon or the United States
     
  5. ironass

    ironass Android Expert
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,396
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,396
    5,596
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the Tax man
    Cotswolds, England
    Shotgun84 likes this.
  6. Croyal

    Croyal Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013

    Oct 2, 2013
    10
    1
    16
    Male
    Sadly that site doesn't have it either. I'm beginning to think that I'm going to be stuck with 4.2.2 for the next 2 years :(
     
  7. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,820
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,820
    4,751
    823
    Looks like you are on Verizon... try THIS LINK. :)
     
    Croyal and Shotgun84 like this.

Share This Page

Loading...