1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Virgin Mobile] AOSP

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by xstefen, Jul 27, 2013.

  1. xstefen

    xstefen Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    981
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012

    Dec 10, 2012
    981
    207
    93
    Male
    EUC Specialist @ Fidelity Investments
    Under your bed
    Hey guys, the experienced devs atleast. For my first project I wanted to give a shot at bringing android 4.3 aosp to our phone. The problem I'm having is when syncing the android repos. After 'repo sync' it takes forever and eventually locks up. After lock up I'm unable to reboot ubuntu. Ive reinstalled 3 times trying to get this to sync. Following googles directions exactly. Anyone have experience with preparing to build AOSP from source? Help would be awesome
    #padawandevproblems
     

    Advertisement

    NolenUmar likes this.
  2. xstefen

    xstefen Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    981
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012

    Dec 10, 2012
    981
    207
    93
    Male
    EUC Specialist @ Fidelity Investments
    Under your bed
    I've narrowed it down. The boot problem occurs after installing the remaining dependencies then symlinking libgl.so. After that a reboot causes either a blank screen or black screen with flashing cursor after the Ubuntu logo.
     
  3. xstefen

    xstefen Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    981
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012

    Dec 10, 2012
    981
    207
    93
    Male
    EUC Specialist @ Fidelity Investments
    Under your bed
    I have found the culprit! In setting up my build enviroment, when installing "libgl1-mesa-glx:i386" causes..

    [​IMG]

    I believe its removing half the dependencies ubuntu needs to actually fully boot. Does anyone else recognize this? I have successfully installed every last thing required except this last lib

    Mods if there is a better placs for this thread, please do move it :) thanks

    Edit: it seems that [HIGH]libgl1-mesa-glx-lts-quantal:i386[/HIGH] is already installed. So im wondering if
    [HIGH]libgl1-mesa-glx:i386[/HIGH]
    and
    [HIGH]sudo ln -s /usr/lib/i386-linux-gnu/mesa/libGL.so.1 /usr/lib/i386-linux-gnu/libGL.so[/HIGH]
    is even necessary? Still doing research. Apparently its because in Ubuntu 12.04.02 some new X variants were used.
     
  4. AndroidHaCks

    AndroidHaCks Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    341
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012

    Nov 29, 2012
    341
    77
    53
    Male
    Good luck with this! I have very little Linux experience, so I'm of no help. But if you get 4.3 booting (I reallllly hope you do), you have your first tester :)
     
    xstefen likes this.
  5. rbheromax

    rbheromax Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,927
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012

    Sep 22, 2012
    1,927
    443
    163
    Male
    High School Student
    Columbia, South Carolina
    First rule of building AOSP
    Dont use Ubuntu 12.04
     
    xstefen likes this.
  6. xstefen

    xstefen Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    981
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012

    Dec 10, 2012
    981
    207
    93
    Male
    EUC Specialist @ Fidelity Investments
    Under your bed
    Lmfao. Ubuntu's site only lists a server edition of 10.04. What would you perfer/recommend? as I always thought this was pretty much the standard. I dont feel like spending hours preparing my Arch Linux build, and I removed OpenSuSE to make extra hdd space for repo syncs :D

    Im going to try a test sync and build to see if it will work without that lib, maybe
     
  7. rbheromax

    rbheromax Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,927
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012

    Sep 22, 2012
    1,927
    443
    163
    Male
    High School Student
    Columbia, South Carolina
    It depends on if u need the gui. Im used to command line so I use it 24/7. You can use a debian distro because ubuntu:debian cyanogen::android. Just find whats good for u but google doesnt support new.
     
    xstefen likes this.
  8. xstefen

    xstefen Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    981
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012

    Dec 10, 2012
    981
    207
    93
    Male
    EUC Specialist @ Fidelity Investments
    Under your bed
    I use cli quite a bit, but i like a decent gui, cinnamon or lxde/xfce. Hmm. Well shit, I guess I should test and see if this works, or just install a different distro. Both would be about the same work. Bahhh.
     
  9. kenmoini

    kenmoini Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013

    Jan 2, 2013
    12
    2
    16
    Male
    Jack of many trades
    The not quite dirty south
    Also, I would believe that even with ubuntu server 10.04 LTS, you could do an apt-get install for your preferred GUI. Following your progress.
     
  10. rbheromax

    rbheromax Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,927
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012

    Sep 22, 2012
    1,927
    443
    163
    Male
    High School Student
    Columbia, South Carolina
    Lol I use ubuntu 12.04
    but only because im not building anymore
    I only do kernels now.
    But earlier I used to use ubuntu 9.04 (last year I used it still)
    But if u look in the archives I think they have 10.04 images with guis
     
  11. xstefen

    xstefen Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    981
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012

    Dec 10, 2012
    981
    207
    93
    Male
    EUC Specialist @ Fidelity Investments
    Under your bed
    Im getting 10.04.4 desktop 64 now. I am interested in building a kernel too, was my first thought, but then i saw the couple on here that are already great! and only one rom. :)
     
  12. rbheromax

    rbheromax Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,927
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012

    Sep 22, 2012
    1,927
    443
    163
    Male
    High School Student
    Columbia, South Carolina
    Yeah I helped out somewhat with that last kernel releasw. But there will always be more space for otger kernels. Just build one and put it out. Add feature people want. Do you have makefiles to build the cm (device tree)?
     
