1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

[Verizon] Video: How to Unlock the Bootloader on the Galaxy Nexus [Verizon]

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by trophynuts, Dec 15, 2011.

  1. trophynuts

    trophynuts Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,630
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    5,630
    1,792
    313
    I work in a Tech related field. Have been in a tec
    SouthEastern US

    Advertisement

    brister, ryancmatchett, halon and 6 others like this.
  2. trophynuts

    trophynuts Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,630
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    5,630
    1,792
    313
    I work in a Tech related field. Have been in a tec
    SouthEastern US
  3. vespadaddy

    vespadaddy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    128
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    128
    94
    53
    Trophy Husband
    Minneapolis
    The link to the Sammy drivers doesn't list any drivers though, just 2 links for the manual.

    Edit: I guess I should have clicked the 'software' tab. D'oh!
     
  4. ssick92

    ssick92 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    289
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Jan 19, 2010
    289
    41
    43
    To get my degree
    Cal Poly San Luis Obispo
    So, I was having issues getting the drivers to work, but I used a fix in another thread by using the naked Samsung ADB driver.

    After I got it to work, I followed your video to the letter. When you booted up your phone and it bootlooped, so did mine. I waited a few minutes then unplugged, and had to pull the battery. When I tried to turn it back on, I am now in another bootloop that doesn't go past the Google screen with the Unlock at the bottom.

    Oh god, first brick?
     
  5. CBJAGK

    CBJAGK Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011

    Dec 15, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    I am bootlooping as well
     
  6. ssick92

    ssick92 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    289
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Jan 19, 2010
    289
    41
    43
    To get my degree
    Cal Poly San Luis Obispo
    I was able to install Koush's GSM CWM. I am going to try to wipe data/cache/dalvik and see if I still loop. If so, I feel like I need to flash the Verizon Stock Image, but I'm not sure how...

    EDIT: Yup, still looping
     
  7. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    I'm having trouble navigating to platform tools in command prompt. Yes, I'm a wicked noob with adb and such :eek: Can anyone help a brotha out?

    LOL - didn't realize holding shift allows you to open a cmd anywhere. Yay for learning something new :)
     
  8. Buckeye Boy

    Buckeye Boy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    377
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010

    Jul 30, 2010
    377
    34
    43
    Cleveland,Ohio
    I need help here. Just got the phone and want to unlock and root but having hard time with some of these unlocking bootloader instructions.... I DON'T WANT TO BRICK MY NEW PHONE GUYS....HELP PLEASE...VIDEOS. . ?:eek:
    HONE
     
  9. ssick92

    ssick92 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    289
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Jan 19, 2010
    289
    41
    43
    To get my degree
    Cal Poly San Luis Obispo
  10. esmith818

    esmith818 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    691
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    691
    316
    113
    Web to Print Content Developer
    NC
  11. ssick92

    ssick92 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    289
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Jan 19, 2010
    289
    41
    43
    To get my degree
    Cal Poly San Luis Obispo
    Trophy, I might put a little hint somewhere to NOT pull the battery during the loop after unlock but to just unplug it from the computer. Seems as though it is getting a lot of people into a bootloop for something so simple as waiting a few more minutes.
     
  12. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    If you're looping after unlocking - DO NOT PULL BATTERY!!!

    Let it do its thing. It took me over 5 minutes to finally boot.

    It's going to take some time, after all, it is fully wiping the device.

    Make sure you don't panic, we have system images, there's nothing you can't come back from. It's wonderful having a safety net ;)
     
    iowabowtech, bhill and ssick92 like this.
  13. s1ck s0n

    s1ck s0n Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011

    Sep 17, 2011
    64
    2
    16
    Worked fine for me without them. I followed the steps and watched the video and this worked perfect for me. I did pull my battery after bootlooping, but it was only after the phone had resarted once then looped again.
     
  14. vespadaddy

    vespadaddy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    128
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    128
    94
    53
    Trophy Husband
    Minneapolis
    Ugh. Wish I had seen this earlier. How do I use the system image to fix my soft bricked, boot looping GNEx?
     
