1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

[Verizon] [rom]jbsourcery v5.4-lte[06/07/13] jb4.2.2 The Final Call

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by tdevaughn, Aug 13, 2012.

  1. colchiro

    colchiro Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    4 long calls today and 3 reboots during those calls.
     

    Advertisement

  2. SecondShot

    SecondShot Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    269
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011

    Mar 29, 2011
    269
    89
    53
    Washington DC
    LMT v1.8 is the actual pie control program version (search xda). I see a newer version 1.91 available too. I think its available on extra apps in sourcery tools too.
     
    The_Chief likes this.
  3. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #10
    Points:
    2,118
    Posts:
    13,886
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,886
    14,060
    2,118
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    Thank you, trying this out now :)


    EDIT: Okay, nav bar hidden and pie control on with Y-controls set to 100. Much better. The "p" is a little sticky but at least I can live with it now.

    Great find SecondShot! :D
     
  4. jackburnt

    jackburnt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    663
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    663
    63
    98
    Auburn, AL
    My network (both radio and Wifi) is a bit spotty, as in it goes grey. Usually an airplane toggle will fix it, but didn't know if others are having the same issue.

    Stock kernel that comes with ROM.
     
  5. darkcyber

    darkcyber Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,608
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    1,608
    151
    163
    Male
    North Alabama
    Yes, I am seeing the exact same thing. Wifi starts out blue and then goes grey and does not work. Reboot does not fix it either. I just went back to stable 5.0 version as I am seeing random reboots with 5.1.
     
  6. Larzzzz

    Larzzzz Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012

    Mar 8, 2012
    44
    5
    16
    Electrician
    Running 5.1 and it's very nice so far. Just 1 question; what happened to the dock in the settings menu? I used to drop my phone on and it would automagically bring up the clock.
     
  7. eagle1967

    eagle1967 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    232
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010

    Dec 28, 2010
    232
    165
    68
    1)chief!!!!!!!!!!!-deskclock settings bottom. color changing.. that doesnt do what you need?

    EDIT: OK WELL THIS WASNT FUN TURNED OUT I MESSEED IT UP AND IT WAS BROKEN :)

    2)twrp--we have had people using twrp having reboot issues, systemui fc, bad gpd, wif problem. they returned (this is 5 people thus far) installed cwm wiped clean installed and all went away. do not know what is going on with twrp but this is 5 people that im aware of not part of team sourcery that did this and the problems went away.
    EDIT: IT APPEARS THAT TWRP DOES NOT WIPE DATA/DATA WITHOUT DOING A FACTORY RESET WE BELIEVE THIS TO BE THE REASON FOR THE ABOVE STATED PROBLEMS, SO PLEASE DO THE FACTORY RESET.

    3)titanium doesnt matter if you only restored data apps it causes problems.
    also alot of people like to say i only restored data apps but also restored wifi and/or bluetooth settings this is in the settings app that is a system app and it causes problems.

    4)pie- pie is a work of Paranoid android rom developers. i update code as they do. LMT is an app that is simalair and is avaialble in the extra apps section of tools. if you dont like pie that is in the rom turn it off. Its not something i use either its there for those that do want to use it.
    LMT is a great app also. If the pie causes problems with p sett the trigger smaller.

    5) voice for keyboard not working..this is caused by the stupidness of having 3 names for the same file. if you experience this delete googlenow.apk, velvet.apk, googlesearchbox.apk out of system apps. this can be done in tools with app manager top right choose show system aps. or by using any root explorer. the reson this breaks is you have one of those in system/app and another name of same thing in data/app.

    6)clean install using cwm phone to wifi as i canceled my tmobile accont since the move edge only here. so its been on wifi. uptime 109:56:08 last reboot was testing a mod. notice on wifi also.

