1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Video pause whilst recording

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by OwainGlyndwr, Mar 1, 2012.

  1. OwainGlyndwr

    OwainGlyndwr Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012

    Mar 1, 2012
    9
    1
    6
    Hi,
    Does anyone know how to pause video while recording? I can't believe there isn't a function for this as without it, it renders videoing many things impractical.
    Thanks :thinking:
     

    Advertisement

  2. Josh-SonyXperia

    Josh-SonyXperia Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    389
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011

    Feb 8, 2011
    389
    66
    53
    Social media coordinator at Sony Mobile
    On the default system that cannot be done. You could maybe try a video recording app from the Market that may have that option.
     
  3. OwainGlyndwr

    OwainGlyndwr Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012

    Mar 1, 2012
    9
    1
    6
    Thanks for that, I wonder if anyone on here can suggest a suitable app?:thinking:
     
  4. peterb23

    peterb23 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009

    Nov 26, 2009
    80
    12
    18
    UK
    Hi

    I'm not sure about the app but can I ask what you are recording that needs a pause function? I shoot a bit with my DSLR and I don't think that has a pause button either - or if it does then I've never used it ;)
     
  5. OwainGlyndwr

    OwainGlyndwr Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012

    Mar 1, 2012
    9
    1
    6
    Hi, when I video my sons playing cricket (batting and bowling) the time in between deliveries is not required. With the blackberry you can pause in between balls so the video is all action as opposed to drawn out.
     
  6. peterb23

    peterb23 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009

    Nov 26, 2009
    80
    12
    18
    UK
    I can see that a pause function would work well in that situation but I think you are out of luck. After a quick search it doesn't look like there is an obvious solution to this.

    I think you are going to have to look at editing your short clips together in post.
     
  7. Josh-SonyXperia

    Josh-SonyXperia Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    389
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011

    Feb 8, 2011
    389
    66
    53
    Social media coordinator at Sony Mobile
    Based on peterb23's suggestion I just tried an app on the Market called AndroMedia Video Editor. Pretty easy to use and it lets you Trim and Combine videos and audio to make it look as if you had taken the whole thing in just one shot.
     
    morz001 likes this.
  8. skymotor

    skymotor Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012

    Feb 25, 2012
    8
    0
    5
    Can you help which APPS come with camera pause?
     
  9. skymotor

    skymotor Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012

    Feb 25, 2012
    8
    0
    5
    Can you help me which APPS come with video pause and the video quality same like original.TQ
     
  10. Josh-SonyXperia

    Josh-SonyXperia Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    389
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011

    Feb 8, 2011
    389
    66
    53
    Social media coordinator at Sony Mobile
  11. skymotor

    skymotor Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012

    Feb 25, 2012
    8
    0
    5
  12. Josh-SonyXperia

    Josh-SonyXperia Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    389
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011

    Feb 8, 2011
    389
    66
    53
    Social media coordinator at Sony Mobile
    Sorry to say but I don't have the answer to that question.
     
  13. peterb23

    peterb23 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009

    Nov 26, 2009
    80
    12
    18
    UK
    From what I've read, it does not look like there will be a pause function in the standard build of ICS.
     

Share This Page

Loading...