1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

[Verizon] wugfresh, unlocked, rooted but during bugless beast flash, samsung mtp driver fails, need help plz

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by rizzer, Jul 21, 2012.

  1. rizzer

    rizzer Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010

    Jul 21, 2010
    34
    3
    16
    wugfresh, unlocked, rooted no issues but during bugless beast flash, samsung mobile mtp driver fails, need help please.

    Wont flash, your thoughts?
    thx!
     

    Advertisement

  2. NSutherl

    NSutherl Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    364
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011

    Sep 6, 2011
    364
    150
    68
    HVAC Design Engineer
    Los Angeles
    When/where does the flash process fail? Is it after you select the file while in recovery mode? Is it during the installation process when you can see the code running through the installation? Does it give you an error message, or just stops midway through the installation? Did you wipe data, cache, and dalvik?

    Sorry for the barrage of questions, but the more details the better :D
     
  3. rizzer

    rizzer Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010

    Jul 21, 2010
    34
    3
    16
    Thanks for the reply, I'll step by step it for you...

    1)Already unlocked and rooted via wugfresh
    2)Launch advanced utilities, select boot/flash (tried both temp and perm)
    3)Choose bugless beast boot image (pete_tora_ota_2012_07_09
    4)it starts to do it's thing and a driver in win 7 attempts to be found, samsung mobile mtp device, fails to find it automatically, I fail to find it manually, even though I already successfully completed the driver installation for wugfresh ealier
    5)at that time it only shows google with the unlock symbol. I reboot and i'm back, actually nothing was bricked because it really hasn't started.

    What I have done since, I tried to locate mtp drivers, came up with Samsung kies, didn't work. No other solutions at this point..

    Your thoughts?
    thx
     
  4. NSutherl

    NSutherl Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    364
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011

    Sep 6, 2011
    364
    150
    68
    HVAC Design Engineer
    Los Angeles
    Honestly, I'm not sure what went wrong. Which recovery are you using? Clockworkmod, twrp, etc. How come you didn't flash using your recovery?
     
  5. rizzer

    rizzer Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010

    Jul 21, 2010
    34
    3
    16
    I'm a noob, first time attempting this. I thought this was how to do it within wugfresh... I wanted to use the bugless beast. I have a working unlocked, rooted vz nexus... I have already downloaded the bugless beast, what is next then if my steps above (numbers 2&3) are not correct?

    thx,
    riz
     
  6. Paul1201

    Paul1201 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    143
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009

    Copy the file you downloaded to your phone. Download ROM Manager from the Play Store and then flash ClockworkMod Recovery (the first option at the top after you open the app). After the recovery is installed select Install ROM from SD Card. Navigate to where you saved the file on your phone and select it. Select all three of the options that pop up and click okay.

    I recommend you review scaryAlien's thread first though.

    http://androidforums.com/verizon-ga...how-all-things-root-samsung-galaxy-nexus.html
     
    NSutherl likes this.
  7. trophynuts

    trophynuts Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,630
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    5,630
    1,792
    313
    I work in a Tech related field. Have been in a tec
    SouthEastern US
    i recommend that you don't flash the rom from Rom Manager. I would only use Rom Manager to flach CWM. Then i would boot into recovery and install the bugless.zip from within CWM.

    make sure you verify the MD5 of your bugless download also don't forget Gapps if that Rom doesn't have it included.
     
    jbdan and NSutherl like this.
  8. NSutherl

    NSutherl Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    364
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011

    Sep 6, 2011
    364
    150
    68
    HVAC Design Engineer
    Los Angeles
    I agree with this. Here's step by step:

    1. Open Rom Manager, click Click flash ClockworkMOD Recovery. Let it do its thing.
    2. After that, while still in Rom Manager, click Reboot Reboot into Recovery.
    3. This will take you into the CWM bootloader. Select "install zip from SD Card", then "choose zip", then scroll down and find the Bugless Beast zip file. Click, and then confirm the install.
    4. Do the same thing for Google Apps (gapps) if that ROM requires it (I think gapps are included in the zip already though).
    5. Click "go back" until you get to the main menu, then click "reboot".
    6. Profit!
     
    trophynuts and jbdan like this.
  9. rizzer

    rizzer Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010

    Jul 21, 2010
    34
    3
    16
    alright thx guys, I'll try this in the morning... is the bugless beast my best choice for jelly bean stock? I really just want some jb, nothing more at this point... and does it have gapps?
     
