1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

[Verizon] Ti Backup Freeze apps

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by bjanow, Dec 23, 2011.

  1. bjanow

    bjanow Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,763
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    2,763
    477
    163
    Colorado
    Has anyone tried to freeze apps? It doesn't seem to be working for me.
     

    Advertisement

  2. rexdog1888

    rexdog1888 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    706
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010

    Dec 6, 2010
    706
    250
    113
    Texas

    Same issue here. I think the dev needs to update the app for ICS, there are issues with doing lots of things in it.
     
    bjanow likes this.
  3. ska.t73

    ska.t73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,659
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    1,659
    305
    163
    Phoenix, AZ
    I use an app called System Tuner Pro, if you read the app write up in the market it says that it can not freeze apps in ICS. It mentions that no app can do this at this time and it is an ICS issue. My quess is that it has something to do with ICS' native app freezing ability.
     
  4. Airmaxx23

    Airmaxx23 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,142
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    3,142
    1,039
    313
    Have you changed the App Processing mode to Interactive in the Titanium Backup settings? That worked for me.
     
  5. rexdog1888

    rexdog1888 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    706
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010

    Dec 6, 2010
    706
    250
    113
    Texas

    Ya that's how you can get restoring to work but freezing still doesn't work
     
  6. Airmaxx23

    Airmaxx23 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,142
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    3,142
    1,039
    313
    It froze some apps for me but not others.:(
     
  7. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    I haven't tried to freeze any apps yet. Remember to reboot after the freeze. If that doesn't work the just change the extension on the system app and reboot that should work.

    Example if you want to freeze systemUI.apk (which is a horrible choice) rename it to systemUI.old or systemUI.apk.bak or systemUI.apk.old or systemUI.bak then reboot and the app should be frozen.

    To restore you would just need to change it back to how it was before you renamed it. I know .old and .bak extensions should work for this I am not sure but I would assume others would as well.
     
  8. ska.t73

    ska.t73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,659
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    1,659
    305
    163
    Phoenix, AZ
    We don't really need apps (or changing extensions) to freeze apps anymore unless they are system apps. Even the apps that VZW put on the phone can be frozen natively in android (haven't tried it with any system apps so don't know if you could but I'm going to say no).

    Also, I'm sorry I didn't have enough caffine when I wrote my first reply, it is stopping apps at start up that can't be done in ICS yet.. Not freezing apps... /facepalm
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...