1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Tips View websites normally

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jimbojones69, Jul 24, 2011.

  1. jimbojones69

    jimbojones69 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011

    May 21, 2011
    12
    0
    15
    Whenever I go to certain individual sites they might have a mobile version of it which my ATRIX 4g automatically chooses to use. I prefer to view my webpages the regular way simply because it is the way most other users view - which makes it obviously the better choice. So does anyone know how to change the settings of the android browser so it doesn't bother with the insignificant counterpart? Thanks so much,

    Sincerely
    jimbojones:D
     

    Advertisement

  2. WolfmanRobby

    WolfmanRobby Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    623
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010

    Apr 7, 2010
    623
    134
    103
    Male
    Systems Admin.
    Atlanta, GA
    Most websites DETECT what web browser you are using and serve up the right page.

    However, if you do notice a page loading as something like m.google.com, type in the full address (Put in the WWW instead of the M). Sometimes that works. Sometimes you have to look for a link on the mobile version of the web page that says "Vew full site."

    On Blackberry, we could go into the browser and choose if we wanted it to identify itself as Blackberry, IE or Firefox to trick websites. I've yet to find such a setting in the default browser on Android.
     
  3. cys920622

    cys920622 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011

    Apr 16, 2011
    63
    4
    16
    Canada
    Works better in Dolphin browser - you can set the agent to Firefox, IE, etc.

    It will automatically give you the desktop version of everything.
     
  4. WolfmanRobby

    WolfmanRobby Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    623
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010

    Apr 7, 2010
    623
    134
    103
    Male
    Systems Admin.
    Atlanta, GA
    You know, I hardly use Dolphin browser since I got FireFox mobile. I've almost forgotten about it.
     
  5. bucks13

    bucks13 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011

    Jul 6, 2011
    26
    2
    36
    Does firefox mobile also allow flash like the native browser? Does it perform any compression like skyfire?
     
  6. WolfmanRobby

    WolfmanRobby Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    623
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010

    Apr 7, 2010
    623
    134
    103
    Male
    Systems Admin.
    Atlanta, GA
    Flash works fine in firefox.

    If it does compression, I haven't noticed it in image quality.

    Also, FireFox on the phone will Sync with FireFox on your Computer. Meaning, you can synch your sessions, favorites, history, and open tabs. It's a SWEET feature!
     
    bucks13 likes this.
  7. Evil.Bonsai

    Evil.Bonsai Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    379
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011

    Feb 2, 2011
    379
    40
    43
    tech stuff
    Austin, TX
    I tried the new version of Dolphin HD but immediately removed it. Used previous versions and it was fine but with the new version, when tapping on the search box, it would bring up the text window but no keyboard, so I had no way of actually typing anything, as though it expected me to have a slideout keyboard. Any on-screen text box would do this. Tried re-installing with same results.
     
  8. bucks13

    bucks13 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011

    Jul 6, 2011
    26
    2
    36
    Good to know, I'll have to check it out. Thanks.
     

Share This Page

Loading...