1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Viber Clarification

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by SmileyGuy84, May 8, 2012.

  1. SmileyGuy84

    SmileyGuy84 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 8, 2012

    May 8, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    Hello everybody,

    I am new to this forum and just started installing viber that was recommended by my friends. I am new to viber also.

    I tried to call one of my friends at New Zealand. I was using 3G line that time. I remembered that we chatted for 15 minutes. May I know is it free when using my 3G line? How about wireless?

    Accidentally, I uninstalled viber and reinstalled again. I was using the same activation code that was SMS to me by viber. Is it alright to do that? What is the purpose of the activation code since we already placed in our mobile number? Can we called using viber without activation code needed?

    At the moment I am still learning. Please do help me clarify my questions.

    Thanks and best regards.

    SmileyGuy84 :)
     

    Advertisement

  2. ViberMedia

    ViberMedia Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    284
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011

    Feb 23, 2011
    284
    52
    53
    Hi,

    This is a member of the Viber R&D Team!

    Viber itself - the app and the service - is totally free, meaning we (Viber) don't charge anything from you.

    Since Viber uses the internet to function, both sides of the conversation must be connected to either WiFi or 3G. If a user is connected to WiFi - that user is not paying anything for sure. If the user is connected to 3G, the user *may* be paying his cellular company for the data (Viber uses 0.25MB per minute of call), but that depends on the specific data plan that he has with his cellular company, and needs to be verified with them.

    You can use the same access code to your Viber account it's totally fine :)

    If you have any question about Viber - please feel free to ask.

    Thank you,
    Viber Team
     
    sbi likes this.
  3. sbi

    sbi Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011

    Aug 5, 2011
    37
    2
    16
    Boston
    Learned something new (0.25MB/min).
     
  4. ViberMedia

    ViberMedia Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    284
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011

    Feb 23, 2011
    284
    52
    53
    Glad to help ;)

    Feel free to let us know if you have any other question/suggestion for Viber.
     
  5. holly wood

    holly wood Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 25, 2012

    May 25, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    Hi I have a question regarding viber on my Samsung GS2

    I have just updated to the latest version.I'm sure previously that in my contacts list viber used to be highlighted?Those online with it.
    Sending to a relative also using the same GS2 he can't see me in his contacts either.Yet he can see others who are online with viber?
    Any suggestions or ideas as to what I need to do to get it to show.
     
  6. ViberMedia

    ViberMedia Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    284
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011

    Feb 23, 2011
    284
    52
    53
    There is actually no sign that shows you when your Viber contacts are online. Viber only shows you which of your phone contacts have Viber installed (we assume that's why you meant?)

    If some contacts fail to be marked as Viber users, then the source of this problem could greatly vary. Please read this quick-page in our HelpDesk, outlining some possible workarounds that will help reboot synchronization of the contact list: iPhone: Contact list is not showing your friends as Viber users? | Viber Support
     
  7. Maga

    Maga Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    May 10, 2013

    May 10, 2013
    2
    0
    5
    Hello...I have updated my viber and it shows nearly all my contact friends online, I want to know how does it come?? are they really online or it's something differet thing is??? Helpme to understand this please...
     
  8. ViberMedia

    ViberMedia Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    284
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011

    Feb 23, 2011
    284
    52
    53
    @Maga -

    This is a known issue for some of our users, and we're hoping to fix it in our upcoming update. We apologize for the temporary inconvenience, and we'd appreciate if you could get back to us after installing our next update and report whether or not the problem has been fixed :)

    Thank you!
     
  9. Maga

    Maga Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    May 10, 2013

    May 10, 2013
    2
    0
    5
    Thanks for your kind reply...I will let you know after doing my next update:) But I found out something that when someone is out and doesn't have any type of internet connection it shows offline..Last seen at ....And when your phone is connected to the WiFi even if you don't touch Viber it shows you online :)
     
  10. ViberMedia

    ViberMedia Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    284
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011

    Feb 23, 2011
    284
    52
    53
    @Maga -

    It's our pleasure to be here and help.
    When the next update is released, please install it (and make sure your contacts do as well), and then check this issue with the "always online".

    Please let us know if it's solved or not.
     
  11. Aishwaryamore

    Aishwaryamore Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 15, 2013

    May 15, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    I am using S3 and I accidentally changed the settings.How to restore the settings to make viber the default dialler? I racked my brain over it but I just cant figure it out. Your help would be appreciated. Thanks.
     
  12. ViberMedia

    ViberMedia Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    284
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011

    Feb 23, 2011
    284
    52
    53
    Hi,
    This is a feature of the phone itself, and so we (Viber) won't be able to help much with this :(

    Have you tried Google'ing a solution for this, or asking in other Android support forums?
     
  13. jfoote5

    jfoote5 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    May 19, 2013

    May 19, 2013
    2
    0
    5
    Hey ViberMedia,

    Is there a way to use viber without giving you full access to my address book? I understand that you think this will benefit my experience with your software, but I'm just not willing to turn over all those contacts.

    Thanks!
     
  14. ViberMedia

    ViberMedia Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    284
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011

    Feb 23, 2011
    284
    52
    53
    Hi @jfoote5 -

    Unfortunately there is no way for Viber to function without this access.
    It's important to understand that this is the core feature of Viber, allowing our users to avoid usernames/passwords and a long log in process. The whole point of Viber is to automatically identify who among your contacts has Viber installed, then instantly call/text them.

    I would like to clarify: we *do not* and will never sell users' information to third-parties, and we keep this information well locked in our servers, with extremely limited access to it. This information (in great detail) is explained in our very clear and transparent Privacy Policy - to which we are committed by law - that can be found in our official homepage.
     
  15. jfoote5

    jfoote5 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    May 19, 2013

    May 19, 2013
    2
    0
    5
    Thanks for the confirmation. If you do change that requirement, I'd be happy to try out your service! I understand that you think it's a core feature, but this potential customer would prefer the option to keep his address book private instead.

    Also, somewhat funny that you won't "sell" data to third parties, but as quoted from your privacy policy you will do the following:
    "In order to provide you with Viber products you have requested, Viber may sometimes, if necessary, share your Personal Information (excluding your address book and related information) and traffic data with trusted partner service providers and/or agents, for example: banking organizations or other providers of payment and analytical services, customer support, or hosting services."

    It's also a little comical that you say the data is "well locked" in your servers when your policy says you use Amazon Web Services, which has experienced some rather well-publicized hacks in the recent past.

    Anyway, sorry to be a jerk. Those last two complaints are really beside the point. I try to never turn my full address book over to anyone, and certainly not to a relatively new company that I know little about. Your service does look really interesting, and it was frustrating that I couldn't try it without sending you all that data.
     
  16. ViberMedia

    ViberMedia Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    284
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011

    Feb 23, 2011
    284
    52
    53
    @jfoote5 -

    These third parties with whom we share the information (again, for functional reasons only, for example - to send our activation code via SMS/call) are organizations like cellular providers. These organizations already have much more info than simply the phone numbers that we send them. Do they not? ;)

    We are sad to hear that you chose not to use Viber, but of course this is your decision and we respect it :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...