1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

[Verizon] Stuck on boot animation after flashing my first Rom

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mistermojorizi, Jan 2, 2012.

  1. mistermojorizi

    mistermojorizi Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #149
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    500
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011

    Oct 26, 2011
    500
    178
    93
    I thought unlocking would be the hard part. Nope that was easy. Then I flashed gummynex from clockwork recovery, and now it's stuck on the boot animation.

    hopefully someone can help me
     

    Advertisement

  2. Mr. Orange 645

    Mr. Orange 645 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    298
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010

    Oct 6, 2010
    298
    120
    68
    SW Missouri
    Can you get back to recovery? If so, try wiping data, cache, system, then reflashing the ROM. Let it boot up completely, then go back to Recovery and flash the Gapps.

    See if that works.
     
    mistermojorizi likes this.
  3. jbdan

    jbdan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    7,121
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    7,121
    3,187
    513
    atl ga usa
    Mods can move this to root forum plz :)

    With Gummy, and most if not all of these 4.0.3 ROM's for the GN you need to flash the ROM then immediately flash gapps. Then reboot.

    Pull the battery mister, then boot into recovery (volume down and up then power button all at the same time).

    Use volume button to scroll to recovery.

    CWM right? clockworkmod recovery you have?

    Wipe data/factory reset, wipe cache partition, advanced>wipe dalvik cache.

    Then flash your ROM and immediately after flash gapps then reboot.
     
    mistermojorizi likes this.
  4. mistermojorizi

    mistermojorizi Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #149
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    500
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011

    Oct 26, 2011
    500
    178
    93
    sorry i though i did post in root forum.

    thanks for your help guys, i pulled battery, got back in CW recovery and wiped the phone, installed just the rom without the gapps and it booted fine. then went back to cw recovery flashed the leaked radios and the gapps.

    so now running gummynex :)

    a seperate question, none of my apps are being restored from my old account.
     
  5. Mr. Orange 645

    Mr. Orange 645 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    298
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010

    Oct 6, 2010
    298
    120
    68
    SW Missouri
    Market Restore may still be broke in GummyNex. If you made a back up of your old ROM (as you always should) you can restore that ROM, download Titanium Backup or Ultimate Backup Pro from the market, back up your apps, then flash back to GummyNex and restore your apps (apps ONLY, no DATA).

    jbdan: I've heard it both ways from different developers. Some people are having luck flashing both at the same time, others have stated they had to allow a full boot before flashing anything on top of the ROM. I suggested that only because I had assumed the OP had flashed it all at once, and I suspected that might possibly been part of his problem. Its all trial and error to an extent anyway right now.
     
    jbdan likes this.
  6. mistermojorizi

    mistermojorizi Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #149
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    500
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011

    Oct 26, 2011
    500
    178
    93
    my old rom was stock and it got completely wiped when i unlocked. so i have no backups, but that's ok.

    but this leads to another question i have....it seems like there are several different backup programs.

    titanium backup - this is for app data right?
    nandroid - how do I do this?
    others i should be using?

    wish there'd be one backup that just backs up everything and transfers from rom to rom
     
  7. jbdan

    jbdan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    7,121
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    7,121
    3,187
    513
    atl ga usa
    Awesome glad it works! All the roms I've flashed have instructions by the developer say to flash rom then flash gapps immediately after.

    Coming from the Inc it was opposite we were to always flash rom, then boot up, then go back and flash gapps .... crazy :p

    I don't do Google restores just Titanium sorry. I've read with older (well over a week) roms for the GN they were having Google restore issues. Also, maybe if you flash the rom then gapps immediately after, Google restore would work? idk because from what I've read Gummy has had market restore fixed in the last 2-3 builds.

    I haven't heard this from any developers (edit: pertaining to the rom and gapps....only mods & kernels), but am glad to know this, thanks for the info :). There are a couple of ROMs I have not flashed yet, but my luck with immediate flashes of rom then gapps has been flawless so far, knock on wood :p

    Amen on Romans 1:16 love it!! <(((><
     
  8. Mr. Orange 645

    Mr. Orange 645 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    298
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010

    Oct 6, 2010
    298
    120
    68
    SW Missouri
    Titanium Backup will back up apps and data, though it is not a good idea to restore data when switching ROMs. This sucks, because your settings/preferences are stored in the data.

    nandroid is the backup that is done within the recovery. It basically makes an image of your ROM, and can be used to restore your phone to that exact condition if need be. Its a good idea to make a nandroid backup everytime you want to flash something new, so you have a safety net in case something breaks.

    While you can never really just transfer from ROM to ROM, you can get close. Use Ti Backup to save/restore your apps. Let Google backup your contacts and (some) system settings. It never restores all of my settings for me. And lastly, as long as the individual apps have a backup/restore option within their settings, you can use that restore those settings.

    Flashing is fun, but does require a little bit of patience and willingness to start over from scratch at any time.
     
    mistermojorizi and jbdan like this.
  9. Mr. Orange 645

    Mr. Orange 645 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    298
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010

    Oct 6, 2010
    298
    120
    68
    SW Missouri
    I couldn't tell you where specifically I heard it (as I've been reading about every ROM from several different pages. It could have even been users suggesting, not developers.

    And 1:16 is one of my favorites. And I'm stealing your fish for my signature!
     
  10. jbdan

    jbdan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    7,121
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    7,121
    3,187
    513
    atl ga usa
    Feel free :) and enlarge the font sizes on it if you wish!

    EDIT: love the new sig Mr O!!
     
  11. Mr. Orange 645

    Mr. Orange 645 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    298
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010

    Oct 6, 2010
    298
    120
    68
    SW Missouri
    Done and Done. ;)
     
    jbdan likes this.
  12. joerogo

    joerogo Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012

    Jan 6, 2012
    5
    0
    5
    MI, US
    I'm having the same problem. I did the above steps and it still seems to be stuck in the animation. New to root/flashing ROMs so I'm not sure how long it should even take to boot up.
    I am using CWM, pulled the battery, tried wiping everything suggested and still stuck.
     
  13. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    Welcome to AF:D

    Did you reflash the rom after you wiped? If not try doing so if you did then restore your backup (I hope you made one) and try downloading the rom again, be sure to check the md5 sum of the download before flashing.

    If you didn't make a backup check the sticky on how to flash the stock images back onto the phone so you can get back up and running or push a new rom zip from your CPU to the phone while in recovery using ADB
     
    joerogo likes this.
  14. joerogo

    joerogo Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012

    Jan 6, 2012
    5
    0
    5
    MI, US
    I made a backup and tried to restore it. Still stuck in the boot animation.
    I can't get into adb, it opens and then closes. That's because USB debugging would have to be on and when I wiped the phone it went back to default [off] right? When the phone is connected the computer doesn't recognize it anymore, doesn't come up under 'my computer.' And if the computer doesn't recognize it, I can't get any of the stock images onto it because it's not talking to the computer. Completely lost now.
     
  15. joerogo

    joerogo Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012

    Jan 6, 2012
    5
    0
    5
    MI, US
    Thank you all for the support but I ended up using the stock recovery images and Odin3 to save my butt.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...