1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

[Verizon] [rom]jbsourcery v5.4-lte[06/07/13] jb4.2.2 The Final Call

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by tdevaughn, Aug 13, 2012.

  1. tdevaughn

    tdevaughn Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,007
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    1,007
    395
    163
    Statesville NC
    for those getting FC on security settings, send me a logcat. I have tried every setup you have all posted and it doesnt fail for me.
     

    Advertisement

  2. SweatyPits

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    482
    Joined:
    May 20, 2012

    May 20, 2012
    482
    54
    53
    anyone try a different 4.2.2 kernel?
     
  3. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,118
    Posts:
    13,886
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,886
    14,062
    2,118
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    Yep. I have tried several. 2 gave me bootloops, so make sure you have a few on hand so you can go back and flash another if you have problems.
     
  4. tdevaughn

    tdevaughn Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,007
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    1,007
    395
    163
    Statesville NC
    steamworks is live for 5.0
     
  5. SweatyPits

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    482
    Joined:
    May 20, 2012

    May 20, 2012
    482
    54
    53

    you tried the glados one? i was thinking about giving that one a go
     
  6. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,118
    Posts:
    13,886
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,886
    14,062
    2,118
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    I have not. Give it a shot, as every device will act differently with the same kernel.
     
  7. jackburnt

    jackburnt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    663
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    663
    63
    98
    Auburn, AL
    The hidden nav bar seems much more responsive this time around. I had to lock/unlock my phone WAY too much on the last build.

    Really enjoying this build so far! Thanks for adding the functionality to change size/transparency on the hidden nav bar button thing too.
     
  8. tdevaughn

    tdevaughn Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,007
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    1,007
    395
    163
    Statesville NC
    for those having issues with Security settings force closing....

    make sure you are using the "Security" section listed under the Personal section of the settings menu.

    The "Lockscreen Security and Settings" section under JBSourcery is having an issue at the moment. We are looking into why, but the other way is working just fine.

    Thanks for all the feedback!
     
  9. mruno

    mruno Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    946
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010

    Jun 30, 2010
    946
    179
    103
    Male
    Home
    this Bluetooth issue is starting to get annoying real fast. I can't even connect to my Bluetooth receiver at all even though I am only fifteen feet away
     
  10. RangerXXX

    RangerXXX Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013

    Feb 27, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    Is there an option to disable the screen from coming on when I get a notification? It turns on from any app that gives a notification.
     
  11. wysts43

    wysts43 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    234
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009

    Nov 24, 2009
    234
    76
    53
    Electrical Engineer
    Ohio
    Does anyone else's G-Nexus basically become bogged down and unusable when updating apps from the Play store? I have had this issue for some time now, and it can happen with a single updated app even (as opposed to updating multiples at once). I just assumed this was common, but i figured I'd finally ask the question. Running jbsourcery 5.0 btw. Thanks.
     
  12. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,118
    Posts:
    13,886
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,886
    14,062
    2,118
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    Tdevaughn, you have a message :)

    I flashed the Sourcerizer 4.5 kernel in an attempt to resolve the Bluetooth issue. Still choppy to the point of unusability.

    I then Superwiped the phone and restored JBSourcery 4.6 and the Bluetooth seems to perform much better.

    I swapped out headsets. I have done just about everything I can think of. Hence the PM to the dev...
     
  13. tdevaughn

    tdevaughn Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,007
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    1,007
    395
    163
    Statesville NC
    yes, once the playstore finishes, the response returns to normal

    None that I am aware of
     
  14. CharlzO

    CharlzO Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    993
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011

    Apr 2, 2011
    993
    205
    123
    Male
    Computer Programmer
    Haven't had the BT issues myself yet on 5.0, though I haven't played in and out of the car long enough.

    One question though, anyone else having issues with service? Notably, when I am at work and leaving, where it is a weak 4G signal inside, and it transitions between 3g/4g. What will happen, is it'll drop the 4G, pick up the 3G, and then when trying to go back to 4G, it'll hang and not changeover, but even though it's still showing 3G and service, I'll lose connection. Going to airplane mode and back, sometimes works, and other times, it'll come to a No Service state for a lot longer than it should. Usually I've restarted before too long, because it shouldn't take 5+ minutes to recover service from that.

    Granted, it might be in the short time-frame in the back and forth switching, since I'll have a bar of 4G at my desk, and then on the 45 second trip to get to the door to leave, it'll drop and pick up the 3G, and then I'm at the door going outside where it would normally be going back to 4G. On 4.5 I didn't notice this nearly as often. Once every great while it would, maybe once a week if that, and I'd just toggle Airplane mode and all was fine. With 5.0, it's almost a daily thing, where it'll hang between handoffs.

    Just curious if I'm a lucky one :p

    And I still haven't figured out all the tweaks! Soooo many options. Love it!

