1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Video Playback - especially YouTube

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Grinder16, Oct 18, 2009.

  1. Grinder16

    Grinder16 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009

    Oct 14, 2009
    55
    1
    16
    Anyone else find the play back have awful quality? especially for a higher end phone like this one. my playback has the lowest quality I have seen in a phone in a long time. Pre had much clearer resolution. Is there a player in the market that helps with higher resolution?
     

    Advertisement

  2. NYVetteGuy

    NYVetteGuy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    76
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009

    Oct 2, 2009
    76
    1
    16
    Commercial Real Estate
    Westchester Cty, NY
    I have the same issue and question....it seems like the video playback of the Hero is dismal...maybe a market (or non market) app?? Anyone with insight???
     
  3. Archon810

    Archon810 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    153
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009

    Oct 16, 2009
    153
    81
    53
    The Youtube app actually has a switch to make the video play in higher resolution. Just click Menu and you'll see. It's actually quite stunning - both video and audio are excellent in high res.

    This option is set to low quality if you're off wifi and high quality if you're on wifi, automatically.

    Note that only the Youtube app itself has this feature. Apps like TuneWiki play low quality and it's up to them to make it better.
     
  4. cij1916

    cij1916 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    197
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    197
    2
    56
    Travel Agent
    MS coast
    When I'm watching something on youtube, when I press menu, nothing happens.
     
  5. Archon810

    Archon810 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    153
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009

    Oct 16, 2009
    153
    81
    53
    That's due to the horrible and utter shit lag that the Hero exhibits half the time, when it's not sucking ass in some other way. Especially apparent when trying to play high quality Youtube.
     
  6. DiNoise

    DiNoise Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009

    Oct 10, 2009
    24
    1
    16
    I dont use youtube on Hero that often, but when I do I never have problems watching videos in High quality (menu > more > watch in higher quality) but I switch after pausing a video.
     
  7. cij1916

    cij1916 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    197
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    197
    2
    56
    Travel Agent
    MS coast
    So I need to pause it first...Cus the menu has NEVER came up for me while watching video lol.
     
  8. lldsandsll

    lldsandsll Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    174
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009

    Nov 1, 2009
    174
    1
    36
    or you can just press the menu button. at first i was extremely disappointed in the video playback, and then i hit the menu button, and wala, the phone rules again. you wanna see a garbage phone? get a pre.
     
  9. cij1916

    cij1916 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    197
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    197
    2
    56
    Travel Agent
    MS coast
    If you noticed my posts, I stated nothing happens when I press menu while viewing a video...
     
  10. dhinez

    dhinez Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    204
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009

    Oct 21, 2009
    204
    12
    38
    Sumter
    The high res option is only available for the actually YouTube native app. Like said before press menu while a video is playing then more and select high quality. If you are browsing the net and click on a video it uses the HTC Flash Player and this option is not available.
     
  11. cij1916

    cij1916 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    197
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    197
    2
    56
    Travel Agent
    MS coast
    So if someone posts a youtube link on facebook, and I click the link, that is the flash player and not youtube?
     
  12. dhinez

    dhinez Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    204
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009

    Oct 21, 2009
    204
    12
    38
    Sumter
    That's correct.
     
  13. ge0rgecz

    ge0rgecz Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008

    Nov 4, 2008
    6
    0
    5
    Well, important question is ... how can i set youtube app as default player instead of that htc flash player ? .. i remember g1 plays linked youtube vieeos in youtube android player. It looks like that crap flash player from htc dont even know hw acceleration ... much slower and quallity is worse
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...