1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Video Calling (Fring over Skype) on 3G?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by skpd, Jun 4, 2010.

  1. skpd

    skpd Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    321
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010

    Apr 12, 2010
    321
    84
    53
    All I get is "call terminated" when I pick up and the connection is established. Tried initiating the video call from both ends (PC and EVO) with the same result. anyone?

    have not tried on 4G yet since it;s dead at home (have it at the office and couple of streets down from my house - maybe I'll take a walk tonight?)

    UPDATE:
    -when initiating the call from the PC it rings on the phone and I only get "call terminated" when I pick it up on the EVO
    - when initiating the call from the EVO it rings once and it hangs up (does not ring on the PC and I cannot answer it)

    doing a restart of the EVO right now


    UPDATE 2:

    alright, a power off and on of the EVO did it.

    PROBLEM SOLVED!
     

    Advertisement

  2. bgro

    bgro Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    24
    0
    15
    Did a 3g Skype call (over Fring) about an hour ago. No hiccups worked pretty good. Was having problems when I first set it up though (logging into fring and skype accounts weren't working)
     
  3. Agent Jones

    Agent Jones Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    354
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009

    Oct 9, 2009
    354
    73
    53
    being on 3g or 4g isnt your problem. something isnt being done right
     
  4. skpd

    skpd Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    321
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010

    Apr 12, 2010
    321
    84
    53
    alright, cool. at least I know it works on 3G

    I don't know what could be wrong. it's not rocket science...sign in and press the video call button on the person you want to call. am I missing something?
     
  5. LisaFitz

    LisaFitz Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    167
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    167
    13
    58
    Teacher
    NY
    its kinda confusing at first because if your running skype on the PC you have to make sure you have everyone added as a friend, there is a small request window at the bottom right corner when your first adding people that confirm your friendship... you or they wont show up until that is set on frings end which took me awhile to figure out (i got the person is busy message until i realized i never confirmed there friendship).... after that it works great!
     
  6. skpd

    skpd Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    321
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010

    Apr 12, 2010
    321
    84
    53
    alright, a power off and on of the EVO did it.

    PROBLEM SOLVED!
     
  7. Jonnei

    Jonnei Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    May 18, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    Where can I find the skype app? Seems like it a Verizon exclusive now.
     
  8. Kingkoa

    Kingkoa Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    140
    Joined:
    May 30, 2010

    May 30, 2010
    140
    8
    36
    Renton,wa
    how do i add skype contacts into fring on my evo?
     
  9. Rob_A

    Rob_A Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    825
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    825
    216
    113
    New York

    menu > addons > skype > sign in with skype info (just in case u haven't done that already)

    back > menu > add friends > type friends skype name in.
     
  10. jdmlvr07

    jdmlvr07 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    May 23, 2010

    May 23, 2010
    44
    1
    16
    I saw it in a video I saw being done. But I just can't figure out how. I'm using Skype on fringe. maybe it can't be done with this program. Anybody know? TIA
     
  11. Kingkoa

    Kingkoa Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    140
    Joined:
    May 30, 2010

    May 30, 2010
    140
    8
    36
    Renton,wa
    i think it was in a qik video
     
  12. dragonlord76

    dragonlord76 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    1
    0
    5

    Ok, I got connected to PC and my friend and I could see each other but I cannot hear anything from my phone but he could hear me on his PC, what's wrong? Also, is this only for phone to PC or PC to phone, but no Phone to Phone?
     
  13. jdmlvr07

    jdmlvr07 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    May 23, 2010

    May 23, 2010
    44
    1
    16
    is it only possible with qik video?
     
  14. skpd

    skpd Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    321
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010

    Apr 12, 2010
    321
    84
    53
    have no idea what is wrong in your scenario. sorry.

    about the phone-to-phone video calling I'm guessing it is not possible yet until other devices come out with a front facing camera (I guess video calling was not made for the back facing cameras), unless it's EVO-to-EVO
     
  15. jdmlvr07

    jdmlvr07 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    May 23, 2010

    May 23, 2010
    44
    1
    16
    Can you use the main camera with Skype/fringe?
     
  16. Kingkoa

    Kingkoa Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    140
    Joined:
    May 30, 2010

    May 30, 2010
    140
    8
    36
    Renton,wa
    i could be wrong but i thought it was a qik premium feature
     
  17. djkleric

    djkleric Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    210
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009

    Nov 1, 2009
    210
    19
    58
    Photojournalist
    So Cal
    i tried this and it says that it can not find tje contact

    nvm its there
     
  18. eric3316

    eric3316 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    461
    Joined:
    May 9, 2010

    May 9, 2010
    461
    96
    53
    NC
    fring.com
    You can do skype video calls with that app.....
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...