    7) also hearing some compatibililty problems with the new radios out there i never upgraded to them and have no reboots or issues on the vzw phone. gps locks instantly.
    EDIT: RADIOS I DONT BELIEVE WOULD OF CAUSED REBOOTS THIS WAS A GENRAL STATEMENT.
    AS EVIDENCED BY THE UP TIME OF THE PHONE RUNNING 5.1
    [​IMG]

    8)nothing was removed from settings related to dock so if its not there it wasnt stock android and we never had it.


    ok so to sum it up. if your having problems ditch twrp and install with cwm..im sorry i know i hear twrp has some awesome features but it appears actually wiping isnt one of them.
    EDIT :AS STATED ABOVE WE HAVE I BELIEVE FIGURED OUT WHAT THE ISSUE HERE WAS SO JSUT DOING THE FACTORY RESET ON AN INSTALL WE BELIEVE WILL STOP THE PROBLEMS WE WERE SEEING FROM WHAT WE READ. THIS ALSO EXPLAINS WHY SOME HAD THE PROBLEMS WHILE OTHERS DID NOT. --THE ASSUMTPTION OF IT NOT WIPING WAS CORRECT BUT AFTER READING MANY MANY PAGES IN THEIR FORUMS I FOUND THIS DATA/DATA NOT WIPING WITHOUT FACTORY RESET ISSUE AND I TALEKD WITH 2 OF THE 5 TESTERS I HAD AND THEY SAID THEY HAD NOT DOEN THE FACTORY RESET AND THE TEAM MEMBERS THAT USED TWRP THAT HAD NO PROBLEMS DID SO I BELIEVE THIS WAS THE ISSUE.
    hey chief deskclock settings goto bottom :) EDIT AGAIN WHOOPS :)
    and of course dash clock you do know only on sourcery can you change the colors on dashclock .. while dash clock itself was done by another great dev the colorness of it was done by team sourcery and our magic mn johnny.

    NEW Radios --revert EDIT: STATED BECAUSE WE HAVE HEARD NOONE GIVING ANY GREAT REPORTS OF THEM BUT HAVE HEARD A FEW WTH COMPLAINTS.

    We try to recreate every bug reported and following what is stated above these are not reproducible when installing after wiping with cwm, intalling the stock supported gapps. and not using titanum or any other restoring backup app.

    inverted gapps should work final also but i do believe there are issues with google now with them because google is constantly updating google now and breaks it we jsut cant kep up. use the fix above to fix it.

    Touch to wake...removed from this kernel as it causes issues also...so if changing kernels with ti it will cause problems. there really isnt anything in the rom to change to make touch to wake work better that i have seen. all i know is we tried it and it causes major problem if the kernel supports it and its turned on in trickster.

    also we test the rom with our kernel we cant predict what every kernel out there does. so if you are reporting issues we need information such as what kernel, what recovery, what apps do you have that can be related to that area your are having problems with. we can only test things with information.

    as stated im running one phone on wifi 1 on vzw netwrok (old radios) and have no connection issues on either.

    Thanks for using sourcery and hope some of this helps.

    EDIT: I POST THESE SOMETIMES AFTER A 10 HOUR SHIFT AND 3 HOURS WORKING ON THE ROM.
    I AM NOT PERFECT AND STATE SOME THINGS WRONG.
    WE TRY TO HELP OUT AND ASSIST WHERE WE CAN.
    I THINK MOST EVERYONE KNOWS THIS.
    i APPOLIGIZE IF SOMETIMES THINGS SOUND HASH OR NOT RIGHT. PLEASE POST A RESPONSE AND LET ME KNOW IF I STATED SOMETHING QUESTIONABLE ILL EITHER SAY OH MAN SORRY THATS NOT WHAT I MEANT OR ILL EXPLAIN MORE WHY I SAID IT..

