1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

[Verizon] [ROM][4.0.4] AOKP ICS B40/M6/Mods (7/8)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jbdan, Dec 23, 2011.

  1. BabyBlues

    BabyBlues Trouble Just Finds Me!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    13,125
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    13,125
    9,766
    1,333
    Female
    Masquerading as a responsible adult
    Jersey - born & bred
    Still being cooked up would be my guess
     

    Advertisement

  2. andoird213

    andoird213 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,569
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011

    Oct 30, 2011
    1,569
    470
    163
    Male

    :( I'm in such need to flash that I went and flashed those stupid 4.0.3 radios lol. Cmon b22. We neeeeeds it. We mussst have it. My preccccciooouuss. :D
     
  3. BabyBlues

    BabyBlues Trouble Just Finds Me!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    13,125
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    13,125
    9,766
    1,333
    Female
    Masquerading as a responsible adult
    Jersey - born & bred
    Awww. Let me know if its worth it. I have always been a little skeered to play with radios.
     
  4. ryancmatchett

    ryancmatchett Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,119
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011

    Nov 15, 2011
    1,119
    744
    213
    Male
    Auditor
    Austin, TX

    I did the radios last month and really saw an improvement not only in reception but also in battery because of the reception. My work is in a weak 4g area and I now get MUCH better signal. In fact since I did the update, I have not had it drop down to 3g while at work, even inside the brick building. I also get about an additional 100ft of my home wifi reception so even if I go walk around the block it stays connected to my home wifi with almost perfect signal....quite impressive since my soon to be wife's Dinc loses wifi at the front door....
    I have also noticed that it does not mess with anything else ROMwise or kernalwise. Nice!!!!
    Edit: I am still running AOKP21 with lean 1.8.0 exp3 and loving it!!! 56% left on my phone after a full day with almost 2 hrs screen time...I know screen shots or nothing...but I was soooooo tired last night!!!! Will try again tonight.
     
    breadnatty08 and BabyBlues like this.
  5. andoird213

    andoird213 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,569
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011

    Oct 30, 2011
    1,569
    470
    163
    Male

    I haven't used 3G or 4G since I installed them but when I do I'll let ya know. Speeds for me seemed pretty good before though so who knows.
     
    BabyBlues likes this.
  6. Slubgob

    Slubgob Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011

    Dec 8, 2011
    59
    19
    18
    Originally Posted by Slubgob [​IMG]
    Wondering if anyone else is using Profile Manager and having a similar problem.

    NFC? I'm guessing that's something that happens to share the Near Field Communications acronym that I'm clearly not familiar with.

    Fill me in?

    Thanks!
     
  7. breadnatty08

    breadnatty08 pain rustique
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    19,889
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    19,889
    6,121
    1,413
    District of Columbia
    You got it right. For the quick and dirty:
    Near field communication - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
    For the most part NFC on the Nexus is good for Beam, Google Wallet and custom NFC enabled tags. That's pretty much it as far as I know.
     
    jbdan likes this.
  8. quiklives

    quiklives Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    421
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010

    Jul 5, 2010
    421
    195
    68
    It actually is Near Field Communications that they were referring to. You buy NFC tags (I got mine from tagstand.com) and program them (via NFC Task Launcher) to launch certain tasks or profiles. I have one in my car that toggles on/off Bluetooth and Car Home each time I use it.
     
    Slubgob likes this.
  9. jbdan

    jbdan Extreme Android User
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    7,121
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    7,121
    3,187
    513
    atl ga usa
    I tried them for 24 hours they were no different from the stock radios. An easy flash no wiping needed, might improve your signal, definitely worth a shot to see. Just don't accidentally flash the same radio atop one another :D
     
  10. jbdan

    jbdan Extreme Android User
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    7,121
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    7,121
    3,187
    513
    atl ga usa
    Yes siree slub answered by my colleagues above ^

    You'd need to order some tags (cheap from here) and then buy NFC task launcher and go to town! If on 4.0.2 ROM then be sure to get the "pre-formatted to NDEF" tags option at top of page :)
     
