1. Are you ready for the Galaxy S20? Here is everything we know so far!

[Verizon] Rooting/Unlocking Galaxy SIII

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by TLBecker13, Jun 28, 2013.

  1. TLBecker13

    TLBecker13 Newbie
    Thread Starter

    Hello, I'm having some trouble :dontknow: rooting my Galaxy SIII...I'm not sure :thinking: if I'm downloading the correct software or what, but am having hell trying to exract and archive the "Tar/Md5" files to use in ODIN...is there a download that doesn't come with alot of :mad: malware, etc. or is there a simpler :D process?

    Thanks :adore: in advance!
     



    1. Download the Forums for Android™ app!


      Download

       
  2. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!

    welcome to AF!!!!!!!!

    what carrier do you have? i can move you to the correct root forum for the s3, i just need to know the carrier. you will get better help this way.

    edit: never mind i just saw your profile and i moved you to the s3 verizon root forum.
     
    TLBecker13 likes this.
  3. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    VIP Member

    Hello there TLBecker!
    Welcome to the forums!
    I see ocnbrze has moved you here so we can help you out:)
    What guide are you following to root?
    This is the guide I followed:
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2046439

    What is the latest stock update are you on? The MF1 update or the MB1 update?

    Using that guide, you need not extract anything but the ODIN .zip. to use ODIN.
    :)
     
    TLBecker13 and ocnbrze like this.
  4. TLBecker13

    TLBecker13 Newbie
    Thread Starter

    That's actually the guide I am following. I am having trouble when it comes to the bootloader and trying to add(drag n drop/browse) the tar/md5 files to ODIN...

    I just recently (within last 3 months) switched from IOS to Droid, so this is all unfamiliar, to say the least. I had no problems jailbreaking my iPhones and actually understanding them. I must say that I find myself scratching my head here recently while trying to root and unlock my S3, and I consider myself to be pretty technologically savvy for the most part...

    Oh yeah, I'm MB1

    Thanks!
     
  5. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    VIP Member

    o.k....when you are in ODIN, and you have the phone connected, when you click on PDA, can you navigate to the .tar.md5 file and double click on it? After double clicking on it, it should appear in the PDA box.
    Do I understand you correctly? :)
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  6. TLBecker13

    TLBecker13 Newbie
    Thread Starter

    I had to end up switching laptops so I am having to download all of the links onto this laptop. Just to make sure I am on the right track, some of the links get downloaded to the phone and some get downloaded to the computer, correct?

    If I remember correctly, once I put the file into ODIN and click "start" I would get an error message basically stating that it was unsuccessful....
     
  7. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    VIP Member

    The only file that should go onto the sd card is the file listed here:
    Make sure you check the md5 checksum for your downloads to make sure they match.
    Are you familiar with the md5?
    If not, check this out:
    http://androidforums.com/faqs/443074-md5-verification.html

    Don't get that confused with the name of the .tar.md5 file....it's not the same thing :)
     
    TLBecker13 likes this.
  8. TLBecker13

    TLBecker13 Newbie
    Thread Starter

    Not familiar at all...
    Im checking that out now, Thanks!
     
  9. TLBecker13

    TLBecker13 Newbie
    Thread Starter

    I completed all of the steps and everything, to include recovery, seems to have been successful. However, looking at my phone, nothing has actually changed...Again, I am not familiar with this operating system, so how how will I know by looking at my phone, that it is now rooted and unlocked?

    Thanks!
     
  10. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    VIP Member

    Do you have the SuperSU app in your app drawer?
     
    TLBecker13 and ocnbrze like this.
  11. TLBecker13

    TLBecker13 Newbie
    Thread Starter

  12. TLBecker13

    TLBecker13 Newbie
    Thread Starter

    Now what do I do? LOL, one of the main purposes of doing this was so I would be able to use the phone with T-Mobile/Straight Talk and get off the Verizon network...
     
  13. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    VIP Member

    Now, that is only a small part of being rooted.:)
    Most of what went on is not visible.
    What recovery did you end up going with?
    Now I would recommend backing up your IMEI....stand by I'll post a link for that.
    There is so much more that I could type here:p
     
    ocnbrze and TLBecker13 like this.
  14. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    VIP Member

    Just saw your post.......I don't think that is possible...is your contract up with Verizon?
     
  15. TLBecker13

    TLBecker13 Newbie
    Thread Starter

    I used the ClockWorkMod Touch Recovery 6.0.2.3...

    Contract is not up with Verizon, but i was under the impression that unlocking the phone would "unlock" it from Verizon. .
     
  16. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    VIP Member

    Not in that sense of the word unlock. You've unlocked your bootloader which allows you to flash roms etc.
    Unlocking the device for use on different carriers can only be done by your carrier while under contract. Unlocking the device is illegal in the U.S. without the carriers knowledge.

    And besides, don't quote me on this, I thought that T-mobile ran on a GSM network, not a CDMA like Verizon.
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  17. TLBecker13

    TLBecker13 Newbie
    Thread Starter

    From what I've read, you are correct as far as the GSM vs CDMA carriers...So now I'm looking into a way to unlock it from the carrier and also finding a CDMA carrier to use it with...thank you so much for all of your help with the rooting and bootloader unlock!
     
  18. astan

    astan Lurker

    The Verizon Samsung S3 is carrier unlocked if you have installed the June 20, 2013 update VRBMF1. You can use T-Mobile or AT&T in the US or any GSM sim that uses 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900 GSM frequencies. It uses LTE 700 which means no 4G except on Verizon. AT&T uses a different part of the 700 band. Its CDMA frequencies are 850 / 1900 and you usually cannot use it on other CDMA carriers unless they use these frequencies and you may need to root the phone to make special changes.
     
    TLBecker13 and ocnbrze like this.
  19. TLBecker13

    TLBecker13 Newbie
    Thread Starter

    I actually ended up taking my S3 to a cell phone shop, they worked their magic and were able to put my S3 on a prepaid plan. however, Verizon is still the carrier. Oddly enough, when I previously spoke with Verizon in order to get that done, they were of no assistance. With that being said, I do not have the June update of MF1. I do want to update my S3, but am unsure as to how to do so, considering my phone is rooted and unlocked. I wouldnt mind my phone being unrooted, due to the fact that I still have yet to understand what is so unique about it being rooted... but point being, I just don't want to brick my S3...Thanks!
     

Samsung Galaxy S3 Forum

The Samsung Galaxy S3 release date was May 2012. Features and Specs include a 4.8" inch screen, 8MP camera, 1GB RAM, Exynos 4412 Quad processor, and 2100mAh battery.

May 2012
Release Date
0
Reviews
Loading...

Share This Page

Loading...