1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Virgin Mobile] All-In-One Custom ROM User Guide

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by struckn, Nov 6, 2013.

  1. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    No such thing as a dumb question! This method is only needed for AOSP, TouchWiz ROMs don't have assert lines. So, if you want to flash Wicked Sensations, MOAR, or the stock/Knox free from @jdsingle76, just download and flash. The TW ROMs are huge just FYI, and take longer to boot the first time.
     

    Advertisement

  2. nab2385

    nab2385 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2014

    Feb 3, 2014
    4
    1
    6
    much appreciated. thanks for the friendly response. :)
     
    struckn likes this.
  3. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    So the question posed by @nab2385 a couple of posts back is a good segue into what is currently happening in the world of ROM development for AOSP based ROM's. The new trend is to have unified builds, which are able to be flashed for all U.S. carriers, instead of a build for Sprint, a build for T Mobile, a build for AT&T, etc., etc. This is good news from the standpoint of ROM devs being able to focus on what goes into each ROM, as opposed to tweaking various aspects of the same ROM in order to make it work for each specific carrier. However, for the bastard children of Virgin Mobile and Boost Mobile, whose devices are known as d2vmu, there continues to be little or no love. These new ROM builds, known as d2lte for the Samsung Galaxy S3, still contain an assert which does a compatible device check, I assume to prevent an international S3 from flashing one for the U.S. carriers. This device check does not contain d2vmu as an allowed device, so it will still be necessary to remove or edit this line in order to flash. Perhaps it is time (or really past time) to make our voices heard as well-contact the dev of your favorite ROM and let them know of our specific situation. If enough of us pipe up, hopefully they will add that one little extra bit to the assert line in the current updater-script. As always, be polite and appreciative of their hard work, don't demand anything-while it is a slight pain in the butt to have to do what we do in order to make custom ROM's flash properly, it is a rather minor thing in the grand scheme, but it would be nice to be included in the recognized SGS3 family. And also as always, happy flashing!
     
    wyelkins likes this.
  4. nab2385

    nab2385 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2014

    Feb 3, 2014
    4
    1
    6
    well it worked out great, are sprint kernels also able to be flashed ? any i should avoid?
     
  5. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    I personally highly recommend dkp kernel, decimalman (the dev) is currently actively working on an improved TW 4.3 kernel, and his kernel builds for 4.4 AOSP are phenomenal.

    File Contents of http://download.xstefen.net/files/./decimalman/dkp

    Make sure to choose the correct folder depending on if you are running a ROM based on 4.3 TW or 4.4 AOSP.

    Side note: big thanks to @xstefen for providing a new file hosting site for decimalman and his awesome kernel builds!
     
  6. GreyCelt

    GreyCelt Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    211
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011

    Nov 11, 2011
    211
    46
    43
    Emergency Dept. Registered Nurse for the Vetrans A
    Portland, OR
    struckn,
    So, with the new d2lte builds, do we remove all lines before the following?

    mount("ext4", "EMMC", "/dev/block/platform

    Also, I was reading about these lte builds and from what I understand it has everything for all of the variants in the install files but looks at the build.prop to know which files to install depending on your particular variant. Won't that screw us up because our variant isn't one of the one's it looks for and, therefore, it won't know which files to install?

    I may be totally wrong on this but wanted to know before I start flashing the lte builds.
     
  7. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    Some users have flashed these using the latest Philz and didn't have to delete the assert device checks. I have been removing the asserts still just because I am already opening the zip to debloat and what not anyway. Have flashed the first two Carbon d2lte builds with zero problems, so have no fears there. CyanogenMod is starting d2lte builds tonight as well just FYI.
     
    GreyCelt likes this.
  8. GreyCelt

    GreyCelt Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    211
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011

    Nov 11, 2011
    211
    46
    43
    Emergency Dept. Registered Nurse for the Vetrans A
    Portland, OR
    Thanks! Yeah, I'm on CM11 and I've already downloaded the d2lte nightly for today (20140218) and it's ready to flash after I modified it. I just wanted some input on whether or not other changes needed to be made to the file. Thanks again.
     
  9. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    For fans of Vanir ROM out there, the devs behind this ROM are now also on the "unified" d2lte bandwagon as of this week, bringing the number or ROM's that I am aware of using d2lte to four-Carbon, CyanogenMod, LiquidSmooth, and Vanir. Looks like development is definitely heading in the right direction, hopefully the issues with LTE not sticking after reboots will be fixed soon for those lucky enough to live in an area with LTE!

