1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [VIDEO] HowTo UnRoot Incredible by downgrading

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by DiegoMejia, Jun 12, 2010.

  1. korpsman

    korpsman Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010

    Aug 7, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Will this work for HTC Aria with clockworkmod? I want to get it back to stock settings. I'm a complete noob =/. Thank you so much in advance! :)
     

    Advertisement

  2. Bearly

    Bearly Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,011
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010

    Apr 12, 2010
    1,011
    78
    128
    Nevermind, got it to work.

    Now...

    I'm really worried, but when I tried to boot into recovery after applying the PBM zip file, I hit power once on accident.

    Now, all I see is a phone icon with a red warning triangle and exclamation point.

    I really hope that's not a brick. These instructions sounded like I had to hit power right after selecting Recovery:


    Press volume down once, then press the power button to select Recovery
    Press power and volume up to bring up the recovery menu.

    From: http://www.jonamerica.com/technology/howto-htc-droid-incredible-leaked-froyo-2-2-update/

    :(

    Not sure what to do...
     
  3. dan409

    dan409 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    203
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010

    Apr 15, 2010
    203
    24
    38
    WNY
    I cannot get the first code to push to phone.

    I have clockwork installed: I have USB debugging on: I know adb is working, when I enter adb in a command prompt it brings up the help menu. I installed the modified drivers from the SDK package and installed per instructions.
    I put the flash and mdo files on my desktop. I entered cd desktop in the command window so I am at the desktop directory.
    I start phone in clockwork, go to recovery, partitions menu, mount data then plug in phone. Open the cmd window change dir to desktop enter the first code and nothing happens. The phone just stays at the same window.

    Any suggestions as to why it won't push this to the phone ?

    Thank you in advance
     
  4. jxa9019

    jxa9019 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010

    Aug 7, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    when i try to unroot my incredible, it says:

    main version is older!
    update fail!
    Do you want to reboot device?

    I downloaded PB31IMG.zip and put it in my sd card and tried to run it in hboot.

    Please help
     
  5. DiegoMejia

    DiegoMejia Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009

    Sep 2, 2009
    134
    224
    68
    try the second video
     
  6. senor.ehlert

    senor.ehlert Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    13
    1
    16
    Davis, CA
    Thank for the guide. This makes unrooting a very easy and painless event. I just want to clarify something. This process removes all custom kernels and restores the factory settings, but would leave the baseband version the same? I am planning on upgrading to the 2.+ baseband and want a way to downgrade for the official 2.2 OTA. If this process doesn't do it could you refer me to a good one. From what I have here read it seems I need to alter the HBoot?

    EDIT: Ok so now I see thats this is pretty much identical to adrynalyne's process here expect you don't use the RUU. Is this correct?
     
  7. rlwhite86

    rlwhite86 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    4
    1
    6
    I have downloaded PB31IMG.zip 4 times from different computers/websites. I can't seem to get a working one - they're all corrupted.

    Anyone have a working link?
     
  8. andreezy

    andreezy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    221
    Joined:
    May 8, 2010

    May 8, 2010
    221
    35
    63
    i work
    Canton, OH
    Those files are fine. a standard zip program will not correctly open the file, however the dinc will.

    Heck. I just checked the PB image I used just last night. my dinc downgraded, however 7-zip nor windows compressed folders will open the file.



     
  9. Skorpios1027

    Skorpios1027 Frell me dead
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,299
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010

    Jun 24, 2010
    1,299
    231
    143
    West Jordan, UT
    I have no problem opening the zip file I used on mine. I've used both WinRAR and 7-zip to look at the internals of the file.
     
  10. rlwhite86

    rlwhite86 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    4
    1
    6

    That's what I thought too. But I tried all 4 on the DINC itself, and none of them worked. I kept getting the

    "Check/No Image found" error (not sure exactly what it said) at the bootloader.

    I also tried it when formatted to FAT32 (with computer) and FAT16 (from inside the DINC).

    Any other ideas as to what I should try next?

    TIA
     
  11. andreezy

    andreezy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    221
    Joined:
    May 8, 2010

    May 8, 2010
    221
    35
    63
    i work
    Canton, OH
    RLWhite- Check your private messages...
     
  12. rlwhite86

    rlwhite86 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    4
    1
    6
    Still no luck. I get an error every time.

    "no image" etc in the boot manager
    (bad file) in clockwork

    No clue what the issue is. I'm just going to go ahead and install the ROM without the 2.0 radio. I don't use the camcorder anyways.

    Thanks for the help
     
  13. azbobs

    azbobs Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010

    Apr 24, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    Hello All,
    Everything works gr8 except I cannot go on the internet or make calls or sms.. The phone starts up fine running the Android 2.2 and the radio is flashed to 2.05.00.6.11 so when I try to unroot by loading the PB31IMG.zip you get the following in recovery mode.

    Main Version is older!
    Update Fail!


    So, I am just wondering since I can still get into my phone is mine bricked due to the fact I cannot logon to the internet and use the phone or send sms/msm messages? I called Verizon and they are telling me it was due to an outage since yesterday,,, but my wifes phone works fine... hmmm,,, not sounding good!

    Darn I have never had this happen and have never bricked my phone have always read on these forums for sometime before making the change. Since so many others were able to upgrade thier radio's to 2.05.00.6.11 and run 2.2 I was'nt to worry about this.


