• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root [Verizon] Verizon bootloader unlock

ok....I think you need to install some sort of custom recovery after rooting so that you are able to flash roms.
Now, with the bootloader being locked, I think there is a recovery called "Safestrap"

That would put you in the same boat as this member who seems to be having issues installing safestrap recovery.
But alas, I am of little help because I have no experience with installing safestrap.:(

Reactions: ShellFM18
Upvote 0
I have seen this! But just not to sure about it.. And I have seen where they say philz recovery worked on Verizon 4.4.2 but I haven't had any luck with it.. Someone told me in XDA that if I got the phony to Root and disabled the Knox then my bootloader is unlocked.. But im not to sure about that! Bc I should be able to flash a custom recovery if it was unlocked I would think

Upvote 0
Verizon bootloader is locked up tight! If you rooted your phone your warranty is no more good anyways lol.. Safestap is the only way to come close to a custom recovey. Look at the other post on this page and you will see the link for that.. Install it then just flash the Roms just MAKE SURE YOU DO A NANDROID BACKUP..

Reactions: ShellFM18
Upvote 0
Verizon bootloader is locked up tight! If you rooted your phone your warranty is no more good anyways lol.. Safestap is the only way to come close to a custom recovey. Look at the other post on this page and you will see the link for that.. Install it then just flash the Roms just MAKE SURE YOU DO A NANDROID BACKUP..
But you can unroot and keep your warranty I was under the impression that you could unlock your boot loader but set knox at 0x1, but it seems I dont even have knox boot loader but I think everyone does.

Upvote 0