1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

[Verizon] Verizon IMM76K download (4.0.4)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by VoidedSaint, May 1, 2012.

  1. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia

    Advertisement

    jbdan, TexDaddy57 and trophynuts like this.
  2. iwoloschin

    iwoloschin Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    235
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011

    Nov 27, 2011
    235
    85
    53
    Male
    Electrical Engineer
    Somerville, MA
    Has anyone tried this yet? Any word on the changes between "Old" 4.0.4 and "New" 4.0.4? Even more interesting, any ideas on what might be different with the newer radios?
     
  3. funkbucket007

    funkbucket007 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    86
    19
    18
    Male
    Firefighter
    Clarksville, Tennessee
    Is there a "tutorial" of sorts anywhere yet on how to flash this if already on a custom ROM/kernel/leaked 4.0.4 radios or would I even want to do that?
     
  4. ckelly33

    ckelly33 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    808
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010

    Jun 14, 2010
    808
    146
    93
    CRNA
    Tennessee
    Any prep work required to bounce from AOKP 4.0.4/B34/Milestone 5 + 4.0.4 leaked radios and this stock version?

    anybody done it yet?

    I'm pretty happy where I'm at but I did have a few dropped calls lately.
     
  5. trophynuts

    trophynuts Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,630
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    5,630
    1,792
    313
    I work in a Tech related field. Have been in a tec
    SouthEastern US
    jury is still out on this one.

    also this update isn't just radios. there are bluetooth, nfc and other updates in it as well. They could be the same from the previous leaked .4 but i'm not sure. I never used the previous leaked .4
     
  6. trophynuts

    trophynuts Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,630
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    5,630
    1,792
    313
    I work in a Tech related field. Have been in a tec
    SouthEastern US
    from what i'm seeing you can't go from a custom rom like that straight to this new stuff. I could be wrong but i think you have to be on the old .2 radios first. It's hard to keep up right now because there are about 3 threads here at AF about it and one on Rootzwiki and one on XDA so things are a little hectic at the moment.
     
    Crashumbc likes this.
  7. trophynuts

    trophynuts Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,630
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    5,630
    1,792
    313
    I work in a Tech related field. Have been in a tec
    SouthEastern US
    the link in the OP describes a little on what you have to do and where you have to be.
     
  8. trophynuts

    trophynuts Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,630
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    5,630
    1,792
    313
    I work in a Tech related field. Have been in a tec
    SouthEastern US
  9. TexDaddy57

    TexDaddy57 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    180
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010

    Dec 26, 2010
    180
    19
    38
    Male
    Water Treatment Plant Operator, Owner/Culinary Art
    Somewhere north of Azle Texas
  10. trophynuts

    trophynuts Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,630
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    5,630
    1,792
    313
    I work in a Tech related field. Have been in a tec
    SouthEastern US
    depends on if someone wants to actually run stock .4 or not.

    i do actually.

    then i'll flash to an updated Rom once they drop.


    also a lot of custom roms (most i think) don't include firmware updates.
     
    TexDaddy57 likes this.
  11. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    you lose root with this version, and so far, su.zip does not restore root
     
  12. Trooper

    Trooper Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,715
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    3,715
    542
    213
    Google has pulled the file from their servers fyi.
     
  13. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    yeah i know, i wonder why though
     
  14. Shachren

    Shachren Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    210
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    Apr 19, 2010
    210
    15
    58
    NJ
    A bit troubling. Still got the new Radios out of it though :)
     
  15. Outatime

    Outatime Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    253
    Posts:
    1,629
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010

    Mar 6, 2010
    1,629
    662
    253
    Male
    Fed
    See I hate it when they do this revision stuff. 4.0.4 should be 4.0.4. If it's not 4.0.4, then it's 4.0.?.

    Anyway, I'm on LiquidSmooth 1.35. No need to update until Team Liquid looks at it :D
     
    Bramsy likes this.
  16. below_radar_00

    below_radar_00 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    125
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010

    Apr 2, 2010
    125
    8
    36
    Charleston, SC
    I'm not having any luck flashing 4.0.4. I am rooted and my bootloader is unlocked but I only had the temp version of CWM. I decided to flash the new CWM touch so I could be up to date and have a perm recovery. Everything seemed to go fine but when I tried to flash the update I got the status 7 error. I read it comes from either having the wrong CWM variant (gsm vs cdma) or having the wrong ROM variant (gsm vs cdma). I verified that my CWM is the toro version and the ROM is the brand new rom leaked today so I know it's the right one. So I rebooted and then booted back into recovery to try again and now once I select recovery I get the android with the red caution sign and it just holds there. Any idea why both my CWM and ROM aren't working?
     
  17. bjtcars

    bjtcars Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    130
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010

    Mar 22, 2010
    130
    29
    43
    Mass.
    Just flashed the new radios in CWM. I am running AOKP M5 and I had no problems. I am close to a cell tower here at work and I went from 85dBm to 88dBm after flashing so its hard to tell now but I should see a difference later when I get home. (I hope)
     
  18. DannyJSlone

    DannyJSlone Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    256
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012

    Feb 19, 2012
    256
    42
    43
    I am running liquid 1.35 and just flashed the new radios. No difference here at home but I will see when I head out.
     
  19. trophynuts

    trophynuts Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,630
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    5,630
    1,792
    313
    I work in a Tech related field. Have been in a tec
    SouthEastern US
    i'm holding off. I haven't flashed the new leak at all. I need more feedback. I did get it downloaded before it was pulled. Which really wouldn't have mattered since it's everywhere now.
     
  20. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    you will lose root for one, and su.zip doesnt get it back
     
  21. Bramsy

    Bramsy Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,516
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010

    Jan 1, 2010
    1,516
    149
    163
    Awsome-o
    Birmingham, MI
    Finally somebody sees the light with me...

    We waited this long, let the team of amazing Devs who made the amazing ROM you're on get a crack at this.
     
  22. DannyJSlone

    DannyJSlone Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    256
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012

    Feb 19, 2012
    256
    42
    43
    I downloaded the new radios listed on the stickie post for all things rooted. I am running liquid 1.35 and didn't lose root. All is working well so far. There are 2 4.0.4 radios there but the second one is listed as the new official ones.
     
  23. jbdan

    jbdan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    7,121
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    7,121
    3,187
    513
    atl ga usa
    Yup just make sure if you want the newest version radios to check the title and make sure they include the FC04 CDMA and FC05 LTE radios
     
  24. trophynuts

    trophynuts Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,630
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    5,630
    1,792
    313
    I work in a Tech related field. Have been in a tec
    SouthEastern US
    i'm good bud. I still never rooted my replacement device I got last week. Been cruising stock for a week now....its about to make me puke. i'll hold out another day or so. I kind of wanted to take the update OTA anyways.
     
  25. zx10droid

    zx10droid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    893
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011

    Oct 15, 2011
    893
    834
    163
    Nashville, TN
    Flashed it this morning, indeed lost root but I'm sure someone will cure that soon, and all I use it for is occasionally tethering anyway. I was on stock 4.0.2 and this seems like a huge improvement to me
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...