1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Virgin Mobile] Bootloops CM11 d2lte

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by GreyCelt, Feb 22, 2014.

  1. GreyCelt

    GreyCelt Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #220
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    211
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011

    Nov 11, 2011
    211
    46
    53
    Male
    Registered Nurse for the Veterans Affairs
    Portland, OR
    Is anyone getting bootloops after flashing the two latest nightlies from CM11 (20140221 & 20140222)?

    I've done nothing different from previous flashes and the first boot immediately after flashing results in bootloops. It never does boot-up fully and I have to do a battery pull and go back into recovery to restore my Nandroid Backup of the 20140220 build.

    Prior to the 20140221 build I never had problems even with the couple of new d2lte unified builds that were put out.
     

    Advertisement

  2. BRAINZ2013

    BRAINZ2013 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    6,418
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012

    Feb 21, 2012
    6,418
    1,204
    353
    Male
    MECHANIC OBDII. NOS. FUEL INJECTION. Saving a Life
    Park Ave., HELL
    How are you installing them . do you perform any wipe or update through the CyanogenMod update in the settings .
     
  3. GreyCelt

    GreyCelt Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #220
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    211
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011

    Nov 11, 2011
    211
    46
    53
    Male
    Registered Nurse for the Veterans Affairs
    Portland, OR
    I download through Settings-->About Phone-->CyanogenMod Updates

    Then I unzip the file, remove asserts and debloat to my liking. I then re-zip and move the file to my Flash file where I keep all of my current zips that I flash when updating.

    Reboot to Philz recovery. Wipe cache and dalvik cache (I know some say it's unnecessary but I've always done it).

    Flash ROM, then GAPPS, then kernel, then dalvik optimization. Wipe cache and dalvik cache.

    Reboot.... Bootloop!

    I've been doing this same routine since I started flashing CM11 2-3 months ago or whenever it was. No changes. No problems...until the last 2 nightlies.
     
  4. BRAINZ2013

    BRAINZ2013 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    6,418
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012

    Feb 21, 2012
    6,418
    1,204
    353
    Male
    MECHANIC OBDII. NOS. FUEL INJECTION. Saving a Life
    Park Ave., HELL
    But try with out that you maybe removing something it needs to boot up if problems continue post back
     
  5. BRAINZ2013

    BRAINZ2013 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    6,418
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012

    Feb 21, 2012
    6,418
    1,204
    353
    Male
    MECHANIC OBDII. NOS. FUEL INJECTION. Saving a Life
    Park Ave., HELL
    Nahhhh just checked its true may want to wait a while cause they combined and the problems been going on since Feb 20 2014. Give ma a second I post the problems
     
  6. GreyCelt

    GreyCelt Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #220
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    211
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011

    Nov 11, 2011
    211
    46
    53
    Male
    Registered Nurse for the Veterans Affairs
    Portland, OR
    Yeah, my next step is to troubleshoot. I'm gonna flash each zip separately and try to reboot after each flash. I'll also forgo the wiping to see if that changes anything.

    BRAINZ2013, Are you on CM11 d2lte nightlies?
     
  7. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    I think it is a d2lte issue in general, Carbon has had similar issues after 2/18. Build from 2/21 for Carbon bootlooped on me in similar fashion.
     
    BRAINZ2013 likes this.
  8. BRAINZ2013

    BRAINZ2013 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    6,418
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012

    Feb 21, 2012
    6,418
    1,204
    353
    Male
    MECHANIC OBDII. NOS. FUEL INJECTION. Saving a Life
    Park Ave., HELL
    Yes running a bionic and s3 with kk o my bad d2lte :eek::D:what:
     
  9. Micaallin

    Micaallin Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    8
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2014

    Feb 16, 2014
    8
    11
    8
    I am on Carbon d2lte, and not CM 11, but I had similar bootloop issues with Carbon d2lte 2/21 and 2/22. After fiddling around with different flash scenarios to see if something would work, I discovered that I avoided bootloops if I didn't flash the optimized Dalvik zip.

    Flash as you normally do, but skip the optimized Dalvik zip and see if that works.
     
    nathan75, struckn and BRAINZ2013 like this.
  10. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    Thanks for the heads up! From what I have been reading as well, looks like ART is causing a lot of issues on the newer builds too.
     
