1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Virgin Mobile] Android 4.4.2 VM SPH-L710

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jmatherly411, May 2, 2014.

  1. jmatherly411

    jmatherly411 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    302
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012

    Feb 7, 2012
    302
    113
    78
    Male
    The Lawn Star (Owner/Operator)
    Virginia
    Question to for you more Android savvy techs, Sprint's version of the Samsung Galaxy S3 SPH-L710 started to get the KitKat upgrade May 1.

    With that being said would the Sprint L710PUCND8 4.4.2 build work on Virgin Mobile's Galaxy S3? Theoretically its the same phone (SPH-L710) running on the same network. I read somewhere someone flashed custom Sprint roms to the VM version. Do you guys think the VM version will see there own version of 4.4? Thanks for the input
     

    Advertisement

  2. Tokens210

    Tokens210 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    849
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012

    Apr 3, 2012
    849
    182
    93
    Male
    General Contractor
    Clifton Heights, PA (Just Outside Philadelphia)
    It should work, I'm no expert but as long as the hardwares the same and functions as such the script would need editing

    If the hardwares different or works differently it would need a port

    As for VM getting it or not that's totally in VM and I never hold my breath there lol my last device I bought was listed as getting an update, till the month the updates rolled out then it was oh yes not this one even tho we said it specifically was getting one lol
     
  3. jmatherly411

    jmatherly411 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    302
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012

    Feb 7, 2012
    302
    113
    78
    Male
    The Lawn Star (Owner/Operator)
    Virginia
    Its identical to the Sprint version, same amount of RAM, cpu, etc even the same model number (SPH-L710). I was wondering if anyone has attempted it.
     
  4. iMaYG

    iMaYG Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    252
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013

    Aug 8, 2013
    252
    29
    43
    It will work
     
  5. peter counias

    peter counias Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    442
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011

    Dec 6, 2011
    442
    29
    43
    Does anyone know if we are going to get the 4.4.2 update on virgin mobile ?
     
  6. Tokens210

    Tokens210 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    849
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012

    Apr 3, 2012
    849
    182
    93
    Male
    General Contractor
    Clifton Heights, PA (Just Outside Philadelphia)
    Its totally up to VM, so far I haven't seen anything but you can bet they'll announce it somehow if its gonna happen

    I'd also guess were gonna get it but you never know
     
  7. jmatherly411

    jmatherly411 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    302
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012

    Feb 7, 2012
    302
    113
    78
    Male
    The Lawn Star (Owner/Operator)
    Virginia
    Have you tried it?
     
  8. jmatherly411

    jmatherly411 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    302
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012

    Feb 7, 2012
    302
    113
    78
    Male
    The Lawn Star (Owner/Operator)
    Virginia
    Virgin Mobile customers should get the 4.4.2 upgrade, its the same exact phone as the Sprint version. It did get the 4.3 update back in November so I would assume that Virgin Mobile SPH-L710 Galaxy S3 would follow.
     
  9. iMaYG

    iMaYG Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    252
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013

    Aug 8, 2013
    252
    29
    43
    Any sprint ROM works on VM phones. U just need APN fixes.

    Almost all the roms people on the forum flash are sprint rom
     
  10. hatredg0d

    hatredg0d Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    217
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012

    Aug 23, 2012
    217
    73
    63
    Male
    Butcher
    Minnesota
    Just NEVER flash a GSM rom! I have flashed sprint roms and they work fine. Just make sure you have a backup to go back to if something goes wrong. Also after you flash the rom, flash this APN fix before you reboot. http://androidforums.com/virgin-mob...-virgin-mobile-apn-fix-wip-cm-aosp-4-4-x.html Not all messaging apps will work with the apn fix, but I know textra does for sure.

    Edit; Flashing can still result in a hardbrick, or other problems. - Forgot to add this, people have problems now because of the lack of information in this thread.
     
  11. PS4AndroidHacker

    PS4AndroidHacker Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    168
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014

    Feb 27, 2014
    168
    23
    38
    Male
    Ret. U.S. Army, Computer Networking
    Barberton, OH
    Has anybody seen anything about the Virgin Mobile stock 4.4.2? I can't wait to get a deodexed copy. Looking forward to having a deodexed,rooted stock 4.4!
     
  12. Higgs_Boson

    Higgs_Boson Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    81
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013

    Aug 13, 2013
    81
    20
    18
    VM 4.4 or 4.4.x updates would be determined by VM, not Sprint. With the S5 being released for VM, I am of the mind that they are anticipating users to abandon their S3s and go for the S5. So, if they even give the S3 KitKat at all, I would be prepared to wait a good bit.

