1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Virgin Mobile] Anyone have or working on modem files?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by JohnLane94, Jul 29, 2013.

  1. JohnLane94

    JohnLane94 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012

    Jul 3, 2012
    3
    0
    5
    Male
    Assistant Manager at McDonald's
    Long Island, New York
    Stupidly last night, I accidentally flashed a Sprint stock .tar file in Odin. By searching the forums, I have managed to restore my phone virtually to stock Virgin Mobile. Everything on my phone works with the exception of WiFi and Bluetooth. I believe once I can flash the modem files on my phone, both WiFi and Bluetooth will be fixed and I will have a fully functioning phone. Can anyone help me?
     

    Advertisement

  2. TeachMe

    TeachMe Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    466
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010

    Mar 22, 2010
    466
    129
    88
    If u got 3g your modem is fine it dont control wifi and blue tooth
     
    JohnLane94 likes this.
  3. JerryScript

    JerryScript Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,212
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011

    Mar 15, 2011
    2,212
    2,065
    313
    Las Vegas
    I have the modem dump, gotta check on how you would push it, that's one thing I've never had the opportunity to mess with on the various phones I've owned. I'll go ahead and push up the file for download, and check on the correct dd statement to get it on your phone.
     
  4. FlockaBoii

    FlockaBoii Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2013

    Jun 22, 2013
    67
    0
    15
    Male
    HighSchool
    Fort Worth, TX
    I'd love to use that dump! But would this fix my calling and texting.
     
  5. JerryScript

    JerryScript Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,212
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011

    Mar 15, 2011
    2,212
    2,065
    313
    Las Vegas
    It may. I am waiting on a response from another dev to be sure I give out the right commands. I'll probably make it into a flashable zip once I'm sure I don't bork anyone's phones with it.
     
  6. FlockaBoii

    FlockaBoii Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2013

    Jun 22, 2013
    67
    0
    15
    Male
    HighSchool
    Fort Worth, TX
    Okay! Hopefully you can finish this before the mornings over because I'm planning on taking this phone back to best buy(the people know nothing about software) and get another one.
     
  7. JerryScript

    JerryScript Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,212
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011

    Mar 15, 2011
    2,212
    2,065
    313
    Las Vegas
    If you haven't gone to return it back to the store yet, I have a fix to try, will post very soon....
     
  8. JerryScript

    JerryScript Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,212
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011

    Mar 15, 2011
    2,212
    2,065
    313
    Las Vegas
    OK, try flashing this in recovery. If it works, it will first backup your current modem to your sdcard as a flashable zip file so you can always go back to where you are now, then it installs the modem ripped out of my phone.

    WARNING- THIS IS EXPERIMENTAL, ONLY ATTEMPT AS A LAST RESORT TO GET YOUR MODEM WORKING AGAIN, UNTIL TESTING HAS PROVED IT WORKS!

    victory-vm-modem.zip

    If it works, all thanks go to g60madman and xInterloperx!
     
    JohnLane94 likes this.
  9. JohnLane94

    JohnLane94 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012

    Jul 3, 2012
    3
    0
    5
    Male
    Assistant Manager at McDonald's
    Long Island, New York
    Well, I guess TeachMe is correct. TWRP successfully flashed the file, but it did not correct my WiFi and Bluetooth connectivity issues. I no longer need fixing, but I greatly appreciate everyone's effort in helping me fix my device. I just swapped it for a new one and it works beautifully. Lesson learned; never, ever, ever go without backing up everything and always make sure you have a file that will not corrupt your device unless you're willing to have a very expensive paperweight. One thing I believe we should make a goal for this forum however is to make a .tar file as a one-click fix for many of our issues here. I think it would save a lot of people from returning defective devices and perhaps more important, save them hours of frustration searching through the forum for a fix.
     
