1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Virgin Mobile] 4g connectivity

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by revins95, Jul 19, 2013.

  1. revins95

    revins95 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013

    Feb 2, 2013
    55
    1
    16
    Male
    I wanted to ask if anyone who knows for a fact that they are in a VM/Sprint 4g area is having problems connecting to 4g. I live in Tampa,FL which is confirmed to have strong full 4g coverage by both Virgin mobile and Sprint networks.
    My S3 shows the 4g symbol in the status bar but I cannot connect to any network other than 3g and any internet apps or activities say that I'm not connected.
    All other services work such as SMS, MMS, calling and 3g. But 4g is broke:(
    Does anyone know the root of the problem or a possible fix? (I am completely stock And without root)
     

    Advertisement

  2. spacepanda

    spacepanda Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    96
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013

    Jun 11, 2013
    96
    14
    18
    California
    who confirmed it? do you have a friend on virgin? I get 4g in certain spots, but it's pretty spotty for virgin I believe. I guess you might have a defective radio. When you turn on LTE, you can't use data at all? I'm slightly confused by what you mean by it shows 4g in the bar but I can't connect to anything other than 3g.
     
  3. Rambo828

    Rambo828 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012

    Jun 13, 2012
    13
    3
    16
    Male
    yea sounds like a defective radio, or it may be something on their end - they may need to add you to a list. I had similar issues with my EVO V. I made several phone calls to VM customer support. After the third one I was able to get things working. (because I called from another line and kept them on the phone till they fixed it)

    When/if you call virgin, make sure you call from a phone other than your S3, and keep them on the line till they fix the issue. Go through all the steps they give you over the phone.
     
  4. Krobar

    Krobar Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012

    Aug 4, 2012
    27
    11
    18
    I'm in Michigan and have 4g. Speed test confirms it works. Never had problems from the day I got it. If it's never worked I'd call for a replacement.
     
  5. GTWolf

    GTWolf Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    94
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    94
    20
    28
    Male
    The interwebs in FL
    I'm in Jacksonville fl and 4g is working here no probs
     
  6. revins95

    revins95 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013

    Feb 2, 2013
    55
    1
    16
    Male
    I have recently gone to visit my mother (she lives in Tampa as well but on other side of the river) and when I went there I got a faint signal. But when I saw the 4g symbol the internet worked perfectly fine. Speeds were very fast. I haven't tested it on speed test but I believe I live in an area that is just horrible. That or it could be the radios fading in and out cuz this is the first time I've been able to see signs of true 4g since buying it. I'm still looking into it
     
  7. revins95

    revins95 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013

    Feb 2, 2013
    55
    1
    16
    Male
    Yea I called from the house because using the cell itself didn't help in the past because certain steps involve restarting the phone and thus ending the call
     
  8. revins95

    revins95 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013

    Feb 2, 2013
    55
    1
    16
    Male
    So I have just confirmed that I do in fact have 4g connectivity. But even in the best of areas it is depressingly slow even in comparison to some friends with the same phone on the same plan. It is looking more and more like the radios may be at fault for me since customer service was unable to aid me.

    I purchased the phone from amazon however so would anyone know whether I would still be able to get a replacement or if there is a radio fix
     
  9. spacepanda

    spacepanda Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    96
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013

    Jun 11, 2013
    96
    14
    18
    California
    I don't see any speed gains on 4g over 3g in my area, for the record. It's probably faster but not noticeably. Is it that bad? Do your friends all have virgin gs3s on virgin? Have you considered that maybe it's mostly wimax in tour area? And when you went farther away there was lte coverage?

    Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk 4 Beta
     
  10. revins95

    revins95 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013

    Feb 2, 2013
    55
    1
    16
    Male
    Just one has the s3 but his seems to be just fine throughout the city. He says that when he has the 4g symbol it works just fine. While at my home with WiFi off and LTE on I can't get it to work, to where as when I'm out and about it seems to work but painfully slow in comparison to my friend with the same phone on the same network. But 3g works similarly on both. I might just have gotten lucky and received a defect
     

Share This Page

Loading...