    Edit: while they don't have any builds available in the folder yet, PAC ROM does have a folder labelled d2lte as of yesterday (2/19/2014).

    Edit #2: just checked Commotio ROM (from same devs as Vanir I am pretty sure, at least they are linked on XDA and use the same file host server) and they are also doing d2lte builds.
     
  10. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal
    Most all of the Sprint TouchWiz ROMs will flash on your phone with little to no extra work. You may need to flash a modem and do an MMS fix but that is easy. TouchWiz ROMs do not require the removal of asserts thankfully.

    2 nice Sprint ROMs I recommend are MOAR and Wicked Sensations.
     
  11. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    OH MY GOD!! Check out this YouTube video, be warned there is a bit of foul language, but this is so spot on for any user who has bashed their head against the wall over idiots demanding help for their botched root issue when they have no clue what they did and expect experienced users to sacrifice their valuable free time and just fix the problem!

    Trying to give a, Phone Idiot, Support - YouTube

    I just about peed my pants watching this!
     
    TheBritton and Tokens210 like this.
  12. Tokens210

    Tokens210 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    849
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012

    Apr 3, 2012
    849
    182
    93
    Male
    General Contractor
    Clifton Heights, PA (Just Outside Philadelphia)
    That was awesome lol couldn't stop laughing the entire time

    "I did read, but I didn't understand it, so I did it anyway" lol
     
    struckn likes this.
  13. Mr Dietrich II

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2014

    Feb 25, 2014
    6
    0
    5
    Male
    IT Pro Rep.
    In the USA
    I installed the above described ROM. And everything is AWESOME with it. EXCEPT a working camera......... Is there a tweak I can install to get it working. ?
     
  14. Tokens210

    Tokens210 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    849
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012

    Apr 3, 2012
    849
    182
    93
    Male
    General Contractor
    Clifton Heights, PA (Just Outside Philadelphia)
    First I'd say ur info says a different device which if that's the case you flashed a bunch of stuff not for your device in which case I'm amazed it isn't bricked lol but I'll just assume that you never changed your info lol

    If your speaking of the JD's stock Roms the cameras work fine as I recall and the Roms haven't had any updates which could possibly explain a break

    Most likely if I had to guess, something didn't take properly during flash and a fresh clean install may fix it
     
  15. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    Updated first two posts in this thread and retitled the thread as well in order to more accurately reflect the current state of ROMs and development now that KitKat has been fairly well established. Post number three is still a work in progress in terms of updating the list of ROMs and appropriate links.
     
    upconvert, nathan75 and ajnycguy like this.
  16. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    Finally satisfied with the content of the first three posts in this thread, including just finished updating post number three to reflect a wide variety of ROMs available to flash, along with appropriate links to XDA threads and G+ communities. Enjoy!
     
  17. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    Updated post #3 which lists ROM's to include OSE ROM and the legendary AOKP, which is now available for d2lte as of a couple of days ago.
     
  18. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    Updated OP to include the new thread from @MopedRyder with his latest APN fixes. Don't forget to give him a "Thanks" and a "Like" in the OP while you're there!
     
  19. Relgozen

    Relgozen Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2013

    Sep 9, 2013
    16
    18
    18
    I flashed the Liquid Smooth ROM along with MopedRyders APN fix. I still can't receive MMS, Any help? Thanks!
     
  20. upconvert

    upconvert Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    231
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2013

    Sep 11, 2013
    231
    89
    73
    Are you using hangouts?
     
  21. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    Are you using the stock messaging app, Hangouts, or some other third-party option? Hangouts is working fine for me for SMS/MMS both directions.
     
    Relgozen likes this.
  22. Relgozen

    Relgozen Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2013

    Sep 9, 2013
    16
    18
    18
    I'm using stock messaging
     
  23. upconvert

    upconvert Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    231
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2013

    Sep 11, 2013
    231
    89
    73
    Unfortunately, stock messaging app is still broken on most, if not all, ROMs.
     
    Relgozen likes this.
  24. Relgozen

    Relgozen Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2013

    Sep 9, 2013
    16
    18
    18
    Damn, that sucks to hear. Are there any other messaging apps that work and are comparable to stock messaging?
     
  25. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    Hangouts has actually grown on me quite a bit, and it just flat-out "works" without any fiddling around besides our need to flash an APN fix. Evolve is nice with lots of options, but can't automatically handle the handoff from LTE to 3G when it comes to MMS. Some people will recommend 8SMS as a close look-alike to stock, but I thought it looked a little "off" visually and didn't care for it.
     
    TheBritton and Relgozen like this.

Share This Page

Loading...