    Slubgob likes this.
  11. gapi

    gapi Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    243
    Posts:
    1,593
    Joined:
    May 14, 2011

    I ran the 4.0.3 radios Thursday in Atlanta and the top rear of the device was pretty darned warm.
    I ran the 4.0.2 radios today on the same run and the temp was about 50% cooler.
    Not sure that is a good conclusion but when you guys run the 4.0.3 make sure you check it out?
     
    jbdan and ryancmatchett like this.
  12. otter

    otter Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    208
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010

    Jan 15, 2010
    208
    5
    36
    Ah ha, thanks. I'm new to this ROM and all the lingo so I appreciate the response.
     
  13. otter

    otter Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    208
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010

    Jan 15, 2010
    208
    5
    36
    Is there a way to unlink the volume and alert notifications?
     
  14. strodda

    strodda Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    281
    Joined:
    May 11, 2011

    May 11, 2011
    281
    51
    53
    Male
    settings>sound>volumes, uncheck "link volumes".
     
  15. overbyc1

    overbyc1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010

    Dec 8, 2010
    104
    103
    68
    Male
    Cable Guy
    East NC
    Only works on M3, if you are on Build 21 or prior, its not an available option.
     
  16. strodda

    strodda Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    281
    Joined:
    May 11, 2011

    May 11, 2011
    281
    51
    53
    Male
    Oh, my bad. I didn't even know it was a rom thing. I never looked for it until now. It wasn't under "rom settings", so I thought it was a normal setting.
     
  17. andoird213

    andoird213 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,569
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011

    Oct 30, 2011
    1,569
    470
    163
    Male
    Who thinks Roman will include 4.0.4 in the next update?
     
  18. otter

    otter Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    208
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010

    Jan 15, 2010
    208
    5
    36
    Thanks. What's the difference between M3 and toro 21? is m3 not a stable version?
     
  19. gapi

    gapi Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    243
    Posts:
    1,593
    Joined:
    May 14, 2011

    Opposite, The M's are stable compilations of the past nightly numbered builds.
     
  20. blkbeltkid17

    blkbeltkid17 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    4,384
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010

    Nov 16, 2010
    4,384
    692
    333
    Male
    Student
    Virginia, United States Of America
    Yeah I was talking to the dev and he is trying to get 4.0.4 in 22 if he can get it out fast enough... Bad thing is there is no official source code released from Google on 4.0.4 so anything that comes from the OTA it may not be stable
     
  21. andoird213

    andoird213 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,569
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011

    Oct 30, 2011
    1,569
    470
    163
    Male

    That's why they're called nightly's ;)
     
    jbdan likes this.
  22. blkbeltkid17

    blkbeltkid17 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    4,384
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010

    Nov 16, 2010
    4,384
    692
    333
    Male
    Student
    Virginia, United States Of America
    Hehe your funny lol :p
     
    andoird213 likes this.
  23. andoird213

    andoird213 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,569
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011

    Oct 30, 2011
    1,569
    470
    163
    Male

    Lol why thank you :)
     
    blkbeltkid17 likes this.
  24. yousufk

    yousufk Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012

    Feb 5, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    Johannesburg
    Hi

    Please can anyone assist me with a problem I have after I have tried to update my HTC Sensation with the new Android ICS 4.03 ICS.

    After I have installed the required 3.24 firmware as well as the new OS, the phone goes into a restarting loop and never starts up. On restart it shows the white screen with the HTC logo, then looks like its going to load the OS showing the growing and shrinking gingerbread man, but never loads.

    It hangs for a while, then the screen goes black and then it restarts, back to the HTC logo white screen.

    Now I cant even revert to the previous ROM (ISC 4.01 with Sense 3.5) I had installed nor the factory fitted version that I orginally had.

    Please can anyone assist me.

    Thanks.
     
  25. andoird213

    andoird213 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,569
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011

    Oct 30, 2011
    1,569
    470
    163
    Male

    Wrong thread to post in bud
     
    jmar likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...