1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

[Verizon] [rom]jbsourcery v5.4-lte[06/07/13] jb4.2.2 The Final Call

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by tdevaughn, Aug 13, 2012.

  1. SweatyPits

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    482
    Joined:
    May 20, 2012

    May 20, 2012
    482
    54
    53
    4.7 runs snappier than 4.6
     

    Advertisement

  2. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,118
    Posts:
    13,886
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,886
    14,060
    2,118
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    Uh, big things happening in IRC ;)
     
  3. dhworph

    dhworph Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    566
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011

    Dec 21, 2011
    566
    63
    78
    4.8 LTE now!!!

    Edit: I'm still on 4.5.6 and am still having trouble with LTE signal strength. I am pretty sure it is not just a # of bars issue, as that jumps around from 0 to 3 in the same location in my house. I've have to toggle airplane regardless of the number of bars.

    Of course, signal has always been a bit inconsistent with this phone, it was best with 4.0.4 stock for me.
     
  4. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,118
    Posts:
    13,886
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,886
    14,060
    2,118
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    Okay, I'm on 4.8 and I know that Eagle worked hard on new features... Heck if I can find them, as I do not know what's new... I would love a hint from the devs ;)

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using SwiftKey Flow
     
  5. noahdr

    noahdr Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    77
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2011

    Nov 19, 2011
    77
    4
    16
    Chief,
    Can you get the old clock from 4.1 to work? I've been copying your method of importing the old clock apk into all my 4.2 ROMs but it won't work on 4.6 nor 4.7. Are you able to get your old clock to work with 4.8?
     
  6. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,118
    Posts:
    13,886
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,886
    14,060
    2,118
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    Yep. All day long.

    It's a very particular process: after the flash, there are a number of reboots required for me: As soon as I get to the home screen, I reboot into recovery to flash Titanium Backup into the app drawer; then once my stuff is restored in Titanium Backup, I have to reboot again. And THAT'S when you need to do the work.

    DO NOT RESTORE Clock (ALARMS) in the Titanium Backup restore. De-select it. Once everything else restores, reboot the phone and then open Root Explorer (if you're letting it all come in from Play, wait until it's all finished).

    In Root Explorer, copy the 4.1 Deskclock from its position, navigate into System/app and press Mount R/W. Long-press the existing 4.2 Deskclock and rename it deskclock.apk.bak and then press "PASTE" to put the 4.1 Deskclock in there. Mount R/O and back out.

    Reboot the phone so the app "takes".

    NOW go into Titanium Backup and restore the Clock (ALARMS) if you wish. Reboot AGAIN.

    When it comes back up, you should have the 4.1 Deskclock in the app drawer, so you can put it on a homescreen, etc. and all your alarms intact.

    Hope this helps :)
     
    dhworph likes this.
  7. noahdr

    noahdr Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    77
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2011

    Nov 19, 2011
    77
    4
    16
  8. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,118
    Posts:
    13,886
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,886
    14,060
    2,118
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    Hey developers: Did you guys do something with the Bluetooth? I PROMISE I restored nothing Bluetooth and paired/connected from scratch. I tried to behave :rolleyes:

    But this thing drops left and right: even when I'm holding the phone in my hand it breaks up!

    Not sure what is going on, but 4.5.6 didn't do this. Just from 4.6 on, my Bluetooth is shot. Same headset, same everything.
     
  9. tdevaughn

    tdevaughn Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,007
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    1,007
    395
    163
    Statesville NC
    here is the best part..... we havent touched BT since 4.5.6

    suggest trying another kernel, we did update ours and maybe its not playing nice with your phone and BT?
     
  10. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,118
    Posts:
    13,886
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,886
    14,060
    2,118
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    Could be. I'll try Popcorn v12 and see how it does.

    Thanks :)


    EDIT: WHOA! Popcorn v12 is bootlooping my phone! :eek:

    Gotta reflash the ROM and Gapps... well, THAT didn't work...
     
  11. noahdr

    noahdr Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    77
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2011

    Nov 19, 2011
    77
    4
    16
    Thanks for the detailed post. Yea I am able to get the apk copied into the system/apps folder and reboot and am able to get the 4.1 deskclock into my widgets upon a reboot, however once I add the widget to the main screen it will not open once I tap on it. I have no clue what I'm doing wrong. All the permissions, I believe, are set correctly (r/w). Man I don't know what I'm going to do without that alarm..
    Downloading V5.0 now and going to see if that fixes it, but am doubtful...:(
     
  12. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,118
    Posts:
    13,886
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,886
    14,060
    2,118
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    Why don't you PM me your EXACT procedure. I don't have a widget, just the icon. But I have clock and alarms all day long...

    EDIT: Did you restore the Clock (Alarms) DATA ONLY in Titanium Backup and reboot again?



    Lesson Learned: I violated my own rule just one time. ONE STUPID TIME. I didn't make a nandroid before flashing Popcorn v12 because I've flashed kernels many times before without incident. The one time I fail to nandroid, I lose work by having to dirty flash the ROM & Gapps.

