1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Video test Thread

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Mr. Ed, Feb 23, 2011.

  1. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Extreme Android User
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,666
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,666
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    So I have been complaining of poor video quality since the update to froyo.
    In the first month or so the quality was actually pretty good...then it seriously went downhill. I would like to use this thread to track your experiences with it...and hope that someday soon we get an update that corrects the issue. Feel free to post comments and vids below.

    Recently I had the pleasure (phone is rooted) of running a port of the mytouch 4g software on my phone ... I found the difference in sound recorded sound quality to be amazing. Unfortunately not everything works right on that port and it isn't suitable as replacement software. All of the videos were taken with 720 settings. (remember to change the settings when viewing...youtube defaults to 720)


    release:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wknc18EgzLk
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4B6wHY0mfuE
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YQDXX2Rp5as



    now:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cvhEnKmxxwo


    mytouch ported software and codecs
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YG-sdT5sTyM
     

    Advertisement

    P_Dub likes this.
  2. P_Dub

    P_Dub Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010

    Dec 20, 2010
    62
    19
    18
    Can you link me to the mytouch port? I'm interested in looking at the rom/camera files.
     
  3. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Extreme Android User
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,666
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,666
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
  4. sitlet

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    5,862
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    5,862
    633
    213
    Hmmm, could you check the files in MediaInfo? Just one from before, one from froyo and one from the other rom. Just open the file in that, switch to Text View, then copy the results here. I'm particularly interested in the codec and bitrate with the new rom. I had tested some of my videos from before and after froyo, and generally they were the same bitrate. The bitrate does vary with lighting conditions and other factors, so not every video will be the same.
     
  5. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Extreme Android User
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,666
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,666
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    sweet! will try and do this by the end of the weekend
     
  6. Cactus73

    Cactus73 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010

    Sep 2, 2010
    60
    34
    23
    Coeur d'Alene, ID
  7. P_Dub

    P_Dub Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010

    Dec 20, 2010
    62
    19
    18
    I did it! AAC recording with lgCamera on a basic stock rooted EVO. No kernel, no rom, just clear sound and 720p!

    I just grabbed the libomx_aacenc_sharedlibrary.so from the Warm Z 2.2 2/23/11 Rls1 and tossed it in the system/lib folder, then made sure to add AAC entries into the build.prop and media_profiles.xml(which may not be needed if lgCamera is just looking for the library file) and sweet sweet sound coming from the video file.

    The regular HTC camera app still records with the low quality AMR codec. It actually crashed the first time I tried it because I tried to add 720p recording to H264. After restarting it, it seemed to reset it's options to default.

    Maybe if I replace it with the HTCCamera.apk from the same rom I got the aac encoder from it will record with aac. Just a guess, though. I'll stick with lgCamera for now and test it a bit more tomorrow.

    Thank You Mr. Ed for pointing me to the Z port!
     
  8. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Extreme Android User
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,666
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,666
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    sweet! keep me posted! this is exactly what I had planned but keep getting called in to work.

    good work!
     
  9. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Extreme Android User
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,666
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,666
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    the shakiness is my windshield mount..and the subwoofer lol
     
  10. dominicanyor

    dominicanyor Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    321
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    321
    3
    56
    Jacksonville fl
    could i root my evo with a macbook or it has to be windows?
     
  11. surfologist87

    surfologist87 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    853
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010

    Jul 27, 2010
    853
    110
    103
    behind you
    You sure can. I use Macbooks and it is actually easier.
    Just follow the instructions in the rooting for dummies thread and just do not install the hboot drivers. All you need to do is download unrevoked, open, and click go, no drivers needed with Mac.
     
  12. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Extreme Android User
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,666
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,666
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder

    looks like the media profile xml is identical.


    let me know what you changed in build prop:D
     
  13. P_Dub

    P_Dub Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010

    Dec 20, 2010
    62
    19
    18
    Changed-

    ro.media.enc.hprof.codec.aud=aac
    ro.media.enc.hprof.aud.bps=65536 <-not needed unless we can get HTC camera to capture with aac.
    ro.media.enc.hprof.aud.hz=22050 <-mono microphone, no reason to go 44100
    ro.media.enc.audio.codec.aac

    Added-

    ro.media.enc.aud.aac.bps=8192,65536
    ro.media.enc.aud.aac.hz=22050,22050
    ro.media.enc.aud.aac.ch=1,1

    I changed the media profiles to reflect those exact changes for the high profile and made sure to "enable" the aac codec at the end of the media profiles xml, too. I kept amrnb low quality for compatibility with videos sent through sms, because I am not sure how other phones would handle aac audio.

    Edit - Just want to add that lgCamera may be ignoring my settings from the build.prop. FFDshow on my pc shows the audio as SBR AAC, stereo, 44100 Hz(probably because it's recording in stereo, doubling the 22050), and a bitrate of about 50 kbps, which seems to be variable or average. Also, in the ffdshow audio decoder properties it shows the jitter constantly rising if jitter correction is turned off. I assume that will cause the video and audio to desync over a long period of time when viewed on a player that doesn't have jitter correction.
     
    Mr. Ed likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...