1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

General Verizon to release Major update for S3

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Ricky Babalu, May 29, 2013.

  1. Rdjr74

    Rdjr74 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    725
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    725
    82
    78
    Cincy
    Speak for yourself. I had great 4G since release of this phone. Now after this update my signal has gotten so much worse and along with worse signal comes worse battery and a heated up phone. This is completely unacceptable any way you look at it. I spent and hour on the phone with Verizon on two calls, they confirmed the towers in my area are working fine and that I should be getting a good LTE signal. They said it was device related. They gave me two options. Factory reset or a new device. I said I wasn't interested in either because I am confident it's due to the update. They then advised me I could call Samsung a express my concerns. That was another hour long phone call that got me no where and was advised to call Google since they are the ones that make the updates. I will be calling them today and see where I get with that. So basically, call Google after you complain to Verizon, don't waste your time with Samsung.
     

    Advertisement

  2. legalkill

    legalkill Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    440
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010

    Feb 7, 2010
    440
    82
    53
    GA
    I been doing twitter support with verizon with no luck. I know its headed for them to tell me to do a factory reset.

    Has anyone tried this with any luck to fix the radio signal issue? I don't want to if I don't have to.
     
  3. rushmore

    rushmore Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,267
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008

    Nov 13, 2008
    8,267
    1,355
    323
    Kentucky
    Do not waste your time. The issue appears to be the radio changes that a reset will not fix. Only a kernel update would. Between this and Verizon's arrogant non committal on a 32gb S4 and their poorly trained staff telling people apps can go on an sd card, they suck with vaccuum level efficiency.
     
  4. Puppa

    Puppa Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    320
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010

    Apr 25, 2010
    320
    93
    73
    Linux kernel development, Android & Chrome
    Raleigh, NC
    Disable the CallerID bloatware in apps and then restart the phone. Some have reported that this helps.
     
  5. legalkill

    legalkill Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    440
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010

    Feb 7, 2010
    440
    82
    53
    GA
    Yeah i did this before i knew i was having radio problems. I guess had no effect.
     
  6. MasterCylinder

    MasterCylinder Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    152
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013

    Apr 4, 2013
    152
    41
    63
    Albuquerque, NM
    Don't forget to pull the battery: it's surprising the number of problems this solves.
     
  7. Rdjr74

    Rdjr74 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    725
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    725
    82
    78
    Cincy
    this people! And what i've been saying! The phone needs another update pushed to it. Yes i'm yelling!
    (this was suppose to be in all caps btw)
     
  8. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #13
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,908
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,908
    13,142
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    The forum software automatically corrects if you post in all caps ;)
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  9. stephen65

    stephen65 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    154
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011

    Jun 25, 2011
    154
    14
    58
    Huntsville, Alabama
    I'm hoping someone will find a way to get rid of it also. I don't want to look at the thing all the time.

    I'm also noticing more battery use since this update plus it seems to take a lot longer to charge. Saturday it took three and a half hours to charge from 55% remaining. That's at least another full hour longer than before.
     
  10. Rdjr74

    Rdjr74 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    725
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    725
    82
    78
    Cincy
    i know!!! (all caps) haha! ; )
     
    Rxpert83 likes this.
  11. Hask12

    Hask12 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2012

    Aug 26, 2012
    22
    1
    16
    I have had some bad update experiences, which is why now, I wait. Just for the record, and for whatever it's worth, about a year ago my Droid Incredible crashed after an update, and after several calls and visits to Verizon and the Verizon store, Verizon replaced it with a refurbished phone. When that received the update and crashed they replaced it with an Incredible 2. I have a bad hearing problem and told them that I couldn't hear at all on the incredible 2. They sent me another Incredible. (you really have to be patient with Verizon. When I complained about getting another Incredible they suggested that I pick out a different 3g phone. When I reminded them about my hearing problem and explained that I need to test the phone first they said go to the store and pick out a 3g phone. Went to the store and nobody had any more 3G phones in stock, everyone had switched over to 4G. Now Verizon has a policy where they have 3 chances to try to correct a problem. We were now past that. (and for those wondering how I carried on these phone conversations with verizon, my wife handled it). The rep on the phone then said what phone do you want. So here I am with the galaxy S3. And there were plenty of people on forums complaining about the bad update to the Droid Incredible. But to get to where I am now took months and a lot of aggravation and frustration.
     
  12. cybertec69

    cybertec69 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    171
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010

    Aug 1, 2010
    171
    24
    38
    Male
    NY USA
    They need to give the Cynogenmod team a call, maybe put them on their payroll, since Verizons software developers stink. Will flash the latest Verizon build and try to run it will the last VRBMB1 radios, the new radios are VRBMB3 "that might be causing the problems", see if this does the trick, will get back with the results. Thew new radios have had a few issues with the latest CM build, and had to be tweaked by the CM developers.
     
