1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

[Verizon] [ROM]JDX (formerly Jelly Belly) AOSP+ - v15 (7/28)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ryancmatchett, Jun 28, 2012.

  1. ryancmatchett

    ryancmatchett Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,119
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011

    Nov 15, 2011
    1,119
    744
    213
    Male
    Auditor
    Austin, TX

    My process has always been to clean up my file storage to my PC. I connect my phone to the PC probably 2-3 times a week, select which files to copy or which files to move off my phone. This does double duty...keeps my phone somewhat clean AND more importantly...makes sure I have a complete backup of everything!! Last night it came in handy, when I borked the phone, and had to reroot, super wipe and redo everything, I had all my files backed up to my PC...just ran Wugs again, copied all my files back and reinstalled my ROM.

    However, you can manually clean them up through a file explorer, like ES file explorer or through ROM Manager as well.
    Good Luck!
     

    Advertisement

  2. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,118
    Posts:
    13,886
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,886
    14,066
    2,118
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    Or you could just plug the phone into the PC, navigate using Windows, and delete the ClockworkMod folder (or move it to the PC if you think there's even a remote chance of needing the backups). I had multiple GBs of backups in there... amazing how much memory I freed up! :D
     
    ryancmatchett likes this.
  3. ryancmatchett

    ryancmatchett Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,119
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011

    Nov 15, 2011
    1,119
    744
    213
    Male
    Auditor
    Austin, TX
    Quick question for the techies...what else besides MMS uses the Cell signal when you are on WiFi? Is it just GPS? Or are there other things that pull Cell Signals?
    (I know..off topic. But I am wracking my brain here on base android...sorry)
     
  4. CopperWires

    CopperWires Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    291
    Joined:
    May 1, 2010

    May 1, 2010
    291
    58
    53
    I just wanted to check in with you guys. I'm still on 3.5, I'm getting random reboots now. I've had 3 this morning since 7:30. Not sure what's going on.

    ryan, I hope its not the inverted gmail. :(

    I guess I'll go ahead and try 3.6 since 3.5 isn't stable for me.
     
  5. Airmaxx23

    Airmaxx23 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,142
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    3,142
    1,039
    313
    They are working fine for me.
     
  6. andoird213

    andoird213 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,569
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011

    Oct 30, 2011
    1,569
    470
    163
    Male
    Yeah I know I just realized that its only when playing over Bluetooth which is what I imagine its supposed to be
     
  7. CopperWires

    CopperWires Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    291
    Joined:
    May 1, 2010

    May 1, 2010
    291
    58
    53
    I found something else that is strange..tapatalk will fc due to something in a reply that is about 5 - 10 posts back.
     
  8. ryancmatchett

    ryancmatchett Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,119
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011

    Nov 15, 2011
    1,119
    744
    213
    Male
    Auditor
    Austin, TX
    This is from Jakeday...he found the error in the Wifi settings in the ROM. Fix is coming soon, but for now:
    This is a different bug than was fixed previously. A workaround until I get a fox in place is to use googles name servers for your WiFi DNS. Just connect to the WiFi, for to settings, WiFi, long press on WiFi network, edit, advanced options, change to static instead of dhcp and put in 8.8.4.4 and 8.8.8.8 for DNS2
     
    jmar and jbdan like this.
  9. CopperWires

    CopperWires Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    291
    Joined:
    May 1, 2010

    May 1, 2010
    291
    58
    53
    This is the fix for the wifi/mms issue?
     
  10. DannyJSlone

    DannyJSlone Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    256
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012

    Feb 19, 2012
    256
    42
    43
    All of a sudden today Google now is not giving me the weather for my location. If I ask for a city it tells me but ifni ask for the temperature outside it sends me to the web. Just started today.
     
  11. CopperWires

    CopperWires Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    291
    Joined:
    May 1, 2010

    May 1, 2010
    291
    58
    53
    Something is eating my battery. I am at 2.5 hours while listening to I heart radio most of the time it has been on. I'm going to have to track this down.
     
  12. jmd494

    jmd494 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2012

    Jul 15, 2012
    6
    3
    16
    I'm on v3.5. Anyone else having some SERIOUS lag ("initializing") when trying to use voice search?

    8 times out of 10 it's instant but those other two times (usually when using voice search for the first time in a while), it takes >30 seconds to "initialize".
     
  13. jbdan

    jbdan Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    7,121
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    7,121
    3,187
    513
    atl ga usa
    Welcome here! I've seen it take up to ~3 seconds to initialize never longer. Can you give us some more info like are you coming from a clean flash and what version ROM you're using?
     
  14. ryancmatchett

    ryancmatchett Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,119
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011

    Nov 15, 2011
    1,119
    744
    213
    Male
    Auditor
    Austin, TX
    This is a temporary fix, only if you absolutely need to have the MMS ability on Wifi....until 3.7 comes out, which will include the fix for this. Apparently its a setting in the ROM build that Jakeday is now aware of.

