1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Verizon] So I buy this Black and Decker drill, Model 4.1.2, ....

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by FLA_Cracker, Jan 11, 2014.

  1. FLA_Cracker

    FLA_Cracker Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014

    Jan 11, 2014
    2
    0
    5
    and then purchase and install a rooted speed chuck specifically for the purpose that I must have. Not having a rooted speed chuck is not an option. 9 months later I get a visit from Black and Decker representatives. They're uninvited and unwanted.

    B&D: We're here to upgrade your drill to model 4.3.

    Me: Mine's working fine. I don't want it.

    B&D: It's an upgrade. It's a newer model and a better drill.

    Me: Does it come with a rooted speed chuck?

    B&D: Well no. In fact a rooted speed chuck can't be installed on this upgrade.

    Me: Then I don't want it. It's of no use to me.

    B&D: When you purchased your drill, you agreed to let us upgrade your drill. Installing the rooted speed chuck violated the TOS.

    Me: I bought it, it's mine, and I'll do whatever the hell I want with it. Replacing the custom spinner wheels on my car with factory originals is not an upgrade. It's a downgrade. Go away or I'll call the cops.

    B&D: You have no choice. We are going to stand here, knocking on your door every 30 seconds until you allow us to upgrade your drill. You agreed to let us do that when you purchased it so there's nothing you can legally do about it.

    Me: Go away!! (closes door).

    B&D: (two days and every 30 seconds later) Knock, knock, knock. We're here to upgrade your drill to model 4.3.


    It's crap like this that makes me absolutely insane. How do I make these idiots go away? What are my options here? I've tried a few things I've read about but most of it is old info and doesn't seem to stop this new upgrade or prevent the constant messages. I've wasted the past 5 hours looking for a cure to make these Verizon update message go away and nothing works. I must have a wireless tether or the phone is useless to me.



    `
     

    Advertisement

  2. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    16,881
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16,881
    7,193
    1,343
    Work to live, not the other way round!!
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
    Hello, FLA_Cracker, welcome to Android Forums! :)

    If you're rooted, you could always install a custom ROM and you wouldn't get carrier updates :)
     
    Mikestony likes this.
  3. FLA_Cracker

    FLA_Cracker Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014

    Jan 11, 2014
    2
    0
    5
    Thank you for the reply. I thought I did that already. According to what you're saying then obviously I didn't.

    When I rooted I followed this:

    How To Root Verizon Samsung Galaxy S3 4.1.1 & Install CWM Recovery « Phone Rebel

    But now that I read it again, it doesn't say anything about a custom ROM - just rooting. Are there any you recommend? Do you have any links? I need very explicit instructions because I really don't know jack about phone OS's. Thanks.




    `
     
  4. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    16,881
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16,881
    7,193
    1,343
    Work to live, not the other way round!!
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
    Don't actually have the same phone as you... perhaps one of our other members who has the same device would be able to suggest a ROM.

    It is worth having a look here though, as there's plenty of useful info http://androidforums.com/verizon-ga...-samsung-galaxy-s3-all-things-root-guide.html :)

    Rooting is the hard part - in comparison, flashing ROM's is pretty easy. Before you know it, you'll be addicted to flashing them :D
     
    Mikestony likes this.
  5. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    16,881
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16,881
    7,193
    1,343
    Work to live, not the other way round!!
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
    Checked your link out... looks like you have rooted the device and installed a custom recovery.

    Flashing ROM's is pretty straight forward...

    • Once you've chosen your ROM, put the ZIP on the root of your SD card (as in, not in any folders).
    • Next, you would need to boot in to recovery - turn your phone off and then, once fully powered down, turn on while holding the volume down button (at least, I think it's the volume down button with your device).
    • You should boot in to ClockWorkMod (CWM)... there will be options in the recovery.
    • It says (in your link) that it is CWM Touch, so you should be able to just touch the option you want... if not, you can use the volume keys to navigate and the power button to select.
    • First... make a backup - this could save your bacon (it has for me previously :)).
    • Next, you should preform a "wipe" (labelled as such, or something similar) - it's always best to perform wipes when changing ROM's.
    • Once you've wiped, you should "install from zip" (or something like that - it's been a while since I've used ClockWorkMod) - you then get the option to choose which zip you want to flash... just select the the zip with the name that you just put on the root of your SD card.
    • Once this is done, you will get the option to reboot... this will then boot back up and you'll have to go through the process of setting your phone back up.
     
    Mikestony likes this.
  6. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    16,881
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16,881
    7,193
    1,343
    Work to live, not the other way round!!
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
    As I said above though, you may want to wait for others who have the same device, who can give you advice on which ROM's to try ;)
     
    Mikestony likes this.
  7. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    29,595
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    29,595
    24,071
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    Hello FLA_Cracker!
    My friend D-U-R-X has got you on the right track, but to boot into recovery on your device, turn the phone off. Then press the home button, and while holding the home button down, press and hold the volume up, then press and hold power. All three buttons are now pressed. When the screen comes up, let go of the power button until you see your recovery.:)


    Usually the rom's download page will have instructions on how to flash, but basically like D-U-R-X said, make a nandroid backup (done in recovery), make sure the rom.zip is on the sd card (internal or external), wipe data/factory reset, navigate to the rom.zip and install it.
    We can walk you thru this when you pick a rom, but if you want to start off with something familiar to what you are running, try CleanRom. (you'll find that in this link I post below) :

    http://androidforums.com/verizon-ga...ot-root-list-utilities-roms-kernels-more.html

    Tell ya what, when you are ready, download that CleanRom 7 to your computer. After downloading it, make sure the md5 matches. (see this about md5--- http://androidforums.com/faqs/443074-md5-verification.html )
    In that link, I suggest this to check the md5--- MD5 Checker Free Download - Checksum Verifiers

    If the md5 matches, put the rom.zip on your sd card..no need to unzip it.