  13. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #13
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,908
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,908
    13,142
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Cyanogen was on Samsung's payroll...until recently

    Although he wasn't directly involved in that
     
  14. legalkill

    legalkill Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    440
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010

    Feb 7, 2010
    440
    82
    53
    GA
    In regards to the poor data/LTE, try going to settings-more settings-mobile networks-access points and select verizon. It was my only option but not selected (dotted)

    My lte has been stable for 2 hours since. I have been losing data altogether.

    Dunno if it did anything but worth a try to see if it helps.

    UPDATE: nevermind mine just totally cut out data after 3 hours of consistently being on lte. vzwsupport on twitter finally ended up suggesting the factory reset which means they have no clue what is going on either.
     
    dennygreen likes this.
  15. cybertec69

    cybertec69 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    171
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010

    Aug 1, 2010
    171
    24
    38
    Male
    NY USA
    This crazy thing just happened, went back and installed the Verizon stock OTA ROM "had made a backup with TWRP", have gone back and forth with my CM RC4 ROM quite a few times with no issues, well just a few minutes ago the stock ROM loaded fine, but once in the OS, Google Play store keeps crashing, every time I go to open it, it just crashes, and I get this google.apps error message, LOL, Verizon at it finest.
     
  16. quickaudi

    quickaudi Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    3,106
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    3,106
    416
    273
    TN

    so, several people on the AOSP forums have been reporting bad LTE data on the new radios as well...
    Flashing back to the MB1 radios seems to solve the issue.
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  17. MasterCylinder

    MasterCylinder Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    152
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013

    Apr 4, 2013
    152
    41
    63
    Albuquerque, NM
    This seems like the obvious answer for those of us who are rooted and have the capacity to do such a thing. Others will be out of luck. Or, don't take the update.

    However, I wonder if/how many people who have received the update in Verizon's entire SGS3 installed base are not having any problems?:dontknow:
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  18. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,248
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Yeah.has anyone here NOT had a sudden drop in radio performance since the update??
     
  19. legalkill

    legalkill Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    440
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010

    Feb 7, 2010
    440
    82
    53
    GA
    It seems to affect me when signal is 2 bars or below. Not sure what actual signal strength triggers whatever its doing. But before it would just hold lte at low signal and if it dropped come back. Now i either never get it to come back from 3g or 1x or no data at all.
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  20. chicoatc

    chicoatc Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010

    Oct 28, 2010
    28
    1
    16
    Air Traffic Control
    Idaho
    I uploaded a video of how slow the new radio is compared to the old radio. Sorry for the amateur nature of the video (kids in the background/crumbs on the counter). I got so frustrated by my data that I made the video on a whim.

    Poor data speed - YouTube

    Full disclosure: the 4G data in my house isn't usually the best as evidenced by the GS3 on the right, but far better than the new radio one on the left.
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  21. MasterCylinder

    MasterCylinder Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    152
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013

    Apr 4, 2013
    152
    41
    63
    Albuquerque, NM
    Well, that seems completely nonfunctional. Have you used Speed Test before on that phone? If so, there will be previous results under the "Results" tab at the bottom. What do they say?
     
  22. Southernangel3

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011

    Oct 6, 2011
    9
    7
    26
    I don't seem to have a problem with the 4G but I have noticed my battery last 1/2 as long as it did before the update. I have only had my phone since April 25 and updated it either Thursday or Friday. (After reading posts about the issues, I disabled the Caller Name ID app. and changed the mobile network mode from Global to CDMA/LTE.)

    My husband just got his S3 on Thursday and hasn't had any issues with the update.

    Below is the screen shot of the test I did with 4G and with my Wifi.

    [​IMG]
     
  23. jmz768

    jmz768 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    267
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    267
    22
    38
    Since disabling this app, I have not dropped data one time and my battery life is back to normal. Others have reported that disabling this app also fixed some volume issues they were having.

    If you go to the app and into its settings, if appears to give you the option to delete the app, that's not true, all it does is remove the app icon. Go into your application manager and disable the app.

    Give it a try and see what happens.
     
  24. Rdjr74

    Rdjr74 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    725
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    725
    82
    78
    Cincy
    I think everyone is very aware of this based on all the repeated posts in the other Verizon update thread. This btw doesn't work to help with lte signal. It only removes the icon in the status bar when on wifi.
     
  25. jmz768

    jmz768 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    267
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    267
    22
    38
    It's worked for me and for others.
     

Share This Page

Loading...