    EDIT: Just remembered, since it just happened again, where it won't seem to come back to service, so I'll go to restart the phone, and it hangs on the Google screen, and starts heating up noticeably. At that point (like now), have to do a battery pull to get it to restart. And...well, as I'm sitting here after the last pull, it hasn't turned back on yet..stuck again? I have to test more when I get a second. The only common thing I can think of between this and the last one, is having Fast Charge enabled, and having it plugged in when trying to turn the power back on. I just did a pull, unplugged, and it started right up. Hmm...

    EDIT 2: Take Fast Charge outta that issue...it just locked up twice on me, regardless of settings. I'm sitting here looking at it not starting, with nothing plugged into it. Very strange, I think I'll have to try a re-flash when I get home if I can find a few minutes.
     
  15. iwoloschin

    iwoloschin Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    235
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011

    Nov 27, 2011
    235
    85
    53
    Male
    Electrical Engineer
    Somerville, MA
    This is one of the few things that drives me absolutely crazy with my phone. I don't really understand why this action in particular causes so much trouble, as the flash should be fast enough to handle whatever the radios can download. Oh well, at some point a new phone will come out that I will buy, which hopefully doesn't have this one, super annoying problem.
     
  16. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,118
    Posts:
    13,886
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,886
    14,062
    2,118
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    I don't think it's ROM-related. I think this stuff is Android 4.2.2-related. And I hope Google fixes it SOON...

    EDIT: I just nandroided back up to JBSourcery 5.0 from 4.6 (where Bluetooth was, for the most part, usable) and my Bluetooth is shot. Completely. It disconnects more than it connects. Something in this Android release is messing up Bluetooth but NOT for everybody: just certain devices are affected.

    Bizarre, I tell ya :thinking:
     
  17. Dmeeks90

    Dmeeks90 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    159
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2012

    Jun 1, 2012
    159
    9
    36
    Male
    AAP
    bartow fl
    My bluetooth has been working fine on my big jambox are you using a headset?
     
  18. SweatyPits

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    482
    Joined:
    May 20, 2012

    May 20, 2012
    482
    54
    53
    Yeah I'm having Bluetooth problems, reboots, and the stock keyboard works the best but still has issues. swype and swiftkey are unusable. It's on all 4.2.2 ROMs, check out xda developers and rootzwiki. nice work Google....:eek:

    it doesn't affect all Bluetooth devices. One ROM dev claims to have a version where the Bluetooth is fixed...
     
  19. CharlzO

    CharlzO Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    993
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011

    Apr 2, 2011
    993
    205
    123
    Male
    Computer Programmer
    There seem to be a lot of hit or misses this round. My BT is fine, Swype works just as it always has, for me, it's a service issue at random, especially on handoffs. Other people, it's just as you said, issues here and there, and no real rhyme or reason. It's a strange one, for sure.
     
  20. dhworph

    dhworph Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    566
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011

    Dec 21, 2011
    566
    63
    78
    could it be that some of these issues will be fixed when the official VZW LTE AOSP code gets pushed out or when a new vzw factory image is released, as then there will be new radios, and whatever other code bits that should all hopefully play nicely with each other? Maybe this is part of why there has been no vzw update yet?
     
  21. joesixpack

    joesixpack Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    338
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012

    Jan 25, 2012
    338
    82
    53
    Male
    Northeast OH
    Just loaded this last night. Love it so far, but my swipe keyboard is not working. The gesture line shows up, but no words get typed. Everything in settings,language and input seems right (enable gesture typing options all checked). Any thoughts?

    If I have to reload, can I just reload the stock messaging app? Where can I get that? Does the android keyboard need to be reloaded?

    Kinda lost without my swipe. All thoughts appreciated.
     
  22. jackburnt

    jackburnt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    663
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    663
    63
    98
    Auburn, AL
    The default keyboard has swipe now too. Try it out!

    My only issue with the default keyboard is that I hit "B" instead of space a lot for some reason.
     
  23. CharlzO

    CharlzO Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    993
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011

    Apr 2, 2011
    993
    205
    123
    Male
    Computer Programmer
    Have you tried uninstalling and reinstalling Swype yet? I have had no issues with mine, fresh downloads from the beta.swype site. I do remember that I had to actually go into Settings>Apps, find it there, and uninstall it completely (I had a dictionary issue a few versions ago). But I just went to the site on the phone browser, download the installer. Open that, follow the steps, it's been flawless. Just wondered if you've tried a reinstall :)
     
  24. darkcyber

    darkcyber Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,608
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    1,608
    151
    163
    Male
    North Alabama
    So far, I like 5.0 (ver. 4.2.2) because the battery drain seems to be gone now. On 4.2.1 versions my Nexus would not go into deep sleep as much and it did on previous versions. I was lucky if I could get deep sleep 70-75% in CPUSpy. On 4.2.2 so far, I'm hitting it in the 80's again...still not as good as versions before 4.2.1, but better than 4.2.1.

    Thanks for an excellent rom!
     
  25. SweatyPits

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    482
    Joined:
    May 20, 2012

    May 20, 2012
    482
    54
    53
    The text predictions on the default keyboard suck.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...