1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Virgin Mobile] [BETA] [4.4.4] Cyanogenmod 11 Unofficial

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by xclusive36, Jun 20, 2015.

  1. xclusive36

    xclusive36 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #92
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,338
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014

    Jan 28, 2014
    1,338
    457
    183
    Male
    Pepsi
    Maryland
    [​IMG]

    CyanogenMod 11 for the LG F3 Beta

    CyanogenMod is a free, community built, after market firmware distribution of Android 4.1.2 (Jellybean), which is designed to increase performance and reliability over stock Android for your device.

    Code (Text):
    1. #include
    2. /*
    3. * Your warranty is now void. *
    4. * We are not responsible for bricked devices, dead SD cards. Please
    5. * do some research if you have any concerns about features included in this ROM
    6. * before flashing it! YOU are choosing to make these modifications.
    7. */


    All the source code for CyanogenMod is available in the CyanogenMod Github repo. And if you would like to contribute to CyanogenMod, please visit Gerrit Code Review

    Device Tree:
    https://github.com/xclusive36/android_device_lge_fx3

    Instructions:

    First time flashing CyanogenMod 11 on your device, or coming from another ROM?
    1. Root the device and install ClockworkMod or TWRP Recovery.
    2. Perform a backup of your current ROM.
    3. Perform a factory reset while in recovery
    4. Flash CyanogenMod.
    5. Flash GAPPS

    Do not use bug tracker on Unofficial builds

    What works:
    • Accelerometer
    • Automatic brightness
    • Bluetooth
    • Calls
    • Compass
    • Data/3G
    • Data-4g
    • External SD
    • GPS
    • Headset/headphones
    • Home button LED Lights not 100%
    • Microphone
    • MTP
    • Rotation
    • Sms / Text message <-- Incoming only in default messaging app
    • Sound
    • Speaker phone
    • Wi-Fi
    • Wifi Hotspot
    • USB tethering
    What's not working:
    • Camera/Flash
    • Vibration (unstable)
    • Torch app

    Download Links

    https://s.basketbuild.com/devs/xclusive36/fx3/vm/cm11


    md5sum
    f0c6aa58f76b6ece6a7d4302ca718e30 cm-11-20150808-UNOFFICIAL-fx3.zip


    If I have helped you, and you like my work, please click on the Like Button.

    [​IMG] - xclusive36

    Thanks:
    I wanted to say thank you to daemon32. Thank you :) for porting this to the f3.
    Also to anyone else who ported this to the f6
    masterdebugger for your awesome sauce
    phenomx4 is awesome


     

    Advertisement

    #1 xclusive36, Jun 20, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2015
  2. xclusive36

    xclusive36 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #92
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,338
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014

    Jan 28, 2014
    1,338
    457
    183
    Male
    Pepsi
    Maryland
    Developer Options
    CyanogenMod includes special menus full of preferences that are intended for developers and other advanced users. These menus are normally hidden from the user. However they can be revealed by following these instructions:

      • In the Settings app, select About Phone (or About Tablet).
      • Scroll down, and tap the Build number entry seven times. On the seventh tap, you will be notified that "You are now a developer."
      • Return back to the main Settings menu. Developer options and Performance entries should now be visible.
     
    #2 xclusive36, Jun 20, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2015
  3. xclusive36

    xclusive36 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #92
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,338
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014

    Jan 28, 2014
    1,338
    457
    183
    Male
    Pepsi
    Maryland
    Beta 1:
    8/8/2015

    • 4g/Lte added
    • Vibration removed because of instability.

    7/25/2015

    • Bluetooth support added
    • Vibration added
    • Added missing files
    • Bug fixes

    Alpha 1:

    • Automatic brightness
    • Calls
    • Sms / Text message <-- Incoming only in default messaging app
    • Sound
    • Rotation
    • Microphone
    • Data/3G
    • External SD
    • Speaker phone
    • MTP
    • Home button LED Lights not 100%
    • Headset/headphones
    • Accelerometer
    • Compass
    • GPS
    • Wi-Fi
    • Wifi Hotspot
    • USB tethering
     
    #3 xclusive36, Jun 20, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2015
  4. xclusive36

    xclusive36 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #92
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,338
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014

    Jan 28, 2014
    1,338
    457
    183
    Male
    Pepsi
    Maryland
    reserved
     
    #4 xclusive36, Jun 20, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2015
  5. xclusive36

    xclusive36 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #92
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,338
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014

    Jan 28, 2014
    1,338
    457
    183
    Male
    Pepsi
    Maryland
    I see Accelerometer and Compass work but gps does not. It see's the satellites, but it just doesn't pull data.
     