  10. NSutherl

    NSutherl Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    364
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011

    Sep 6, 2011
    364
    150
    68
    HVAC Design Engineer
    Los Angeles
    I haven't used Bugless Beast, but it seems like a solid build. I was on Jelly Belly for a week or two, then switched to XenonHD and like it better. It looks like Bugless comes with gapps, but you can check the rootz wiki thread to be sure.
     
  11. rizzer

    rizzer Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010

    Jul 21, 2010
    34
    3
    16
    I guess it is not meant to be. I flashed the bugless beast via rom manager and it completed successfully. When it booted it got stuck at the nexus logo never to boot. I did a recovery via wugfresh and am just about to give up and wait for Verizon to release Nexus jb after SIII (which will really piss me off lol)

    Unless you guys have some last minute tips? thx again
     
  12. Caveman419

    Caveman419 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    623
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    623
    85
    98
    Male
    Financial Systems Support Specialist
    Last cave on the left
    For whatever reason, I have to let mine sit for about 4-5 minutes when it is booting up. A majority of that time is spent on the Google Logo, but it does seem to take a couple of minutes on the nexus x. I am running the 7/19 build of BB.
     
  13. rizzer

    rizzer Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010

    Jul 21, 2010
    34
    3
    16
    Hmm, I wonder if I should of let it sit longer... the logo seemed to just sit there for many minutes.. could it be that I need to wait longer first time like longer than 5 min?
     
  14. Caveman419

    Caveman419 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    623
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    623
    85
    98
    Male
    Financial Systems Support Specialist
    Last cave on the left
    I know that I look at the clock whenever I reboot and sweat bullets until it finishes. I jumped the gun and flashed back to stock and lost everything a couple weeks ago. I have made sure to back up every day.
     
  15. trophynuts

    trophynuts Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,630
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    5,630
    1,792
    313
    I work in a Tech related field. Have been in a tec
    SouthEastern US
    a lot of people have reported slow boot times on the JB roms especially the first boot. I would let it sit at least 10 minutes. Also did you do a factory wipe before flashing the bugless.zip?
     
  16. rizzer

    rizzer Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010

    Jul 21, 2010
    34
    3
    16
    No I don't think I did. So, do a wug fresh back to stock, make sure it it's unlocked and rooted and let her rip again? Then give it 10 plus minutes of just the nexus logo doing it's thing?

    thx,
    riz
     
  17. rizzer

    rizzer Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010

    Jul 21, 2010
    34
    3
    16
    success, here are the steps I took and it booted no issues! Thank you for all your help!!!

    (1) Unlock your device
    (2) Use the toolkit to ROOT and INSTALL a custom recovery (ClockworkMod is the popular one)
    (3) Set up the phone after that, download Bugless Beast, place it on your SDcard
    (4) Reboot into recovery
    (5) Wipe data, cache, dalvik cache, and format the system
    (6) Flash Bugless Beast
    (7) Reboot and setup your device
     
    mbrainerdii likes this.
  18. mbrainerdii

    mbrainerdii Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012

    Mar 26, 2012
    47
    8
    16
    I'm right at the spot where I want to go for it, but I haven't done the Root/ROM thing. Wugfresh has been easy to play with, I got the drivers all set I just wasn't sure about the next steps and booting into recovery etc. Bugless sounds like the winner for me. This thread might have given me that final bit of confidence. Thanks, all!
     
  19. RRP

    RRP Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012

    Aug 22, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    1. Antonio said this, and I replied below. Can someone post the required MTP driver?
    2. Antonio on August 17, 2012 at 3:32 pm said:
      Oooops: Media Transfer Protocol no longer available with WMP 11, and not downloadable from MS website (message: We are sorry, the page you requested cannot be found.).
      I can
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...