1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

[Verizon] [rom]jbsourcery v5.4-lte[06/07/13] jb4.2.2 The Final Call

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by tdevaughn, Aug 13, 2012.

  1. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #10
    Points:
    2,118
    Posts:
    13,886
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,886
    14,060
    2,118
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    <--- doesn't facepalm but I join thee in a good fist-shaking at the license key :D

    I swear it was there the last time I looked. It probably got inadvertently deleted, but we pushed it back and all is well...
     

    Advertisement

    jmar likes this.
  2. colchiro

    colchiro Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    When I wipe for a new rom, I open Play Store, stop any updates, install TIBU and TIBU license, open the app, let it restore my original id and reboot. I guess I thought everyone knew you had to install the pro license. :D
     
  3. jmar

    jmar Nexican
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    523
    Posts:
    4,850
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010

    Sep 27, 2010
    4,850
    3,131
    523
    Male
    Sales
    San Jose, CA
    When I install a new ROM (always a clean flash; haven't dirty flashed since ICS), I uncheck the option for restore of apps during the setup process, alleviating the need to stop anything automatically initiated by the Play Store. Then i uncheck Verify apps in Settings-->Security and check USB Debugging. Then I download TiBu and the license. Then I restore my apps (+data if its the same ROM and Android version).

    Hope that made sense.

    jmar
     
  4. SweatyPits

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    482
    Joined:
    May 20, 2012

    May 20, 2012
    482
    54
    53
    official 5.1 is out. flashing it now. flashed the new 2013 gapps rather than the sourcery gapps. i don't get duplicate picture galleries and calender apps with it.
     
  5. eagle1967

    eagle1967 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    232
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010

    Dec 28, 2010
    232
    165
    68
    the sourcery gapps are those with a couple apps added including gmail and the photosphere camera removed.

    But as he said V5.1 is out.

    The wake lock issue is fixed thats probably poor battery life problem.

    this was a cleanup,speedup and fix for 5.0

    mms theming options have been removed. youll hve to grab it from inverted or some other rom for now.
     
  6. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #10
    Points:
    2,118
    Posts:
    13,886
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,886
    14,060
    2,118
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    Can you folks imagine a reason why my son's Nexus isn't logging into Play? His accounts are all synced, but when we hit Play it repeatedly asks for his password... but never logs him in.

    Getting ready to re-flash Gapps but wanted to see if this was an isolated event or a common 5.2 issue...


    EDIT: Uh oh, I think I found something here in 5.2. I went to change the font to Mentone and did the full reboot... it's STILL rebooting! Stuck at the bootanimation for 5 minutes. Pulled the battery, started over. STILL stuck. :(
     
  7. Slubgob

    Slubgob Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011

    Dec 8, 2011
    59
    19
    18
    What about making an "Update.zip" before flashing the new ROM? After flashing the ROM and Gapps, mount system and flashing the zip. It's always worked for me so far, including recognizing that I have the pro version...
     
  8. TritonDroid

    TritonDroid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    194
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012

    Dec 18, 2012
    194
    27
    43
    The only thing I have noticed with 5.0, 5.1 and 5.2 is when I install black app wallpaper from JBS tools, only portrait changes. Landscape stays with stock JB color background.

    This happens even when I turn phone to landscape and enable black app wallpaper. Jbstools says su was granted looks like it processed but changes doesn't occur.

    Everything else as far as my set up is working like a dream.
     
  9. DannyJSlone

    DannyJSlone Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    256
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012

    Feb 19, 2012
    256
    42
    43
    Did they get rid of themed MMS. I like to change the look
     
  10. kinfolk248

    kinfolk248 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    522
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    522
    37
    68
    Jackson Mississippi
    tis gone
     
  11. RubberDucker

    RubberDucker Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    136
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    136
    12
    38
    Living the dream.
    Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
    Was my process as well. Recently I've been letting the Play Store restore everything first (as instructed on the first page), but with over 100 apps, and the frequency of having to Full Wipe this ROM, that tends to take way too long.

    I'm going to go back to this process for 5.1.
     
  12. eagle1967

    eagle1967 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    232
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010

    Dec 28, 2010
    232
    165
    68
    this be true. while this is another exclusive rom feature. it is for portrait only.

    we can look into doing the black for landscape also. but not all other images they jsut look to funky.
     
    TritonDroid likes this.
  13. DannyJSlone

    DannyJSlone Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    256
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012

    Feb 19, 2012
    256
    42
    43

    I might hold off and stay on 5.0 then. I like the bubble style too much.
     
  14. colchiro

    colchiro Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    I dirty flashed from 5.0 with maximus apps and the deep sleep issue is gone. :D
     
  15. Steven58

    Steven58 Was a moderator. Am a moderator. So confused.
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,943
    Posts:
    33,309
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    33,309
    26,018
    3,943
    Male
    5.1 = smoooooooth
     
  16. SecondShot

    SecondShot Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    269
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011

    Mar 29, 2011
    269
    89
    53
    Washington DC
    Loving 5.2... one thing I can't remember is how to get weather to show up in the notification drop down. Any reminders on the setting would be greatly appreciated.
     
  17. Steven58

    Steven58 Was a moderator. Am a moderator. So confused.
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,943
    Posts:
    33,309
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    33,309
    26,018
    3,943
    Male

    Don't forget 5.2 is an older experimental build. The 5.1 build is newer and more stable. I recommend it over 5.2, which is out of of date. :)
     
  18. SecondShot

    SecondShot Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    269
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011

    Mar 29, 2011
    269
    89
    53
    Washington DC
    Naaa, really? Didn't know that...
     
  19. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #10
    Points:
    2,118
    Posts:
    13,886
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,886
    14,060
    2,118
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    This is one of those rare occasions where the upgrade version number actually retrograded. So you will definitely want to upgrade from 5.2 experimental to 5.1 Final. :)
     
  20. CharlzO

    CharlzO Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    993
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011

    Apr 2, 2011
    993
    205
    123
    Male
    Computer Programmer
    Loaded 5.1, and new 4.2.2 gapps, working on re-installing apps and whatnot, then figure out how I want to tweak all the fun settings on this build. So far, seems to lock on 4G at my desk a bit more reliably (shows a LOT more signal, but to be honest, I didn't look at the dbm strength before and after to compare). Gonna fire up Pandora here in a few and jam out while I load!

    Might end up having to get a "Sourcery4Life" tattoo or something, at this rate!
     
  21. TritonDroid

    TritonDroid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    194
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012

    Dec 18, 2012
    194
    27
    43
    Sarcasm meeter is shot... Is this true?
     
  22. CharlzO

    CharlzO Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    993
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011

    Apr 2, 2011
    993
    205
    123
    Male
    Computer Programmer
    Yeppers. 5.1 is where it's at for now :) I clean flashed, and so far, have had no issues to mention in the last 10 hours since flashing.
     
    TritonDroid likes this.
  23. DannyJSlone

    DannyJSlone Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    256
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012

    Feb 19, 2012
    256
    42
    43
    OK I made the switch to 5.1. So far so good. I do however really miss being able to theme my messaging app. I really like the bubble theme done in blues and greys.
     
  24. SecondShot

    SecondShot Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    269
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011

    Mar 29, 2011
    269
    89
    53
    Washington DC
    Me too.... I was thinking of extracting messaging from one of the earlier builds with theming but then remembered that Eagle is way smarter than me at this and he would have included it if it worked.
     
  25. tdevaughn

    tdevaughn Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,007
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    1,007
    395
    163
    Statesville NC
    It works for most. In using the old mms:D
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...