1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Virgin Mobile] 4.3 coming to GS3

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Ab5traktion, Jul 17, 2013.

  1. Ab5traktion

    Ab5traktion Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    382
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012

    Feb 10, 2012
    382
    148
    68
    Read an interesting article today. It said that Samsung is waiting until October/November to upgrade the GS3 to 4.2.2. But since 4.3 is coming out at about that time, GS3 will more than likely skip 4.2.2 and go straight to 4.3. Plus, when 5.0 comes out, GS3 will be upgraded to that also. It's nice to know that the GS3 still has a future even with the GS4 being out and GS5 coming out next year.
     

    Advertisement

  2. rbheromax

    rbheromax Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,927
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012

    Sep 22, 2012
    1,927
    443
    163
    Male
    High School Student
    Columbia, South Carolina
    I would've thought Sammy would EOL that phone. Seen it too many times before.
     
  3. djdrma

    djdrma Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    113
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011

    Nov 5, 2011
    113
    6
    36
    Yes!!!!!
     
  4. rbheromax

    rbheromax Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,927
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012

    Sep 22, 2012
    1,927
    443
    163
    Male
    High School Student
    Columbia, South Carolina
    But then again they the carrier has to roll out the update :( and we all know how that is
     
  5. Ab5traktion

    Ab5traktion Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    382
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012

    Feb 10, 2012
    382
    148
    68
    True friggen that. Virgin most likely won't do it officially. But I know the developers won't disappoint.
     
  6. rbheromax

    rbheromax Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,927
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012

    Sep 22, 2012
    1,927
    443
    163
    Male
    High School Student
    Columbia, South Carolina
    The partitions are the same for all S3s across the board and they all are msm8960 SoCs so when the first one comes the rest WILL soon follow!!! :)
     
  7. revins95

    revins95 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013

    Feb 2, 2013
    55
    1
    16
    Male
    But will it work since not all variants work with the same radios. Will data connectivity be affected? Like between hspa+ and CDMA

    edit: the ported 4.3 not the OTA update
     
  8. spacepanda

    spacepanda Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    96
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013

    Jun 11, 2013
    96
    14
    18
    California
    Chances are we will have something figured out by then

    Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk 4 Beta
     
  9. SuperAfnan

    SuperAfnan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,088
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012

    Aug 29, 2012
    1,088
    197
    143
    Male
    High School!
    A yellow house
    You guys can chill it's coming out. When it does, forget the carrier someone will leak it or figure it out. :D
     
    Rxpert83 likes this.
  10. BigBossman

    BigBossman Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    248
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012

    Jul 27, 2012
    248
    6
    36
    True and what's sad is that the Moto Triumph was EOL less than 3 months from when it came out which made a lot of people (including myself) regret getting it.

    Btw if we're rooted will we be able to receive the OTA update to 4.3? The last OTA update I ever heard VM gave was for the Intercept a long time ago and I thought that if you're rooted the OTA update doesn't work or you'd be unrooted.
     
  11. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #16
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,910
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,910
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    If your rooted, you don't take the ota. You flash the rooted update from recovery.

    Easy peezy
     
    BigBossman likes this.
  12. BigBossman

    BigBossman Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    248
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012

    Jul 27, 2012
    248
    6
    36
    Thank You! :D
     
    Rxpert83 likes this.
  13. OverByter

    OverByter Resident Slide Rule Guru
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,000
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010

    Dec 12, 2010
    4,000
    922
    213
    Male
    Disabled
    CT, USA
    Ota's will always fail on rooted devices because of custom recovery, even if you weren't rooted why take an update before the community has a chance to dissect it to see what it contains, both good and bad. The community usually has a flashable zip available within a day or two for root with all the nasty bits removed. :D
    OB
     
    lordmage and Rxpert83 like this.

Share This Page

Loading...