    MAKE THE NANDROID, FOLKS! :p
     
    noahdr likes this.
  13. dhworph

    dhworph Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    566
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011

    Dec 21, 2011
    566
    63
    78
    noahdr likes this.
  14. noahdr

    noahdr Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    77
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2011

    Nov 19, 2011
    77
    4
    16
    Hey thanks, if I can't get the apk copy to work, I'll definitely use this as a second option!!
     
  15. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,118
    Posts:
    13,886
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,886
    14,060
    2,118
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    PM replied to, Noah... good luck! We'll get this fixed! :)
     
    noahdr likes this.
  16. tdevaughn

    tdevaughn Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,007
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    1,007
    395
    163
    Statesville NC
    5.0 is officially released. OP has been updated

    JBSourcery 5.0 Change Log

    Based on Android 4.2.2

    New toggles -quick record
    ability for left -right quick pulldown and pull down toggles when no notifications
    CRT on/off aniomation control
    Camera-added software HDR –swipe to gallery (aosp does not have photosphere)
    phone-flip to dismiss or silent
    increasing alarm clock volumes-
    NavBar Hide — improvements
    Contacts-add call statistics improvements-
    Changed navbar and status bar transparency and color
    security settings redone with addition slide lock before secure lock-
    Back light curve adjustments
    Pie controls
    4.2.2 Kernal based off Buck Marbles work
    Tons of fixes from android github
    speed tweaks
    memory leak fixes

    Tools additions-
    search light-animated pulldowns.

    DashClock Widget included thanks to Roman Nurik
    Notification Widget-Lior Tamam
    SuperSU updated to 1.10-ChainFire
     
  17. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,118
    Posts:
    13,886
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,886
    14,060
    2,118
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    5.0??? 3 ROMs in a day??? :eek:

    I haven't done this much flashing since streaking was the rage in the 70s!

    :p


    EDIT: Can anyone here explain briefly what PIE actually is? Without undue references to baked dessert or 3.14159? Thanks :)
     
  18. TexDaddy57

    TexDaddy57 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    180
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010

    Dec 26, 2010
    180
    19
    38
    Male
    Water Treatment Plant Operator, Owner/Culinary Art
    Somewhere north of Azle Texas
    I have spent the last 3 hours setting up 4.7 then 4.8 and now 5.0 dropped....downloading now....... I Love this ROM!
     
  19. CharlzO

    CharlzO Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    993
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011

    Apr 2, 2011
    993
    205
    123
    Male
    Computer Programmer
    And here I was thinking I was going to go to bed relatively early tonight. And then I see this. Annnd, let the download commence.
     
  20. SweatyPits

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    482
    Joined:
    May 20, 2012

    May 20, 2012
    482
    54
    53
    trying to get version 5 to download, slow lol
     
  21. CharlzO

    CharlzO Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    993
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011

    Apr 2, 2011
    993
    205
    123
    Male
    Computer Programmer
    Oh, this might sound silly, but, is there any particular place(s) where I can adjust for the following issue I'm having...

    It seems every time I connect via Bluetooth to, well..anything, OR, if I plug in my phone to the USB on my new Pioneer deck in my car, Apollo starts up. Which means then I have to go shut it back down. It's even more annoying if I am listening to Pandora, and then turn the car off to go into a store or whatever (which breaks the BT connection), and then come back out and turn it on. Apollo auto-stars, and overrides my Pandora.

    The only place I remember seeing anything about it, was in the Sound option in Settings for starting music app when connected (headsets), which I disabled, and it happens still. Nothing in Apollo for settings that I saw either. So, I don't know if it's just me, or my phone, or if there's another setting buried somewhere I haven't found yet for this :)

    And I'll see what happens after 5.0, of course.

    Note: I should mention that it acts differently depending on the BT device. The car stereo does it every single time it connects. My Jabra Cruiser, it's a lot less often. So I dunno. Just figured I'd see what anyone thinks :)
     
  22. dhworph

    dhworph Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    566
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011

    Dec 21, 2011
    566
    63
    78
    I disabled apollo because it would jsut crash randomly, and I never used it.
     
  23. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,118
    Posts:
    13,886
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,886
    14,060
    2,118
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    I use Google Play and stream everything... Apollo got in my way big time, so I froze it in Titanium Backup :)


    EDIT: Is there a list of compatible kernels for this ROM? I tried Popcorn v12 with disastrous results (if you're just tuning in) and do NOT want a repeat... are the ones in Tools proven to work?
     
  24. noahdr

    noahdr Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    77
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2011

    Nov 19, 2011
    77
    4
    16
    Loving V5 so far (especially the recorder toggle)! Lots of new options :D
    Thanks for all the hard work devs!
     
  25. iwoloschin

    iwoloschin Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    235
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011

    Nov 27, 2011
    235
    85
    53
    Male
    Electrical Engineer
    Somerville, MA
    Hmm, interesting "problem" when installing 5.0. I wiped and flashed 5.0 & Minimus Gapps. Opened up the Play Store to make sure everything was installing, and then it just closed on me. Re-opened the play store again, and instead of "Black Play Store" it was just standard. Did it just stealth upgrade on me? Not really a big concern, but I kind of like having the darker themes on an OLED screen...
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...