1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

[Verizon] WiFi Connectivity Issues

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by viper689, Jan 8, 2013.

  1. viper689

    viper689 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    852
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012

    Jan 25, 2012
    852
    220
    113
    Male
    Student
    Irvine, CA
    Hey all,

    So I'm currently running Xenon 1.5 (4.2.1) paired with Lean Kernel 5.6, but this is an issues I've had on all 4.2.1 ROMs that I've tried. It seems as though my phone doesn't want to stay connected to WiFi even though it has a strong connection. This is the order of things:

    WiFi on and connected
    Turn off screen for 2ish minutes or more
    Turn screen back on and WiFi is off for a few seconds, turns back on, and reconnects.

    I've verified that WiFi High Performance is On in TricksterMOD, Keep WiFi on during sleep is set to Always, and I've tried the Keep WiFi on during sleep method to switch options, reboot, switch back, reboot again, and that doesn't seem to stick for me. It's very frustrating because it's killing my battery connecting and disconnecting every few minutes when being on WiFi should help battery. I never had this issues before 4.2 so it's not a ROM problem. Any ideas on what it could be?
     

    Advertisement

  2. UBRocked

    UBRocked VZW Nexus Please!!!
    Rank:
     #65
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,335
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    4,335
    1,564
    433
    Ohio
    Have you installed any battery saving app that might be turning off WiFi?

    I don't know what could be causing it but I would boot into recovery, clear cache, clear dalvik cache, fix permissions, and reboot. You might want to turn off the high performance WiFi setting on Trickster. Some of those settings are flaky. Ever try to watch a YouTube video with volume boost set to anything other than "0"? The video will pause constantly as a result and its unusable.
     
  3. viper689

    viper689 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    852
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012

    Jan 25, 2012
    852
    220
    113
    Male
    Student
    Irvine, CA
    Nope no battery saving app here. What exactly should I fix permissions in? I've wiped both caches each time I flash a new kernel (6 kernels total in 4.2) so it's not a kernel issue either. Thanks for the response though. This is really bugging me.
     
  4. UBRocked

    UBRocked VZW Nexus Please!!!
    Rank:
     #65
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,335
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    4,335
    1,564
    433
    Ohio
    In your recovery, go to advanced > fix permissions. May not help but certainly won't hurt :p
     
  5. viper689

    viper689 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    852
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012

    Jan 25, 2012
    852
    220
    113
    Male
    Student
    Irvine, CA
    Lol this may have worked. Haven't had any drops yet
     
  6. UBRocked

    UBRocked VZW Nexus Please!!!
    Rank:
     #65
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,335
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    4,335
    1,564
    433
    Ohio

    That's the procedure I go through if I have any strange problem. The next thing I would try is a new kernel. Did you do a clean install or dirty install (did you clear data when flashing the ROM)? If you flashed it dirty...next I would do a clean install to make sure it isn't a problem with the install.
     
  7. viper689

    viper689 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    852
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012

    Jan 25, 2012
    852
    220
    113
    Male
    Student
    Irvine, CA
    Noo I've never dirty flashed in my life and have never had this problem before 4.2.1. I've tried various kernels and each one has had this problem. Hopefully this is a permanent solution
     
  8. UBRocked

    UBRocked VZW Nexus Please!!!
    Rank:
     #65
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,335
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    4,335
    1,564
    433
    Ohio
    I always do a backup of all my apps in Titanium Backup before I flash any ROM but if I am installing an update to a ROM that doesn't include a newer Android version then I will dirty flash. I always clear cache and dalvik cache before flashing though.

    99% of the time I don't have any issues and if I do, I just wipe data and reflash the ROM. But I can understand not wanting to dirty flash...I didn't do it for the longest time because back in the OG Droid days, you could just expect to have issues.

    Hopefully your problem is fixed. Did you disable the high performance WiFi setting in Trickster or not?
     
  9. viper689

    viper689 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    852
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012

    Jan 25, 2012
    852
    220
    113
    Male
    Student
    Irvine, CA
    Unfortunately it seems like whenever I leave the wifi network and come back, the issue reappears. This is so weird. And yes, I did try turning off High Performance, but the issue persists with and without it
     
  10. UBRocked

    UBRocked VZW Nexus Please!!!
    Rank:
     #65
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,335
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    4,335
    1,564
    433
    Ohio
    I wish I had better things to recommend for you to try but I'm grasping at straws.

    I know you said you have it set to keep Wi-Fi on during sleep but maybe you should go to Settings > Wi-Fi > Advanced, and uncheck the "Avoid poor connections" and "Wi-Fi optimization" options.
     
  11. viper689

    viper689 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    852
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012

    Jan 25, 2012
    852
    220
    113
    Male
    Student
    Irvine, CA
    Yea same issue with and without those options checked or unchecked. Arggg :-(
     
  12. UBRocked

    UBRocked VZW Nexus Please!!!
    Rank:
     #65
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,335
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    4,335
    1,564
    433
    Ohio
    Since it is not a kernel issue...must be a ROM installation issue. I would make sure to wipe system as well as data, cache, and dalvik cache and reflash the ROM. Don't know what else to have you do. Try a new 4.2 ROM if that doesn't work.
     
  13. viper689

    viper689 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    852
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012

    Jan 25, 2012
    852
    220
    113
    Male
    Student
    Irvine, CA
    Lol I've done it all. Clean flashed 3 different roms, multiple kernels, and same issue
     
  14. UBRocked

    UBRocked VZW Nexus Please!!!
    Rank:
     #65
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,335
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    4,335
    1,564
    433
    Ohio
    Does it do this with one router or is it any WiFi hotspot?
     
  15. viper689

    viper689 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    852
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012

    Jan 25, 2012
    852
    220
    113
    Male
    Student
    Irvine, CA
    Waittttttt a second... I may have overlooked a serious factor. When looking at my home's WiFi network while connected, I noticed that it was NOT set to automatically connect. I enabled it and rebooted, and haven't had it restart yet. Will keep you posted but hopefully this was it...
     
  16. viper689

    viper689 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    852
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012

    Jan 25, 2012
    852
    220
    113
    Male
    Student
    Irvine, CA
    Wrong... The issue lives on...
     
  17. tdevaughn

    tdevaughn Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,007
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    1,007
    395
    163
    Statesville NC
    Have you reset your router or checked to see it maybe it is going bad? Just replaced mine as I had issues with my laptop
     
  18. viper689

    viper689 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    852
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012

    Jan 25, 2012
    852
    220
    113
    Male
    Student
    Irvine, CA
    Yea its happened on multiple wifi networks. Home, work, girlfriend's house, parents house, etc... I just clean flashed Xenon2.0 so we'll see if it helped anything
     
  19. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    So much for my idea of updating your router's firmware... :D
     
  20. viper689

    viper689 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    852
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012

    Jan 25, 2012
    852
    220
    113
    Male
    Student
    Irvine, CA
    So I clean flashed Xenon2.0 this morning and let the market reinstall my apps and so far haven't had any issues. But the true test will be when I leave the network and come back. That's when the issues seem to pop up
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...