1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

[Verizon] [rom]jbsourcery v5.4-lte[06/07/13] jb4.2.2 The Final Call

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by tdevaughn, Aug 13, 2012.

  1. KaztheMinotaur

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012

    Oct 28, 2012
    31
    5
    16
    I did a battery pull and it is working fine for me now. Tasker works OK with the GPS toggle as well.
     

    Advertisement

  2. RubberDucker

    RubberDucker Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    136
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    136
    12
    38
    Living the dream.
    Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
    Clean flashed 5.1 this morning. I let everything reinstall from the market... Now setting everything back up, I'm seeing the following error keep popping up.

    "Unfortunately, the process com.google.process.gapps has stopped."

    I hit Ok and everything is fine. Getting a little annoying. Anyone know how to make it stop?

    I've rebooted a few times to no avail.
     
  3. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,118
    Posts:
    13,886
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,886
    14,062
    2,118
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    Did you flash the appropriate Gapps with the ROM? Back to back?
     
  4. joesixpack

    joesixpack Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    338
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012

    Jan 25, 2012
    338
    82
    53
    Male
    Northeast OH
    Hate to be a nag, but I'm having a real problem getting Maps to lock a GPS signal. I think the program's failure to lock on is causing my battery to abnormally drain. I can get GPS to lock using GPS Test, but not Maps. I'm on 5.0 with the standard gaaps.

    BTW, what exactly is the wake lock bug y'all been talking about? Does this have to do with GPS? Think it would help if I upgraded to 5.1?

    Said it before, I'll say it again - So many questions, so little time...
     
  5. RubberDucker

    RubberDucker Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    136
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    136
    12
    38
    Living the dream.
    Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
    Yep. I used the non-inverted with Photosphere listed on the ROM's main page... I usually flash Maximus, but wanted to try non-inverted this time around...
     
  6. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,118
    Posts:
    13,886
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,886
    14,062
    2,118
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    While we're overloading T-Dev with questions:

    Is there a way to put the pie controls a little farther up? I currently have it centered on the right side (I'm right-handed) and every time I hit the letter "p" on my virtual keyboard the pie controls come up. It's a fight to get "p" typed! Perhaps in 5.3 (?) there can be options to put the controls top, bottom, left, right, upper left, upper right, lower left, lower, right... basically centered about anywhere around the edge of the screen.

    Just curious...
     
    SecondShot and halon like this.
  7. CharlzO

    CharlzO Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    993
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011

    Apr 2, 2011
    993
    205
    123
    Male
    Computer Programmer
    Can't say for sure, but I know I haven't had any issues yet with 5.1 not locking on. If you haven't yet, I'd go for it. It's been super stable for me since loading it up, across the board.
     
  8. tdevaughn

    tdevaughn Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,007
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    1,007
    395
    163
    Statesville NC
    5.1 should be better for gps lock.
     
  9. tdevaughn

    tdevaughn Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,007
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    1,007
    395
    163
    Statesville NC
    will ask the feathered one....
     
    The_Chief likes this.
  10. SweatyPits

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    482
    Joined:
    May 20, 2012

    May 20, 2012
    482
    54
    53
    Ok, thanks. I actually had two More re boots today when texting. My google talk video chat doesn't work on this version either, that might be gapps though (who knows). I never dirty flash. Might give the new xenon that came out today a try.
     
  11. TritonDroid

    TritonDroid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    194
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012

    Dec 18, 2012
    194
    27
    43

    This. Signals lock quick and this ROM has been incredibly stable.
     
  12. BabyBlues

    BabyBlues Trouble Just Finds Me!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    13,125
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    13,125
    9,766
    1,333
    Female
    Masquerading as a responsible adult
    Jersey - born & bred
    I know its probably right in front of me but where is the control to turn off the flashing blue light in the pulldown?
     
  13. SecondShot

    SecondShot Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    269
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011

    Mar 29, 2011
    269
    89
    53
    Washington DC
    BB: Here you go...select Sourcery tools>Mods>Either animated pulldowns or pulldown wallpaper to fix as you like.
     
    BabyBlues likes this.
  14. BabyBlues

    BabyBlues Trouble Just Finds Me!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    13,125
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    13,125
    9,766
    1,333
    Female
    Masquerading as a responsible adult
    Jersey - born & bred
    Thank you!!! I knew I was just missing it - much appreciate the point in the right direction. Was driving me batty.
     
  15. SweatyPits

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    482
    Joined:
    May 20, 2012

    May 20, 2012
    482
    54
    53
    This is why I stopped using the pie feature. It's like Google didn't test it before release.
     
  16. roshchan

    roshchan Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012

    Jan 15, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    Hi all,

    I recently did a clean flash of jbSourcery 5.1 after being on 4.5 and followed the Chief's guide on flashing a ROM and for some reason, I have no service. It's only after several reboots that it seems to work and then I lose service again. The message I get is to Restart the phone as there is no SIM card inserted.

    I tried going through several pages of the forum to see if anybody had the same problem but couldn't find anything.

    Any advice?