    #5 xclusive36, Jun 20, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2015
  6. xclusive36

    xclusive36 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #92
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,338
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014

    Jan 28, 2014
    1,338
    457
    183
    Male
    Pepsi
    Maryland
    I see in the build.prop, persist.audio.handset.mic is set to digital. It should be set to analog. The next upload will fix that.
     
  7. Andresramirezvzla

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2014

    Dec 10, 2014
    35
    5
    36
    Male
    When outgoing SMS, camera, wifi, flash and vibration? Sorry if I disturb you. I really liked the rom, I need outgoing SMS and wifi connection obligatorily to carry this rom.
     
  8. xclusive36

    xclusive36 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #92
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,338
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014

    Jan 28, 2014
    1,338
    457
    183
    Male
    Pepsi
    Maryland
    Not sure, but sms.. use another sms app. Hangouts, or chomp or another sms app.
     
  9. Andresramirezvzla

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2014

    Dec 10, 2014
    35
    5
    36
    Male
    And for wifi?
     
  10. xclusive36

    xclusive36 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #92
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,338
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014

    Jan 28, 2014
    1,338
    457
    183
    Male
    Pepsi
    Maryland
  11. daemon32

    daemon32 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    79
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015

    Jun 3, 2015
    79
    18
    38
    We have to do a stack trace on /system/bin/wpa_supplicant because something causes it to crash, badly! It might be related to the code it has for reading /dev/__properties__ or something to do with android private sockets, because unix sockets work just fine

    And what on earth did you do to get data to work? It seems completely dysfunctional on GSM...
     
    #11 daemon32, Jun 21, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2015
  12. masterdbugger

    masterdbugger Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011

    Oct 28, 2011
    37
    22
    18
    For data look at apns-conf.xml.
     
    xclusive36 likes this.
  13. xclusive36

    xclusive36 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #92
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,338
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014

    Jan 28, 2014
    1,338
    457
    183
    Male
    Pepsi
    Maryland
    To get data, I went into Settings > Mobile network settings > Preferred network type: and for ours, I choose 3g. For gsm, I think you would choose 2g.

    It works under the setting LTE (recommended) in a 3g only area but once you get to a 4g area it wont connect to 4g. It drops the data connection. You then need to change it to 3g. Or for gsm, 2g.

    Also as a side note, I noticed a memory leak in cell connectivity. I just had to plug my phone onto the charger at 17%. About 8 hours worth of drain to get to that point. Not a huge drain but More than what it should be with minimal usage.

    Thank you masterdebugger for your continuing help. You stepped up and picked up where sandix left off. I still go to him for help occasionally but you've made a difference.

    daemon32, we should also work together. We're striving for the same goal. You know a few things I don't know.

    I'm guessing the ramdisk we're using now isn't 100% right. Also we're missing some proprietary files. To get somethings to work, phenomx4 pulled some files from similar phone roms. We may want to do the same thing.
     
  14. xclusive36

    xclusive36 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #92
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,338
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014

    Jan 28, 2014
    1,338
    457
    183
    Male
    Pepsi
    Maryland
    oh, you can try to go to phone and dial:

    *#*#4636#*#*

    and manually change the data settings that way.

    Just be sure to cycle Airplane mode to get it to engage.
     
  15. Andresramirezvzla

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2014

    Dec 10, 2014
    35
    5
    36
    Male
    You have made progress with wifi?
     
  16. daemon32

    daemon32 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    79
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015

    Jun 3, 2015
    79
    18
    38
    I've tried 2G (EDGE) and 3G (UMTS/HSPA) and both have the same problem...

    http://i.imgur.com/4qYUfse.png
    http://i.imgur.com/YbdJ4FC.png
    http://i.imgur.com/tg6U8Ut.png

    It seems like android and the RIL don't interface correctly, noting your issues with the phone handing off from one technology to the next, my inability to get GSM data working, and the radio not being signalled to use its power saving features... Does IS-95 to 1xRTT or LTE work? (or is the phone even capable of this?)

    EDIT: OH YEAH! I'm stupid, I forgot to tell you that the default CPU governor is performance... And obviously, I've obsessed over the wifi too much, as not being able to sit at a computer, and having to lay down all day without youtube is torture xD (I vnc my linux box with an old iPod :p)

    I agree, we definitely should work together, and you seem to know a few things I don't as well...

    The ramdisk is most certainly broken, and I want to find a full mmc dump of an F6 running stock kitkat to see what's going on there...

