1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Verizon says data usage is very high

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by nomad47, Jan 5, 2013.

  1. nomad47

    nomad47 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013

    Jan 5, 2013
    8
    0
    5
    Male
    We just switched from 2 Palm Pixi smart phones where our data usage was under 500 MB per month. We now have Pantech Marauder phones and automated Verizon is telling us we are using data at a rate of 10 GB per month.
    Is there an app that is running that could be a data hog? We don't download movies or music or play interactive games, so I don't know why our usage could be so high. Or is there something wrong with the way Verizon is tracking our usage?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Thechidz

    Thechidz Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    233
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011

    Mar 13, 2011
    233
    15
    38
    do you mean 10GB per month?
     
  3. nomad47

    nomad47 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013

    Jan 5, 2013
    8
    0
    5
    Male
    Yes, just fixed my mistake. Thanks.
     
  4. Crashdamage

    Crashdamage Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    643
    Posts:
    4,446
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011

    Feb 25, 2011
    4,446
    2,754
    643
    Mostly retired
    Kansas City, Mo.
    Go Menu > Settings > Data usage to see what's going on.

    Linux user #266351. Android since v1.0
     
  5. nomad47

    nomad47 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013

    Jan 5, 2013
    8
    0
    5
    Male
    Went there and it says 1.45 GB used in 4 days by "Tethering & mobile".

    I believe that is the Mobile Hotspot connection to my laptop. And my old Palm Pixi did the same thing and never went over .5 GB per month.
     
  6. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    15,208
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    It depends on what you have been doing on your laptop when you were tethering.
     
  7. Thechidz

    Thechidz Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    233
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011

    Mar 13, 2011
    233
    15
    38
    are the pantechs 4g phones? You will tether a LOT more data on LTE
     
  8. nomad47

    nomad47 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013

    Jan 5, 2013
    8
    0
    5
    Male
    Yes, they are 4G and that seems to be using a LOT more data.
     

Share This Page

Loading...