    This is not something that you should have to change at any point normally, only if you absolutely need the ability to send MMS over Wifi for now.

    Also, I DID test this right after I got his response, and I was able to send an MMS, no problem. So this fix worked for me, although not an easy change to set these properly in the Nexy!

    My First Multi Quote...I am so proud of myself...but I had to do it on the PC...cant do this on the app...
     
    jmar and iowabowtech like this.
  15. noahdr

    noahdr Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    77
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2011

    Nov 19, 2011
    77
    4
    16
    +1 My battery life is all of a sudden awful while listening to tune in radio. Let us know if you figure out on your end.
     
  16. CopperWires

    CopperWires Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    291
    Joined:
    May 1, 2010

    May 1, 2010
    291
    58
    53
    Was it working ok like the day before? Mine showed similar battery life to previous versions which was acceptable, but to be less than 10% battery at 2.5 hours is crazy.
     
  17. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,118
    Posts:
    13,886
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,886
    14,066
    2,118
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    Welcome to the forums, jmd494! :D

    Yeah I get the "initializing" thing too... usually after doing something to the ROM, gapps or cache in Recovery. But once I'm up & running, it generally goes pretty fast.

    Not sure what's causing it to initialize over and over, though.
     
  18. jmd494

    jmd494 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2012

    Jul 15, 2012
    6
    3
    16
    Thanks! I'm very new to modding and all the steps I went through are kinda a blur at this point.

    I used the Gnex toolkit to start up a program on my phone with a black background and blue text (it had yes no questions with like 7 no's and 1 yes if that ring a bell). Using that program, I wiped data, did a factory reset, wiped the d cache, formatted system, flashed 3.5 and the corresponding G-apps and fixed permissions.

    So I think the "ROM" I'm using is Jelly Belly 3.5.

    For the record, it was MUCH worse for me using 3.4 when I didn't do several of those steps above (just unlocked the bootloader and flashed the rom/G-apps).
     
    jbdan likes this.
  19. jmd494

    jmd494 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2012

    Jul 15, 2012
    6
    3
    16
    Thank you. I don't want to send anyone on a wild goose chase because I could be remembering wrong when it was occurring. Plus after posting, I'm not able to recreate the problem currently.

    I will monitor the behavior and see if it continues now that I'm done tweaking for a few days. If I see it again, I'll post again.
     
    jbdan and iowabowtech like this.
  20. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,182
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,182
    8,680
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    Welcome to the outfit jmd494. Good to have you with us. :)
     
    jbdan likes this.
  21. CopperWires

    CopperWires Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    291
    Joined:
    May 1, 2010

    May 1, 2010
    291
    58
    53
    I just decided to go ahead and flash 3.6 to see if my battery life improves.
     
  22. UBRocked

    UBRocked VZW Nexus Please!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,334
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    4,334
    1,564
    433
    Ohio
    3.6 has been really good for me in terms of battery life (best batt life on a JB ROM yet).

    I'm at 5 hours off a charger and I have 85% left. Obviously, that is with minimal use and it's been standby on WiFi most of the time.

    Deep sleep is working well both yesterday and today I'm seeing about 3% per hour drain when the phone is sitting idle. That's pretty damn good standby time.

    I watch YouTube videos on my way home from work (listen mostly so don't preach :p). The phone is always set to max brightness and charging on my ride home. The phone charges faster than it drains during that time (which is about as battery intensive as you can get). I was at 80% battery life left yesterday when I got home at 6:30 PM. Used my phone a lot until about 11 PM and was around 20%. That may not mean much to any of you, but based on my usage patterns, it's pretty damn good.
     
  23. johnnybirdman

    johnnybirdman Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    342
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    342
    188
    88
    Law
    Erie, PA
    Installed 3.6 last night, no mods. 2 things I noticed today was while listening to music... a notification (email) came in, coming from unrooted, stock 4.0.4, notifications used to pause the music, fire, and then music re-started. I notice in JB, or in this ROM, that the music volume lowered and the notification played over the music... nice. Might not be news to some but JB noobs might not yet know of this feature.

    Also, on the bad side, walked into Starbucks and paused my music to place my order. Went to restart music and at that point I couldn't get Nexi to respond and a battery pull was necessary to get it to do anything.
    J.
     
    Outatime and jbdan like this.
  24. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,182
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,182
    8,680
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    Well, thanks to the new CWM debacle, I'm back on 3.5 clean flashed. Figured I may as well go back to working MMS since I had to start from scratch. Interesting morning indeed.
     
  25. noahdr

    noahdr Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    77
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2011

    Nov 19, 2011
    77
    4
    16
    I didn't notice my battery life taking a hit until just recently. it is definitely worse than when I was on ics. Im only syncing contacts and have GPS turned off.
    anyone have any ideas on an app that'll assist in tracking down a battery drain?
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...