  11. cmichael258

    cmichael258 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    205
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012

    Apr 28, 2012
    205
    39
    53
    Male
    Social Services
    St. Pete Florida
    I flashed the Carbon 02/21/2014 dlte last night without the optimized Dalvik zip and encountered no issues with bootloops.
     
    struckn likes this.
  12. GreyCelt

    GreyCelt Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #220
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    211
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011

    Nov 11, 2011
    211
    46
    53
    Male
    Registered Nurse for the Veterans Affairs
    Portland, OR
    Well, I thought I was gonna have some news because I haven't checked this thread since my last post. (I was busy curling... Yes, I said curling!) It looks like others have discovered what I just figured out on my own.

    Anyway, when I got home I flashed the 20140222 ROM & rebooted...no problems. Flashed dkp kernel & rebooted...no problems. Flashed dalvik optimization...BOOTLOOPS!

    Restored Nandroid Backup.
    Flashed ROM/kernel & rebooted...no problems.

    I wonder what they changed? Does this mean that they're getting closer to making ART the default runtime?
     
  13. mattstout404

    mattstout404 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012

    Jul 16, 2012
    16
    4
    16
    Male
    New Orleans, LA
    I had an issue where whenever I tried to simply upgrade straight from a dalvik optimized instance of CM11.
    If you have a dalvik optimized backup that you want to continue upgrading (without doing a full wipe) you should do this, worked for me:

    1. make a new backup with CWM
    2. do a full wipe
    3. install the new d2lte cm zip and whatever kernel
    4. boot and skip the setup (we're wiping it anyway)
    5. boot to recovery
    6. advanced restore JUST the data
    7. reboot
    8. profit

    Not sure if it helps or not but I figured I'd throw it out there.
     
  14. ebildude123

    ebildude123 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2013

    Sep 30, 2013
    57
    64
    33
    Male
    Or just wipe dalvik & cache? xP
     
  15. Bill Clay

    Bill Clay Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011

    Dec 1, 2011
    91
    24
    18
    I agree, the dalvik optimization is definitely the culprit in causing the bootloops.
     
  16. Tokens210

    Tokens210 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    849
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012

    Apr 3, 2012
    849
    182
    93
    Male
    General Contractor
    Clifton Heights, PA (Just Outside Philadelphia)
    Just so I'm clear here lol

    I'm running the like feb 28th cm11 or something, thinking about upgrading to the newest version this weekend

    I usually always do a full wipe/clean install

    I am using the dalvik optimization


    So my question is, is this bootloop issue ppl are encountering only when dirty flash/ or upgrading??

    So if I do my typical full wipe/ clean install should I run into any issues?


    Also I see a few saying the optimization is what's causing the issue so is it stopping the ROM install causing the bootloops?

    Or is it after our running the ROM trying to install it causes bootloops?
     
  17. upconvert

    upconvert Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    231
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2013

    Sep 11, 2013
    231
    89
    73
    You will be fine as long as you don't flash the dalvik optimization.zip. When you flash it, the ROM will no longer boot. Your full wipe will take care of that fine.
     
    Tokens210 likes this.
  18. Tokens210

    Tokens210 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    849
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012

    Apr 3, 2012
    849
    182
    93
    Male
    General Contractor
    Clifton Heights, PA (Just Outside Philadelphia)
    Thanks, just didn't wanna fly in blind

    Secondary, does the optimization work later, like if I fully set the ROM up then flash it ?

    I'm cool if the optimiztion doesn't work anymore, just gotten used to it in my typical flash process.


    Thx again
     
  19. xstefen

    xstefen Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    981
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012

    Dec 10, 2012
    981
    207
    93
    Male
    EUC Specialist @ Fidelity Investments
    Under your bed
    the optimized dalvik is a placebo effect, not really useful or very functional for this phone
     
  20. upconvert

    upconvert Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    231
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2013

    Sep 11, 2013
    231
    89
    73
    It will cause a bootloop whenever you flash it.
     
    Tokens210 likes this.
  21. Bill Clay

    Bill Clay Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011

    Dec 1, 2011
    91
    24
    18
    Just a quick update - the Optimized Dalvik flash has been updated to work with CM11.

    [4.4/4.4.x][PATCH] Qualcomm-optimized Dalvik & Bionic libraries - xda-developers

    From the XDA thread:


    "If you're running CM11 released after 1 March 2014 or any other ROM that includes fixes to DVM, please flash 4.4_qc-optimized_dalvik-cm11.zip. This is the only file you need, don't flash anything else from this thread!"


     
    upconvert likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...