  15. halon

    halon hakuna matata
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,402
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010

    Apr 13, 2010
    4,402
    1,396
    413
    Boilermaker, Norfolk Southern
    Altoona, Pennsylvania
    Ugh. Earlier this morning when I opened a command window at the C prompt I had android-sdk-windows....

    After typing in the two commands to unlock all I got was waiting for device.

    I messed around some more and now when I open a command windo it doesn't say android-sdk-windows....

    This should be so easy and it just isn't going right :mad:
     
  16. Needz_Android

    Needz_Android Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    613
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010

    Apr 1, 2010
    613
    98
    78
    do i have to unlock the bootloader before rooting?
     
  17. trophynuts

    trophynuts Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,630
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    5,630
    1,792
    313
    I work in a Tech related field. Have been in a tec
    SouthEastern US
    yes
     
  18. halon

    halon hakuna matata
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,402
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010

    Apr 13, 2010
    4,402
    1,396
    413
    Boilermaker, Norfolk Southern
    Altoona, Pennsylvania
    I deleted everything to unlock. I think. Going to start over.
     
  19. tsargent347

    tsargent347 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    114
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011

    Aug 24, 2011
    114
    25
    43
    Upstate South Carolina
    Ok ive seen the video on droid life at how to unlock the bootloader but its talking about sdk and adb need to be setup first. ive never messed with adb or sdk so can anyone help me out with this? id like to get this thing unlocked. also, is there a way to relock it incase if it need to be taken back to verizon?

    Dont know how to use the cmd command on my computer either but would like to know how
     
  20. nj02vette

    nj02vette Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,346
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010

    Jul 9, 2010
    2,346
    2,034
    313
    Male
    Marlton, NJ
  21. friguy3

    friguy3 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010

    Jul 17, 2010
    25
    4
    16
    I "installed" the SDK (my fastbook was in the platform-tools, not tools, but all the 3 important programs are there), i can get into the bootloader but when i type fastboot oem unlock, the command prompt says waiting for phone and nothing happens. I have noticed that when he says in the video the after opening bootloader the samsung driver updates or something and mine doesnt. any ideas? guess Ill start all over...*sigh
     
  22. AntimonyER

    AntimonyER AF Addict
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    13,645
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010

    Jun 18, 2010
    13,645
    8,004
    1,343
    Statesboro, GA
    For some reason I get a device driver failure and when I investigate, it shows the MTP device is unplugged. Can anyone help about why this is occuring? Thanks.

    edit: this happens after I do adb reboot bootloader command. phone reboots to bootloader, but I get a device driver installation failure on my PC, and it will just go to waiting for device in the command prompt after I do fastboot oem unlock command.
     
  23. ajdroidx

    ajdroidx Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    2,816
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011

    Oct 8, 2011
    2,816
    993
    233
    Male
    Colorado
    I HATE windows
    Really really do.

    I went to samsung, downloaded the drivers (already had them) installed. Rebooted my PC. Plug in the nexus and windows runs live update for the drivers. :thinking::mad:

    It installs the drivers, so I load up ADB, run the command "adb devices" which should return a string of numbers and instead nothing is returned.

    What the!?
    EDIT: Note to self, enable USB debugging. Shesh. :rolleyes:

    EDIT 2:

    Got it working... sort of. Now it just says waiting for device after issuing the fastboot oem unlock command

    Windows told me my driver malfunctioned
     
  24. ajdroidx

    ajdroidx Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    2,816
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011

    Oct 8, 2011
    2,816
    993
    233
    Male
    Colorado
    Windows 7: "Making the easy stuff, hard"

    Still get waiting for device in adb. first time it bricked
     
  25. Kwake

    Kwake Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010

    Apr 28, 2010
    16
    2
    36
    I had gotten stuck there myself a few times. What worked for me was after i typed 'adb reboot bootloader' and the phone rebooted into the bootloader i opened up my device manager saw the yellow indicator on Android 1.0. I then right-clicked to update driver and browsed the computer and chose the latest Samsung ADB Interface version.

    EDIT: then i typed the 'fastboot oem unlock' command after the driver updated.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...