    I noticed under > setting > call > NBPCD "NBPCD Current Country" What should this setting be mine is sat at United States of America (310) is the 310 the area code?? My area code is (623) and I even tried adding a new one with United states of America and put the reference country and the only selections are (310) through (316) choices? Does anyone know what the correct setting should be for arizona, peoria should be? I just thought maybe the reason I could not reach the internet or phone could be these settings. I have looked through google and the forums and not finding this info.....

    Damm I like this phone and if Verizon would get off thier ars and push out the dam 2.2 upgrade we would not be having to deal with this issue, right now! So I may have to use my insurance but I am worried that when they see the 2.05.00.6.11 new radio loaded if I am unable to remove it or root will they still replace my phone?

    Again is the defintion I have place above seem like a bricked phone with no hope?

    I always have read from the forums a bricked phone is dead, period! Will not let you login at all. Mine works gr8 until you try to the outside world like I said above the internet, sms/mms or use the phone. It won't even let me call *611 or check my phone messages. It will let me run the *228 fine though! Not making sense to me if it's bricked how can I run the *228 then?

    Thanks and feeling the pain everyone is due to VERIZONS lack of updating there OS to 2.2!

    I was promised as everyone else it would be released back in July now we are in August and looks like alot of people are bricking their phones!

    Cheers,
    azbobs
     
  14. azbobs

    azbobs Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010

    Apr 24, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    I did use your second video and worked like a charm now back to
    stock radio#1.00.03.04.06
    firmware# 2.1-update1

    I ended up calling Verizon and they had me go and reset my phone number back in the the mid setting and a few others setting and my phone is now working again. They are unable to get me data connection working. So they are sending out a phone, bummer!

    I was hoping we would be able to figure out and fix the data. I guess until the other phone arrives I at least can use the phone, no internet or sms/msm

    Good luck everyone just want to update and say thx that I was able to return to the stock setting before sending this back.

    Cheers,
    azbobs
     
  15. Skorpios1027

    Skorpios1027 Frell me dead
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,299
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010

    Jun 24, 2010
    1,299
    231
    143
    West Jordan, UT
    Are you a former Alltel customer? There has been issues where Alltel customers have lost data.
     
  16. Fezzik77

    Fezzik77 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    87
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    87
    1
    16
    You could download and manually update the PRL to a Verizon PRL. If that is the problem. Perhaps that would get it working.
     
  17. AdmSuvvuk

    AdmSuvvuk Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    355
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010

    Feb 22, 2010
    355
    45
    43
    Editor-In-Chief for Creative Media Resources
    Daytona Beach, FL
    Will this also revert the radio back to the original 1.xxx baseband? And if not, can someone point me to a link for that radio. I've rooted and unrevoked forever, and not intending to revert back at this time but I would like the file should it become necessary. Happily rocking the Frankenrom right now.
     
  18. hexto

    hexto Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Does anyone have the zip file hosted anywhere else. I tried this yesterday but phandroid forums was down all day now rapidshare keeps killing my download. I really wanted to bring my phone to vzw this weekend for a replacement.
     
  19. Zontar

    Zontar Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010

    Aug 15, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    I am currently on rooted 2.1 and want to go back to stock 2.1 so I can install the 2.2 OTA, and also because a lot of this stuff (radio flashing just to upgrade) is way over my head.


    Do I have to reactivate the phone after restoring it?
    Will this allow me to then install the 2.2 OTA without incident?
     
  20. hexto

    hexto Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    I'd you haven't upgraded your radio you just have to put the PB31IMG file on your SD card's root and power up while holding volume down. That's it. Everything will work as it did the day you first turned your phone on. No need to dial *228 our anything else. Then you're free to upgrade to 2.2 OTA
     
  21. Alpine///M

    Alpine///M Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010

    Jul 26, 2010
    27
    2
    16
    So if I followed Diego's one click root tutorial video and have not updated my radio or not flashed a ROM yet, I will still have to downgrade to download the OTA from Verizon? Will I not receive it?
     
  22. hexto

    hexto Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Correct? Unroot your phone by using the PB31IMG file on the root of your sd card and rebooting into your bootloader (Vol down+Power). That will make your phone stock and ready to receive Verizon's OTA that will hopefully arrive this week (fingers crossed). Once that OTA comes out devs will be releasing ROMs based on it and you can reroot and update your ROM.

    Unless VZW throws us a curve ball and decides to include something in that OTA that changes the root process it should be no problem. If they do, I'm sure Unrevoked will get around it once again.
     
    Alpine///M likes this.
  23. Skorpios1027

    Skorpios1027 Frell me dead
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,299
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010

    Jun 24, 2010
    1,299
    231
    143
    West Jordan, UT
    The official Froyo OTA for the EVO did close the exploit used to root that phone. I haven't been following that phone's forums but I don't think there is currently a methond to root for those that accepted the Froyo OTA (though unrevoked forever now allows those that did not already apply the official OTA to recover root).
     
  24. hexto

    hexto Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    I don't follow the EVO too closely but do I know that the exploit on that phone was downright dangerous. It was a huge security hole exploited to achieve root but that could also be used maliciously. The Incredible didn't have those security issues so hopefully it won't be subjected to the same treatement from HTC as the EVO.

    I guess time will tell. We should be seeing Froyo OTAs rolling out soon
     
  25. Alpine///M

    Alpine///M Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010

    Jul 26, 2010
    27
    2
    16
    Have any of you continued to follow Diego's video's and experienced the latest one of the Froyo ROM??? Is it buggy??? Like I said, i've held back from continuing because of the rumored Froyo roll out to begin this week, but his video's are legit and I would imagine he wouldn't post a ROM that was crappy......anybody's thoughts? I'm fairly new to the ROM thing is why I ask.
     

Share This Page

Loading...