1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Verizon Update

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jstcynske, Dec 25, 2013.

  1. jstcynske

    jstcynske Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    96
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    96
    20
    18
    The update changed the camera. Now it looks like the interface you see in all the reviews and the pictures are 10 times better! Taking pics of my daughter moving was a waste of time, now it works!
     

    Advertisement

    jwbwd2 likes this.
  2. creator69

    creator69 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    143
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2013

    Oct 10, 2013
    143
    12
    38
    Male
    Anyone else experiencing slow WiFi after update? I'm not on my unlimited data anymore and the Wi-Fi is almost unusable since the update
     
  3. stef7

    stef7 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,066
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010

    Dec 29, 2010
    1,066
    136
    153
    Male
    Systems Engineer
    I believe I've noticed the improvement inn the camera user interface, but no change to WiFi.

    Try forgetting the connection to your router and reboot . Otherwise, try an FDR..
     
  4. creator69

    creator69 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    143
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2013

    Oct 10, 2013
    143
    12
    38
    Male
    tried forgetting the connection and even resetting my router to factory defaults. So not sure what is going on may need to FDR phone. weird thing my wife's phone is doing the same thing and she has a note 3
     
  5. stef7

    stef7 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,066
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010

    Dec 29, 2010
    1,066
    136
    153
    Male
    Systems Engineer
    Oh wait. Wife having similar WiFi slowdown?

    Reboot your router. If you have a cable modem between the router and the cable, reboot that too!
     
  6. creator69

    creator69 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    143
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2013

    Oct 10, 2013
    143
    12
    38
    Male
    It's a cable modem/gateway/wireless router. I don't like them but it is what communicast gives me. So like I said I already reset to factory settings. if an fdr doesn't work it will be a call to the Nazis to bring me a new gateway again
     
  7. stef7

    stef7 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,066
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010

    Dec 29, 2010
    1,066
    136
    153
    Male
    Systems Engineer
    You could have cable issues in your area.
     
  8. breadnatty08

    breadnatty08 pain rustique
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    19,889
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    19,889
    6,121
    1,413
    District of Columbia
    Is the wifi slow on other devices like your pc or tablet? It's more than likely your connection has slowed or showing issues. I'd certainly contact your provider.
     
  9. creator69

    creator69 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    143
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2013

    Oct 10, 2013
    143
    12
    38
    Male
    Everything else is fine it is just the phones. I get really bad ping times when running speed test on phone it started after update which could just be it happened at the same time. But my roommates g2 is doing the same thing. You tube went load and if I did it won't play on second screen. Most apps work just run slow. Also emails won't come through at home on Wi-Fi but will else where. So I'm beginning to think it's a gateway issue. But everything else seems ok just the phones are having problems
     
  10. 220com2

    220com2 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011

    Jan 23, 2011
    22
    16
    18
    this update made a big difference in the camera. my wife's g2 (unrooted) camera side by side with my g2 (rooted) is night and day different. just need to find a flashable zip or the apk from the update.
     
  11. TritonDroid

    TritonDroid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    194
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012

    Dec 18, 2012
    194
    27
    43

    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2533018
     
    220com2 likes this.
  12. 220com2

    220com2 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011

    Jan 23, 2011
    22
    16
    18

    thanks a million
     
  13. TritonDroid

    TritonDroid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    194
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012

    Dec 18, 2012
    194
    27
    43
    The thread will direct you to another if you want the updated radios.

    I used twrp 2.6.3.3 and it sat on formatting for a solid 5-6 min before flashing the update/ROM

    I had to then reapply Hot Spot and other mods.
     
  14. stef7

    stef7 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,066
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010

    Dec 29, 2010
    1,066
    136
    153
    Male
    Systems Engineer
    Creator69. Did you reboot the cable interface hardware as was suggested? Thanks. Please update us when you've tried that.
     
  15. creator69

    creator69 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    143
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2013

    Oct 10, 2013
    143
    12
    38
    Male
    Yes I reset came modern to factory defaults. I even tried to give phones reserved IP addresses. Everything else PCs ps3s etc work fine. It is only the phones connected to gateway. Can't imagine it is not something going in with that since it is 2 g2s and a note 3 all on Vzw.
     
  16. creator69

    creator69 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    143
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2013

    Oct 10, 2013
    143
    12
    38
    Male
    Ok so thanks everyone for your help on my issue. I think What is going on I had to change the channel on my gateway. Seems better now, however the youtube Issue I think is the last update. seems others are having problems with it as well.
     
  17. jwbwd2

    jwbwd2 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    98
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013

    Dec 5, 2013
    98
    7
    16
    Male
    Chemist

    Thank you very much for this thread!!! I had NO idea that there was even an update available till this. I actually had to go into the About Phone in the settings and manual update...THNX!
     
  18. hollywoods14

    hollywoods14 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    889
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012

    Jan 20, 2012
    889
    121
    113
    Salvage Yard
    Florida
    anybody notice a higher rate of battery drain since the ota?
     
  19. copestag

    copestag Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,355
    Joined:
    May 23, 2010

    May 23, 2010
    1,355
    247
    143
    mine seemed to be draining faster when I flashed the 12b radio....... when I switched to the 12a radio it seems to be normal.... and I seem to get faster speeds with the 12a radio in my area
     
  20. creator69

    creator69 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    143
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2013

    Oct 10, 2013
    143
    12
    38
    Male
    Seems my issue was with my gateway from the Communistcast cable company. They replaced it. It seems better now.
     

LG G2

The LG G2 has a 5.2-inch display with 1080p resolution. It also has a Qualcomm Snapdragon 800 processor, 2GB of RAM, a 13 megapixel camera, NFC, and more.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...