    nOT PERFECT HERE, DONT CLAIM TO BE. DONT CLAIM THE ROM IS PERFECT WE STRIVE FOR IT AND WORK HARD TO INSURE IT RUNS RELIABLY.
    WE WILL NEVER BLOW OFF A REPORT OF A PROBLEM BUT WHEN 5 PEOPLE ON THE TEAM AND OR SOME IN IRC TEST THINGS AND CANT REPRODUCE SOMETHING THAN ITS HARD FOR US TO FIX AN ISSUE WE CANT FIND.

    i INSURE YOU WE ATTEMPT TO ONLY RELEASE A STABLE RELIABLE PRODUCT. AND ITS ALWAYS TESTED EXTENSIVELY. WHEN I RELEASE A X.X BUILD ITS BECAUSE WE HAVE HAD NO TESTERS REPORT ANY PROBLEMS. BUT THINGS ALWAYS SEEM TO COME ALONG WHEN THOUSANDS GET THEIR HANDS ON IT :)
     
  8. colchiro

    colchiro Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    I'm not ready to give up TWRP just yet, but just now reverted from GlaDOS (w/ touch-to-wake enabled) to stock kernel. I had planned to do this days ago, but was concerned I could 'loop if I didn't do it right.

    Thanks for the tips. :D
     
  9. bigbear6708

    bigbear6708 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    470
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012

    Feb 11, 2012
    470
    224
    68
    I'm a previous twrp user.... and when I was on twrp I didn't use sorcery... Ran into tons of probs. Had to eventually flash stock image to clean up my phone. After that I started using cwm.. no issues at all.. Even on sorcery. I never see any problems reported
     
  10. BabyBlues

    BabyBlues Trouble Just Finds Me!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    13,125
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    13,125
    9,766
    1,333
    Female
    Masquerading as a responsible adult
    Jersey - born & bred
    So it sounds like I'm going to be doing a reinstall of cwm and a full wipe. I'm going to try using titanium for just a few apps but not WiFi points. (Too much info in a few of those apps for me to lose) so I know I'm taking a small risk.
    I hope to get to this in the next couple days - I miss WiFi.
    Thanks for all the info!!!
     
  11. bsems1000

    bsems1000 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    432
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    432
    60
    53
    7 cities VA
    I started getting random reboots and such after say 2 of running 5.1. I dealt w/ it for the most part if not feeling like wiping or flashing back. I tried to clear coach and fix permissions periodically but to no avail.

    Finally today it reboot as I was receiving a call.. It locked up while rebooting. Battery pull, rebooted and it got stuck again at android screen ( I disabled reboot animation) anyways. I tried again and same results, loaded into recovery fixed permissions rebooted and again, wouldn't boot.

    Flashed back to 5.0! I'll be there until an update shows it's head.
     
  12. joesixpack

    joesixpack Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    338
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012

    Jan 25, 2012
    338
    82
    53
    Male
    Northeast OH
    Pardon my ignorance, but how do I flash CWM? I have TWRP (from you guys, actually) and have had no reboots, but I don't make a lot of long phone calls so the issue hasn't had a chance to happen. Plus, I have a lot of backups that I guess would be pretty much useless if I switched. Regarding the TWRP wipe capabilities, I usually use the wipe in TWRP three to four times when I install, so maybe my obsessive compulsiveness actually paid off for me.

    Do you think Superwipe would do a better job wiping the device? Maybe we should use that if we don't want to leave TWRP.

    Hey eagle, I only have one of the three apps you said to delete (velvet). Is this what you meant, or are all three of those supposed to be there? I've had some problems with the voice input for the keyboard going away, but nothing that wasn't solved by a reboot.

    BTW, the new radios are a GIANT PIECE OF CRAP! My battery was taking a MAJOR dump while I had them installed, and they didn't seem to work any better than the older ones. I reverted back to the 4.1.1 radios, and all is right with the world.

    Thanks again for all your hard work! Oh, and I'd STILL rather have a choice of over 200 boot animations than be limited to one that's supposedly really cool. Ooh, and the toggles - the toggles kick a$$!
     