    No, sorry, I'm probably going to be able to fix it if I have the stock F6 kitkat kernel and rom though...
     
    #16 daemon32, Jun 21, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2015
  17. Andresramirezvzla

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2014

    Dec 10, 2014
    35
    5
    36
    Male
    I have a custom rom f3 kitkat with the wifi running from https://basketbuild.com/devs/phenomx4/fx3

     
  18. daemon32

    daemon32 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    79
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015

    Jun 3, 2015
    79
    18
    38
    Thank you, but I tried using that as a start, but I couldn't get it to boot at all (using that rom's ramdisk with my rom) no matter what I did to that ramdisk :(
     
  19. Andresramirezvzla

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2014

    Dec 10, 2014
    35
    5
    36
    Male
    I Do not know much about programming but I will be running tests to achieve operating the wifi.
     
  20. daemon32

    daemon32 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    79
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015

    Jun 3, 2015
    79
    18
    38
    http://androidforums.com/threads/metropcs-rom-kitkat-4-4-2-new-beta-4.861355/

    That works beautifully on the F3, provided you use a zImage from the CM device tree
    (Everything but wifi, bt, camera, auto brightness seems to works stock)...

    I'm starting the work to put that ramdisk in the rom

    EDIT: Actually, receiving calls works (I just assumed that sending them did, since I somehow managed to receive a call when I first installed the rom) but the phone an contacts app crash...
    GPS doesn't work either, but vibration works!

    EDIT2: Wifi works too, I just have to put the correct firmware blobs in (I'm the kind of idiot that *thinks* they put it in the zip)

    EDIT∞: Video acceleration, WebGL and GLES 3 work too, without the buggy framebuffer you would see in the cm 10 rom (because the kernel FB/Adreno drivers match the blobs now)

    None of this works with the CM 11 rom, it just spams com.android.phone has stopped working
     
    #20 daemon32, Jun 21, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2015
  21. Andresramirezvzla

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2014

    Dec 10, 2014
    35
    5
    36
    Male
    I installed the stock jelly bean rom my LG F3 because I'm in final testing of college and have no time to be experimenting with so unstable roms.
     
  22. xclusive36

    xclusive36 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #92
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,338
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014

    Jan 28, 2014
    1,338
    457
    183
    Male
    Pepsi
    Maryland
    Wifi and gps is now working :)
     
  23. xclusive36

    xclusive36 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #92
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,338
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014

    Jan 28, 2014
    1,338
    457
    183
    Male
    Pepsi
    Maryland
    I'd say this is one step away from becoming a beta. I'd call the cm10 rom a beta if the lcd-backlight would turn off properly.

    I almost have Bluetooth working. It has an issue keeping it from engaging. I'm going to keep poking at it. I also want to add a few things to kernel
     
  24. Andresramirezvzla

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2014

    Dec 10, 2014
    35
    5
    36
    Male
    Why the camera, flashlight and torch not work?

    I loved the news about the WiFi, Bluetooth and GPS. Hopefully soon achieve operating the camera and flashlight to install the rom on my device, because my girlfriend is very fond of photos.
     
  25. daemon32

    daemon32 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    79
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015

    Jun 3, 2015
    79
    18
    38
    Great work! I can confirm that p2p_disabled=1 works to fix my wifi! Did you by any chance find that in the phenomx4 kitkat rom? I found that option in the config in there, but I didn't think about trying it.

    Well, on some phones, the LED flashlight is actually controlled by the linux /sys/class/leds interface, but in our case, it's actually controlled by the same proprietary blobs that control the camera interface... So when the camera works, the LED should too.

    Also, I still can't get 2G/3G data to work, is there something you are doing that I'm missing, or maybe I'm forgetting some blobs or build.prop options? (I've configured the APN correctly, but rmnet0 is down and doesn't get an IP address)
     
  26. daemon32

    daemon32 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    79
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015

    Jun 3, 2015
    79
    18
    38
    What the hell is this supposed to mean?
    Code (Text):
    1. CANNOT LINK EXECUTABLE: cannot locate symbol "rild" referenced by "rild"...
    How can it not find its own symbol? xD (I even grep'd the whole rom, and copied any files with 'rild' in them)

    I'm an idiot, I copied libril.so to /system/bin xD

    Now, I get this:
    Code (Text):
    1. Diag_LSM_Init: Failed to open handle to diag driver, error = 13
    And I hope that I don't have to do any kernel modification to get this to work now... :(
     
    #45 daemon32, Jun 25, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2015

Share This Page

Loading...