• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Verizon vs Sprint? Plans/Phones Help please?

HoneyGirl

Lurker
May 28, 2011
This thread is a repost, was suggested I post in this forum instead.

I'm a college student who is currently on my family's family plan with verizon. We have four lines on our family plan with 1400 shared minutes, unlimited texting, free nights and weekends. My mother and father use the LG touch (not sure if they are paying for data currently) and my brother and i have the alias 2. My mother thinks its a bit pricey and can't decide if she wants to stay with verizon or pick up and go elsewhere. From what I can tell from searching around Sprint seems to be the next best thing to verizon, especially price wise. I am however weary of sprint's smartphone/android phone quality. I have heard the HTC evo 4g is on par with the HTC thunderbolt and of course the evo 3d is coming out within the week, but im having trouble finding out what the cost difference would be between the two companies.

Also, I was considering breaking off from the family plan if she takes too long deciding and picking up my own plan. I saw that verizon is offering the HTC thunderbolt amongst others for free on monday so long as you pick up a 2 year long contract with it. I think this is very tempting..however, with studentrates.com they have a promo going where if you buy the HTC evo you get..

Mail-in Rebate - $(100.00)
$50.00 Account Credit - $(50.00)
StudentRate Rebate - $(25.00)
HTC Rebate through StudentRate* - $(20.00)
Free Car Charger - $(35.00)

Also the activation fee and shipping fee are waived.