1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Verizon] Screen and Lockscreen Off Delay

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by wioneo, Jan 14, 2013.

  1. wioneo

    wioneo Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010

    Nov 26, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    Is it possible to have the screen stay on until I manually press the power button while unlocked, but sleep after a set time while locked?

    For example if I just press the power button and check the time, or it is accidentally pressed in my pocket, the screen will automatically turn off soon. However, if I wake up and unlock my phone, the screen will stay on until I press the button.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    30,005
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,005
    24,909
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    You mean the screen timeout when unlocked? menu/settings/display/screen timeout...max is 10 minutes.

    As far as the lockscreen timeout, you want the lockscreen to display until you press the power button? As in, you wake the phone to the lockscreen, but want it to stay on until you "command" it to turn off?
    Not sure on that one, unless there is a setting in the build.prop.

    Did I understand your question correctly?
     
  3. wioneo

    wioneo Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010

    Nov 26, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    I was asking about the reverse situation, that is to completely disable the automatic timeout while unlocked, but have a set timeout for the lockscreen. Currently the lockscreen timeout seems to be 10-15 seconds and I don't see a setting for that, which is fine, but I want to remove the unlocked timeout, which like you said has a max setting of 10 minutes.
     
  4. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    30,005
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,005
    24,909
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    Ah, gotcha! The first thing that comes to mind, is a change in the build.prop settings. But where that would be, I don't know....I'd have to research that too.
    Perhaps SURoot would know if he pops in here:)
     

Share This Page

Loading...