1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Verizon update. Where is it?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Ayrow, Apr 9, 2011.

  1. Ayrow

    Ayrow Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009

    Nov 2, 2009
    70
    8
    36
    I have a rooted Galaxy Tab and I disabled the 3G.
    I am told that the update is still supposed to work fine over WiFi.

    So, where is it?

    Please tell me that there are others who have not gotten it yet.
    Hitting the "System Update" yields nothing.
    :mad:
     

    Advertisement

  2. waremaster

    waremaster Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    122
    15
    38

    Why be in a rush for the update. You will likely lose root once you do the update anyway.
     
  3. gadzooks

    gadzooks Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    179
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010

    Jan 16, 2010
    179
    20
    58
    bits & bytes
    left coast USA
    I'm rooted, have 3G disabled and received the update (while WiFi connected). I'm choosing to keep root and not install update, for now.
     
  4. Mostly Harmless

    Mostly Harmless Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,523
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010

    Apr 15, 2010
    1,523
    264
    163
    Engineer
    New York
    I am rooted and only use wifi, I just got the update this morning (4/12/11) so relax its coming. Also I unrooted before installing the update and re-rooted after the update (using z4root) with no issues. I am now updated and rooted once again.
     
  5. waremaster

    waremaster Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    122
    15
    38

    Can you tell us what is new in this update? Do you see it as a worthwile update?
     
  6. waremaster

    waremaster Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    122
    15
    38

    I would also be cautious about this.. Others have already posted Z4root no longer works after the update.
     
  7. Mostly Harmless

    Mostly Harmless Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,523
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010

    Apr 15, 2010
    1,523
    264
    163
    Engineer
    New York

    Really? Well mine does work, I installed the update, re-rooted with z4root and everything works fine. Using Ti-Backup as we speak, no issues.
     
  8. waremaster

    waremaster Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    122
    15
    38
    XDA has many people talking about the fact that Z4root no longer works after the update.
    Even in this forum under all things root people are talking about it.
     
  9. abredt

    abredt Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011

    Feb 12, 2011
    12
    0
    15
    Not rooted, using wifi only. Do I have to "do" something to get updated or does it happen automatically? How can I tell if it got updated?

    Thanks, cb
     
  10. bovineyard

    bovineyard Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    22
    2
    16
    Nice to know the update is being pushed to Verizon tabs that are being used wifi only (no 3g). I went ahead and did the manual update a few days ago. I couldn't re-root with z4root, so I rooted with superoneclick with no problems.
     
  11. Mostly Harmless

    Mostly Harmless Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,523
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010

    Apr 15, 2010
    1,523
    264
    163
    Engineer
    New York

    You will get a notification that there is an update waiting for you, you can click to install now, later, or cancel.
     
  12. landale

    landale Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    93
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010

    Jun 26, 2010
    93
    11
    18
    Z4 didn't work for me for re-rooting so I used SuperOneClick which worked fine.
     
  13. abredt

    abredt Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011

    Feb 12, 2011
    12
    0
    15
    I clicked to get the updates. Is there a way I can tell that it was successful? A version # or something?
    cb
     

Share This Page

Loading...