  13. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #10
    Points:
    2,118
    Posts:
    13,886
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,886
    14,060
    2,118
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    HI EAGLE! :)

    Went into Deskclock settings and changed the time to BLUE. Backed out to a WHITE time.

    Turned it sideways and stared at a big WHITE time.

    Put it in night mode and stared at a big WHITE time.

    :thinking:

    Maybe it's something I'm doing wrong: I haven't eaten in a day (procedure tomorrow that requires a 2-day fast) and I'm a little weak in the head. Not that I'm not already weak in the head :p

    But it's okay, I found a solution in Bedside. Don't like having another clock app on the phone cluttering up things, but it works.

    :)
     
  14. iwoloschin

    iwoloschin Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    235
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011

    Nov 27, 2011
    235
    85
    53
    Male
    Electrical Engineer
    Somerville, MA
    Looks like there was a fairly big Gmail update that includes some new notification actions. I know that updates & inverted apps are at odds with each other, but does anyone have any thoughts on how long that might take? Just curious when I should definitely check back for an updated gapps package.
     
  15. TexDaddy57

    TexDaddy57 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    180
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010

    Dec 26, 2010
    180
    19
    38
    Male
    Water Treatment Plant Operator, Owner/Culinary Art
    Somewhere north of Azle Texas
    Ok, I been reading up thethread,. Am I correct that twrp is why this ROM was acting bad with there boots, dropped data & WiFi? and going back to cwm will eradicate these problems?
     
  16. tdevaughn

    tdevaughn Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,007
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    1,007
    395
    163
    Statesville NC
    you can always delete your gmail app and reboot... then download from the market
     
    iwoloschin likes this.
  17. tdevaughn

    tdevaughn Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,007
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    1,007
    395
    163
    Statesville NC
    we have had testers report a vast improvement.
     
    TexDaddy57 likes this.
  18. TexDaddy57

    TexDaddy57 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    180
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010

    Dec 26, 2010
    180
    19
    38
    Male
    Water Treatment Plant Operator, Owner/Culinary Art
    Somewhere north of Azle Texas
    Thanks for the FAST reply. My phone needs to be stable and reliable. I went to Team Win because cwm "fell behind" and learned to Love it. Now it seems Team Win is just behind the curve. Hope it catches up, Much prefer it over cwm.
    Agaun, Thanks!
     
  19. colchiro

    colchiro Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    I haven't had any calls to test stability, but my battery life took a BIG improvement by going back to the stock 5.1 kernel. :D
     
  20. bigbear6708

    bigbear6708 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    470
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012

    Feb 11, 2012
    470
    224
    68
    FYI... to the poster Who said about using titanium to restore WiFi points... Google will restore them when u auto restore... I never have to redo WiFi passwords or relearn networks I use between flashes
     
  21. DannyJSlone

    DannyJSlone Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    256
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012

    Feb 19, 2012
    256
    42
    43
    If I switch back to cwm will I lose my backups I have now?
     
  22. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #10
    Points:
    2,118
    Posts:
    13,886
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,886
    14,060
    2,118
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    The TWRP folder will remain in internal memory... but CWM does not restore TWRP backups and vice versa. If you switch to CWM, immediately make a nandroid backup :)
     
    BabyBlues likes this.
  23. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    10,628
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,628
    7,392
    1,333
    Washington, DC
    They will still be on the device, but CWM and TWRP backups aren't cross-compatible.

    Got Chief Ninja'd
     
  24. BabyBlues

    BabyBlues Trouble Just Finds Me!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    13,125
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    13,125
    9,766
    1,333
    Female
    Masquerading as a responsible adult
    Jersey - born & bred
    I am now using CWM and did a full wipe. My WiFi is back which makes me happy. Thanks again for the update Eagle.
     
  25. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,182
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,182
    8,680
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    I'm usually way behind the times but I just found the easter egg at about phone > fast press android version 2.2.

    3 times yields jellybean, 4+ quick presses makes it smile. :)
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...