    Thanks,

    roshchan
     
  17. waviiboiied

    waviiboiied Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012

    Aug 29, 2012
    29
    5
    16
    Toro gnex sourcery 5.1 non inverted gapps w/o photosphere: Not sure if its just me, however when i add>widgets>photo Gallery > chose an image my phone locks up when image Is cropping. This results in my launcher (both apex and Nova) crashing. Problem occurred on 5.0 also o.o was fine before.

    Also : tested on my nexus 10 running AOKP build 5(would love to run sourcery) it works, which leads me to infer its not a 4.2.2 bug.
     
  18. jmar

    jmar Nexican
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    523
    Posts:
    4,850
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010

    Sep 27, 2010
    4,850
    3,131
    523
    Male
    Sales
    San Jose, CA
    Just a little FYI, Google implemented pie control in the AOSP browser as an option for navigation specifically for that app.

    Pie control for navigating ones phone was started by a Dev on XDA with an app called LMT Launcher. This app has all the settings needed to place the pie where you want and managed the width and height of the hotspot. I don't use this ROM so I am not familiar with the options available to users of this ROM. However, if you use LMT Launchers app, I can guarantee you'll get all the functionality you are looking for.

    jmar
     
    BabyBlues likes this.
  19. dhworph

    dhworph Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    566
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011

    Dec 21, 2011
    566
    63
    78
    I too can't stand the white text on the clock... I just compiled the DeskClock.apk and changed the color filter to red... I haven't tried it, but it works in my emulator. It is odexed though... (see attached)

    If it works for you, I can probably change the color and de-odex it if you like. Colors are AARRGGBB format, and AA seems to be the alpha, or opacity, then red, green, blue. Just specify the color and I'll build it... I am not able to add preference settings for stuff like this yet though...

    btw... I'm editing:
    platform/packages/apps/DeskClock/src/com/android/deskclock/Utils.java
    line 389
     

    Attached Files:

    The_Chief and BabyBlues like this.
  20. SweatyPits

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    482
    Joined:
    May 20, 2012

    May 20, 2012
    482
    54
    53
  21. SweatyPits

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    482
    Joined:
    May 20, 2012

    May 20, 2012
    482
    54
    53
    the adjustments are useless, tried every one. the new pie feature blows. glad you like it, but if you read through threads on xda and rootz, you'll find you're in the minority.

    fyi, the browser pie works great.
     
  22. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,118
    Posts:
    13,886
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,886
    14,062
    2,118
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    @dhworph: WOW, awesome! If you can create a Deskclock in that familiar ICS/JB teal blue we all know & love so much, I would be eternally grateful to you.

    Well, maybe not ETERNALLY but for an extremely long time :D
     
  23. jmar

    jmar Nexican
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    523
    Posts:
    4,850
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010

    Sep 27, 2010
    4,850
    3,131
    523
    Male
    Sales
    San Jose, CA
    Are you saying that the adjustments don't take? Like, if you change the values for height and width that those adjustments don't register? And are you referring to adjustments made in the LMT Launcher app or adjustments made in pie control settings within the Sourcery ROM? When I make value adjustments and restart the service so that those values are saved, I see the changes.

    FWIW, I have been using LMT Launcher for pie controls since it debuted and have had a GNex since launch day. I went through the days when it was a buggy app and have seen its options, customizations and functionality improve over that timespan.

    While it may not be usable for you, your comment comes across a bit harsh. The Dev of the app LMT Launcher is a wonderful example of a Dev who cares about his users. He has proven that he is willing and able to take feedback and better his app for his users.

    Again, I don't use Sourcery and would have to research to see if its pie controls are an implementation of LMT Launcher or proprietary. But let's not blame Google nor bash Devs.

    Sorry that it doesn't fit your needs.

    Hope that helps.

    jmar
     
  24. dhworph

    dhworph Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    566
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011

    Dec 21, 2011
    566
    63
    78
    your wish, my command... lol, here it is...

    Let me know if it works, As I've only tested it in the emulator. It's hard to tell how closely the color is matched comparing my laptop screen to my phone...

    Should probably overwrite current deskclock with it. But of course *** backup***!!! I take no responsibility for bricks! :D

    Should be able to just rename Your current DeskClock.apk in /system/app to DeskClock.apk-bak or so and then paste in the apk and odex I have attached here, and probably need to change permissions to rw-r-r.

    Note: that this was build for an emulator... does that mean it won't work on a phone? I have no idea. If it doesn't work, I can re-compile it for toro to see if that helps. Let me know.

    ===

    I was playing around with adding a settings option to it, but that will take me some work as I have to add a dialog popup... I'm sure a skilled android programmer could do that in 30 seconds though... any takers? I was just thinking a popup where you enter the color in a text box in hex: #AARRGGBB... with a set of written instructions on what the hex means. Of course, it would be sweet to have a color wheel/swatch dialog though.

    I got far enough to where the color filter was replaced by a public variable, and added a settings option... just gotta make the popup dialog that will set the variable.
     

    Attached Files:

    The_Chief likes this.
  25. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,118
    Posts:
    13,886
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,886
    14,062
    2,118
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    Sure, I'll be the guinea pig! :p

    Hold, on, backing up now...
     
    dhworph likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...