    But, I may be wrong. If, like me, you find yourself too impatient to wait, there are plenty of source-built aftermarket ROMS functional enough to be daily drivers.

    (e.g. I am running PA on my S3 and have encountered almost no bugs...buttery smooth.)
     
  13. iMaYG

    iMaYG Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    252
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013

    Aug 8, 2013
    252
    29
    43
  14. iMaYG

    iMaYG Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    252
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013

    Aug 8, 2013
    252
    29
    43
    actually, dont.

    idk what the ND8 Tar is for. if that can be flashed, then this is possible
     
    TheBritton likes this.
  15. TheBritton

    TheBritton Resident Galaxy Cat
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    2,257
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011

    Oct 9, 2011
    2,257
    1,225
    323
    Male
    Radio DJ & Production Director, NWS Certified Skyw
    Amarillo, TX
    It appears the 4.4 update needs a 4.4 bootloader in order to flash. This thing is Knoxed up. If you don't already have Knox, I wouldn't flash that Tar!
     
  16. iMaYG

    iMaYG Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    252
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013

    Aug 8, 2013
    252
    29
    43
    Knox is unavoidable for this ROM.

    Cnexus states that two 4.4 requires it
     
  17. TheBritton

    TheBritton Resident Galaxy Cat
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    2,257
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011

    Oct 9, 2011
    2,257
    1,225
    323
    Male
    Radio DJ & Production Director, NWS Certified Skyw
    Amarillo, TX
    I assume SuperSU still functions?
     
  18. Darien153

    Darien153 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    360
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012

    Aug 1, 2012
    360
    31
    43
    Male
    I'm on the 4.4.2 rom as we speak. It works just fine but plzzzzzz make sure you backup all your internal SD card data because will be completely wiped. So now all my pictures and everything are gone :( @jmatherly... just because sprint gets it doesn't necessarily mean that we virgin mobile users get it. It's up to virgin mobile
     
  19. jmatherly411

    jmatherly411 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    302
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012

    Feb 7, 2012
    302
    113
    78
    Male
    The Lawn Star (Owner/Operator)
    Virginia
    Did you flash the stock Sprint version (L710VPND8) to your Virgin Mobile S3? I am tempted to do this to my business S3 I have though Virgin Mobile if it doesn't cause any issues and if its pretty straight forward without causing any errors.

    Also I was just assuming that Virgin Mobile/Boost would be getting the KitKat update because the S3 got the Jellybean update last November right after Sprint started to push it out to there S3 customers.
     
  20. Darien153

    Darien153 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    360
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012

    Aug 1, 2012
    360
    31
    43
    Male
    I mean all we can do is wait but yes I'm currently on the 4.4.2 stock sprint ROM. Nothing really different or stands out. Same thing. Maybe a slightly different lock screen and a few different icons. That's all I see.
     
  21. TheBritton

    TheBritton Resident Galaxy Cat
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    2,257
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011

    Oct 9, 2011
    2,257
    1,225
    323
    Male
    Radio DJ & Production Director, NWS Certified Skyw
    Amarillo, TX
    Merged duplicate threads on the KitKat 4.4 update into this one.

    Just a reminder, be sure to check if there is already a thread on the topic/issue before starting a new thread. This reduces clutter and makes the forum easier to navigate which makes it more useful :)

    Hope this helps!
     
    jmatherly411 and Higgs_Boson like this.
  22. Higgs_Boson

    Higgs_Boson Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    81
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013

    Aug 13, 2013
    81
    20
    18
    Glad I flashed a non-TW KK ROM. All that KNOX is just nasty.
     
  23. Kreatur3

    Kreatur3 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    353
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011

    Mar 4, 2011
    353
    139
    68
    All the talk here about the sprint update. Make sure, before trying anything with it, you go to the thread about it on xda and read it all. Not doing it the correct way WILL hard brick your phone.
     
  24. iMaYG

    iMaYG Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    252
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013

    Aug 8, 2013
    252
    29
    43
    Anyone running this, how is tw 4.4?
     
  25. pOsSuM72

    pOsSuM72 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    551
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012

    Jun 29, 2012
    551
    142
    113
    Male
    Shop Foreman
    USA Indiana
    I'm on VM I flashed it but no data.
     

Share This Page

Loading...