  10. JerryScript

    JerryScript Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,212
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011

    Mar 15, 2011
    2,212
    2,065
    313
    Las Vegas
    Have you tried following these instructions (they have fixed several people's wifi related issues):

    http://androidforums.com/5997674-post42.html
     
  11. JohnLane94

    JohnLane94 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012

    Jul 3, 2012
    3
    0
    5
    Male
    Assistant Manager at McDonald's
    Long Island, New York
    I really appreciate everyone's effort on this, but I already have the replacement phone and I'm the assistant manager of the McDonald's inside the Walmart where I bought the phone so returning the old one will definitely not be an issue. I think the best thing I can do is say "lesson learned; don't flash anything I'm not 100% sure will work and BACKUP, BACKUP, BACKUP!" I also think we should seriously consider creating an Odin flashable recovery.tar file for anyone who really screwed up like I did as I'm sure there are countless other's who are in the same boat I was. I'd be willing to help in any way I could. Thank you so much for you're help JerryScript and of course g60madman and xInterloperx!
     
  12. JerryScript

    JerryScript Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,212
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011

    Mar 15, 2011
    2,212
    2,065
    313
    Las Vegas
    What have you done to the new phone so far? Mind pulling the images so we can make that stock tar?
     
  13. selectphysics

    selectphysics Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011

    Jul 25, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    I’m one of the people who mistakenly installed the Sprint tar.md5 to my VM SPH-L300. The exact sequence of things I did after that is too complex to remember but I know I used Odin to install a TWRP recovery to my device, then used TWRP to install a Conquest ROM zip and eventually found myself at the point where Kies showed this:

    Current firmware version : PDA:MC1 / PHONE:MG5 / CSC: MC1 (VMU)

    The phone could connect to the VM network so I could send & receive SMS but no Bluetooth or Wi-Fi. Didn’t know what to do. Looked on the net for info and decided to try Odin to install modems. Found this page:

    http://androidforums.com/virgin-mob...849-updated-op-vm-sgs3-stock-radio-fixed.html

    I downloaded the file and applied it with Odin. I believe that Odin finished with a FAIL. Phone booted but still no Wi-Fi or BT. Found another modem here:

    victory-vm-modem

    Downloaded and installed it with TWRP. Still no Wi-Fi or BT. At this point for some reason I had the phone plugged in to Kies and Kies announced that there was a firmware upgrade for the phone! I followed the instructions, performed the upgrade and here is what Kies said afterward:

    Service version : PDA:MG5 / PHONE:MG5 / CSC:MG5 (VMU)

    For some reason Kies didn’t seem to recognize the need for an upgrade until I played around with the modems. As I write this my Victory is updating Google Apps over Wi-Fi. Also, I used Bluetooth headphones to listen to a YouTube video.

    This all started when I tried to fix the BT problem with my Conquest ROM install. Custom Android ROMs are fun to play with but one good thing about stock: it works!
     
  14. Madbat

    Madbat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    2,568
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012

    Feb 9, 2012
    2,568
    991
    343
    Male
    a/c and heating
    New Orleans
    Does your baseband end in mc1 or mg5?
    Settings/about phone/baseband
    If its mc1 follow these instructions Exactly (except flashing vaevictus kernel)
    http://androidforums.com/showthread.php?p=6054761
    Edit: I see that you said it was mg5 already. I would try it anyways.
     
  15. aazxcqwe

    aazxcqwe Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    May 13, 2014

    May 13, 2014
    5
    0
    5
    Just to add a report, I also flashed the RWILCO12's ROM (really wouldn't hurt to label repositories Sprint or VM, I take it VP doesn't stand for Virgin). I got wifi back immediately after finally making space for the 3GBs Kies (didn't use?). I tried system upgrade and kernels and logcat to get bluetooth, gave up, TWRPed my old (also updated) system partition and it started working for reason, thank god!
    Here's another thread regarding making a dd backup of the modem partion, which I plan to do next!:
    http://androidforums.com/threads/oudhs-modem-backup-tool.697681/page-3

    I'll attach my modem.img if someone can reassure me it doesn't have account info on it as I've read about one of these partitions.
     
    #15 aazxcqwe, Dec 7, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2014

Share This Page

Loading...