1. Are you ready for the Galaxy S20? Here is everything we know so far!

Very very new to android

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by RalfWoon, Sep 4, 2011.

1. RalfWoon

RalfWoon Lurker

Hi,

I'm pretty old school user and I'm very new to Android. Other than having an impression that Android is an OS for phones and Tablets, I know nuts.

So here are the questions,
    Which Phone should I get?

I am not looking for the best tablet. "Best" is a really subjective word. Lets get things started by telling you guys (the experts) what I would be using tablet for.

1.) Phone. I would like to use it as a phone. Not with skype but with a sim card. I would like the idea of just carrying 1 device.

2.) Media player. Watching movies and listening to songs are quite a bonus to me. I usually use earphones so speakers requirements aint that high on the list for me.

3.) 3G function. To be honest I have no clue what 3G is all about. I do know that I need it to use the app called "Whatsapp". I want to use this app to chat up with my gf. A way to surprise her that i'm not just an old man.

4.) Managing excel files. This is really a bonus to me if the recomended device can do this. Its 100% for work but the idea of travellng in train while working on a file sure saves me time.

A few things to note about me. I'm new to android. I'm not very tech savy. I can follow instructions only if they are simple in nature. I strongly believe that this forum are filled with many helpful experts. I however need your advice, patience and time.

I thank those who took time to reply to my thread. I do promise to write a review on the device which I will be getting after considering options.

1. Download the Forums for Android™ app!

Download

2. Xyro

Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42

Sorry, are you looking for a phone or a tablet? Or both? Tablets can't be used as regular phones (as far as I know), so I don't think that would suit you.