  13. xstefen

    xstefen Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    981
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012

    Dec 10, 2012
    981
    207
    93
    Male
    EUC Specialist @ Fidelity Investments
    Under your bed
    i dont, im completely scratch with this phone. ive only ever edited 4.0.3 sense 3.6 roms so im fairly new to building
     
  14. xstefen

    xstefen Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    981
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012

    Dec 10, 2012
    981
    207
    93
    Male
    EUC Specialist @ Fidelity Investments
    Under your bed
    well, setting up 10.04 now, back in a bit haha
     
  15. rbheromax

    rbheromax Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,927
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012

    Sep 22, 2012
    1,927
    443
    163
    Male
    High School Student
    Columbia, South Carolina
    Okay, im going to start a device tree on github now
     
    xstefen likes this.
  16. xstefen

    xstefen Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    981
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012

    Dec 10, 2012
    981
    207
    93
    Male
    EUC Specialist @ Fidelity Investments
    Under your bed
    Thanks a ton for that!

    Tapatalk ftw! , wasting 24 hrs configuring and reinstalling ubuntu 12.04 is not what's up
     
  17. rbheromax

    rbheromax Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,927
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012

    Sep 22, 2012
    1,927
    443
    163
    Male
    High School Student
    Columbia, South Carolina
    No problem. I cant compile myself as my machine is 32 bit smh but I can make device trees like the back of my hand. This will be trial and error at its finest
     
  18. xstefen

    xstefen Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    981
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012

    Dec 10, 2012
    981
    207
    93
    Male
    EUC Specialist @ Fidelity Investments
    Under your bed
    I
    It certainly will be and I'm excited. Only rocking an Asus laptop i3 @ 2.4x4 and 4gb ram, but it'll do, 10.04.4 64bit desktop almost done installing then lots of setup todo

    Edit: finished. Kernel 2.6.x eeeck I was just rocking the July release of 3.10.x lol

    Edit2: seems I'm gonna have to get my wifi working before anything... Phone research ftw
     
  19. rbheromax

    rbheromax Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,927
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012

    Sep 22, 2012
    1,927
    443
    163
    Male
    High School Student
    Columbia, South Carolina
    Omfg old kernel version. U got a github account?
     
  20. xstefen

    xstefen Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    981
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012

    Dec 10, 2012
    981
    207
    93
    Male
    EUC Specialist @ Fidelity Investments
    Under your bed
    I'll b setting one up in a minute have to use windows to get wifi files
     
  21. JerryScript

    JerryScript Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,212
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011

    Mar 15, 2011
    2,212
    2,065
    313
    Las Vegas
    You can use Ubuntu 12.04, you just have to install ubuntu-desktop after installing mesa! ;)

    I figured it out the hard way. Had the exact same issue, and reinstalled Ubuntu 4 times trying to figure it out. Once you are at the grub boot loader, choose the recovery. Once it loads, you will need to activate root and networking, then continue to boot as normal. Once you hit the black screen press cntrl+alt+f or cntrl+alt+f1 (or f2-f10) till you get a command prompt. Once you have your command prompt try running
    PHP:
    1. sudo startx
    You should see an error about x not being available. Now run
    PHP:
    1. sudo apt-get install ubuntu-desktop
    Once it finishes, type reboot. This should fix your black screen at boot issues. ;).

    I imagine you could avoid all this by just running apt-get install ubuntu-desktop after doing everything else to setup your build environment.
     
    xstefen likes this.
  22. rbheromax

    rbheromax Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,927
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012

    Sep 22, 2012
    1,927
    443
    163
    Male
    High School Student
    Columbia, South Carolina
    Okay, well on github im newkid313
     
  23. JerryScript

    JerryScript Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,212
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011

    Mar 15, 2011
    2,212
    2,065
    313
    Las Vegas
    And in these forums, he is the Overclocking God! ;)
     
  24. rbheromax

    rbheromax Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,927
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012

    Sep 22, 2012
    1,927
    443
    163
    Male
    High School Student
    Columbia, South Carolina
    I heard that too :p
     
  25. xstefen

    xstefen Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    981
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012

    Dec 10, 2012
    981
    207
    93
    Male
    EUC Specialist @ Fidelity Investments
    Under your bed
    Thanks JerryScript Maybe I'll go back to 12.04, well see if I get ndiswrapper setup easy enough or not.

    Github xstefen
     

Share This Page

Loading...