    When you are ready, if you are unsure, we can walk you thru flashing it :)
     
    D-U-R-X likes this.
  8. tensazan

    tensazan Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    379
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011

    Apr 21, 2011
    379
    82
    53
    Indiana
    Another route you can go, if you don't want to flash a custom rom, is to rename the files that control the ota process. The notification was popping up on my phone every few minutes and whenever I turned the screen back on. So far the notifications haven't come back up after renaming the files. Also, you can delete the update.zip in your /cache folder if you want (I did and haven't had any issues)
     
    D-U-R-X and Mikestony like this.
  9. JaceBror

    JaceBror Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014

    Jan 12, 2014
    3
    2
    6
    What are the names of the files to be deleted? And where are they at? I did the root feature but having put on a rom. Seeing if I can avoid it.
     
  10. tensazan

    tensazan Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    379
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011

    Apr 21, 2011
    379
    82
    53
    Indiana
    Here's the thread I found that has the names: http://forums.androidcentral.com/ve...oting-roms-hacks/246010-stop-ota-updates.html . Just a heads up, you may want to do a backup of the file that has all your wireless network configurations saved in it (found in /data/misc/wifi the file name is wpa_supplicant). I rebooted my phone earlier, and had to add some of the networks back, and I'm not sure if it was freezing one of the files or my messing around with stuff, but better safe than sorry.

    If your wireless networks get wiped, and you have the file backed up, you can easily just restore it by replacing the word file with the backed up file.
     
    D-U-R-X likes this.
  11. JaceBror

    JaceBror Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014

    Jan 12, 2014
    3
    2
    6
    Well I used Casual Root to Unlock/Root the phone. But I don't want to run a ROM, and I am one of the few that like the Samsung features on here. Right now I just want to stop this update from popping up every 30 secs, the OP wasn't kidding about that timeframe. And like the OP I want to keep my ability to use Fast Wifi Tether.

    I already did the 4.3 update on my phone and it blocked being able to tether. I am grandfathered into Unlimited Data. Since I did the update earlier I just brought my phone into Best Buy and got it swapped on the service plan. (the top of the screen had burn-in from the status bar) So now I am back to 4.1.2 but the second it got on the VZW network it started downloading the update. So I want to stop it from updating.

    So I used Casual Root, and using both Astro File Manager, and ES File Explorer I have tried to rename the files or delete them using the instructions on this page

    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1856632

    Step 1. Delete the update located in /cache/fota/ (may be /data/fota) and then click the update notification prompt to install it, it will instantly fail and the notification will disappear.
    Step 2. Disable Otacerts.zip located in /etc/security by renaming it to otacerts.zip.bak
    Step 3. Disable FotaClient.apk and FWUpgrade.apk by renaming with .bak extensions located in /system/app/
    Step 4. Reboot


    But neither program would give the ability to deleted, they would say the Task Failed.

    Not sure what to do next.

    I know when they forced the update on my wife's phone it started updating and when we saw the phone rebooting I pulled the battery and when it rebooted it said the update failed and she hasn't gotten any notifications since then. I am half tempted to just tell it to install and yank the battery, but not sure at what point would stop it properly. I don't remember what it was doing when I did that.
     
  12. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    29,595
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    29,595
    24,071
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    Hello JaceBror! Welcome!
    I don't use those file managers, but is there an option to mount the /system as r/w, from r/o. Then you may be able to change/rename those files.
    After changing/renaming, be sure to mount the /system back to r/o.
    You may have to reboot for the changes to the files to take effect.
     
  13. JaceBror

    JaceBror Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014

    Jan 12, 2014
    3
    2
    6
    Okay so I found some other instructions, they were for a Note 2. Must be close enough.

    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2112221&page=2

    I went to Titanium Backup found the sdm 1.0 file

    Backed it up then uninstalled it inside the Titanum Backup app

    I also did this with FWUpgrade 1.2.0 file.


    So far I haven't gotten an update notification yet. I haven't rebooted the phone yet since I am using it to tether my PC so I can post this. Not sure where the backup went, so I might need to rename them in there.

    Titanium also allows to freeze the app, but you have to buy the program I didn't do that. I'm a cheap bastard that's why I am trying to keep my tethering for free. (Personal Record 69 gigs in one month, just on my line)
     
    Mikestony and 2000f350 like this.
  14. 2000f350

    2000f350 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011

    Feb 19, 2011
    22
    1
    16
    Indiana
    I agree completely on the SDM method. I am running cleanROM and thought that would prevent the OTA. I found out I was wrong when I saw the notification that my phone had downloaded the update and was wanting to install it (and had almost completely drained my battery downloading it and wanting to install it). By freezing the SDM app, the notification magically disappeared and has never came back. This was about a week ago.... I also went into the settings page, about phone, and pressed the option about the software upgrade. When I did this, the settings page crashed, so I know for sure (At least I think I do) that the update BS is done.
     
    Mikestony likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...