1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Virgin Mobile] ART runtime when dirty flashing ROM update?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by GreyCelt, Jan 12, 2014.

  1. GreyCelt

    GreyCelt Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    211
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011

    Nov 11, 2011
    211
    46
    43
    Emergency Dept. Registered Nurse for the Vetrans A
    Portland, OR
    Quick question for everyone. I've been dirty flashing the latest CM11 nightlies for awhile now using struckn's method for modifying the ROM and everything works great! Big thanks again to struckn for that! Yesterday I figured I'd switch to the ART runtime and see how that treated me.
    So, when I went to flash today's nightly when I got up, it dawned on me that when I dirty flash, I always wipe cache and dalvik cache before I flash.
    My question is, on the ART runtime, do I have to wipe dalvik cache still or do I just wipe cache or is there something else to wipe now.
    Sorry I'm so long-winded but I prefer to explain why I'm asking the question before I just ask.
    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement

  2. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    I would assume it probably doesn't matter but it never hurts to do it anyway. It shouldn't affect anything if you do the wipe and it wasn't needed.
     
    GreyCelt likes this.
  3. GreyCelt

    GreyCelt Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    211
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011

    Nov 11, 2011
    211
    46
    43
    Emergency Dept. Registered Nurse for the Vetrans A
    Portland, OR
    And there's nothing else, in addition to, that needs to be wiped correct?
     
  4. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    I would say just keep doing your standard flashing procedure. There is no "ART cache" or anything extra to be wiped. However, I don't know if you will have to reselect ART as your runtime of choice after each flash or if that setting choice will "stick" through each dirty flash. Personally, the ability to use the Xposed framework far outweighs the potential benefit of ART, so I have not used ART beyond just one time with the initial official CM11 release just to see what the fuss is about. Plus, the Dalvik optimizer tweak works well for me, it definitely seems to be more than just a placebo.
     
    GreyCelt likes this.
  5. GreyCelt

    GreyCelt Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    211
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011

    Nov 11, 2011
    211
    46
    43
    Emergency Dept. Registered Nurse for the Vetrans A
    Portland, OR
    Hey, thanks struckn for your help! I went ahead and flashed the modified CM11 after only wiping cache. Everything seems to be working just fine so far and it's still running on the ART runtime.
     
  6. Total1nsan1ty

    Total1nsan1ty Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012

    Oct 17, 2012
    27
    5
    16
    I tried usin ART and it messed things up reall good. Not entirely sure as to why, but I was stuck on bootloop and had to restore
     
  7. GreyCelt

    GreyCelt Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    211
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011

    Nov 11, 2011
    211
    46
    43
    Emergency Dept. Registered Nurse for the Vetrans A
    Portland, OR
    Did you make sure you're using a GAPPS package that is ART compatible? I had the same problem until I flashed PA-gapps which are compatible with the ART runtime.
     
    Total1nsan1ty likes this.
  8. Total1nsan1ty

    Total1nsan1ty Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012

    Oct 17, 2012
    27
    5
    16
    Thansk! I didn't know that. Is there a link around here to the PA-GAPPS?
     
  9. GreyCelt

    GreyCelt Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    211
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011

    Nov 11, 2011
    211
    46
    43
    Emergency Dept. Registered Nurse for the Vetrans A
    Portland, OR
    Total1nsan1ty likes this.
  10. Total1nsan1ty

    Total1nsan1ty Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012

    Oct 17, 2012
    27
    5
    16
    Thanks Again! I'm excited to give ART another try!!
     
  11. Total1nsan1ty

    Total1nsan1ty Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012

    Oct 17, 2012
    27
    5
    16
    One other question, will ART work with the DKP kernel? Not sure how the two are related.
     
  12. GreyCelt

    GreyCelt Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    211
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011

    Nov 11, 2011
    211
    46
    43
    Emergency Dept. Registered Nurse for the Vetrans A
    Portland, OR
    Not a problem! Hope it works for you!

    Oh, and yes, I'm running DKP so it should work fine for you. No guarantees though because you may have a different set-up than I do.

    As always, flash and mod at your own risk.
     
    Total1nsan1ty likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...