1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Virgin Mobile] bringing s3 from sprint to vm

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by phatboyslim12, Jul 15, 2013.

  1. phatboyslim12

    phatboyslim12 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    130
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011

    Dec 6, 2011
    130
    22
    38
    East Coast, U.S...
    i have an s3 from sprint a friend gave me, id like to use it on my vm account, ive read around and found different ways of getting it to work but im looking for more info about it.
    this is what i currently have
    the sprint s3, and a donor phone. also i can download the vm firmware on this site. what i really need is a good detailed write up thread if one exists...

    i am experienced in rooting, custom roms, etc. but i havnt gone to far into programming
     

    Advertisement

  2. spacepanda

    spacepanda Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    96
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013

    Jun 11, 2013
    96
    14
    18
    California
    If your on the latest firmware you should be able to just use the Cm 10.1 thread. Make a nandroid backup though

    Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk 4 Beta
     
  3. phatboyslim12

    phatboyslim12 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    130
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011

    Dec 6, 2011
    130
    22
    38
    East Coast, U.S...
    so i can use the cm10.1 tutorial to get the s3 onto virgin, i just need to flash the virgin software eh, easier than i expected, ill update when i start the procedure
     
  4. spacepanda

    spacepanda Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    96
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013

    Jun 11, 2013
    96
    14
    18
    California
    Actually... You might need to flash cm 10(not 10.1) because there is no virgin update for 4.2
    You'll need to get a stock virgin modem
    Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk 4 Beta
     
  5. toddm27

    toddm27 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2013

    Jun 17, 2013
    8
    1
    6
    you don't need the virgin modem, I've been on a Sprint s3 flashed to virgin for over a year, you won't have 4g though, unless your donor had 4g anyway, pm me if you need help flashing it, I used dfs to do it all, pretty easy, you'll be able to use any Sprint rom, 4g may not work without the virgin modem though
     
  6. phatboyslim12

    phatboyslim12 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    130
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011

    Dec 6, 2011
    130
    22
    38
    East Coast, U.S...
    hey thanks for all the info, as i understand it if i use the sprint modem ill have better service, as for 4g i dont get it in my area anyway so thats fine, ill be working on the s3 tomorrow.

    toddm27:
    thanks if i need help ill pm you, also from what i understand i might be able to just use my donor phone and cm to root etc, and i can get it on vm without flashing the vm rom in theory
     
  7. phatboyslim12

    phatboyslim12 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    130
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011

    Dec 6, 2011
    130
    22
    38
    East Coast, U.S...
    hey so i have been trying to find a thread on flashing the s3 over to vm from sprint, can i get a good link to a thread that can help me out.

    i have a vm optimus v and my galaxy s3.

    thanks in advanced
     
  8. StaticMaal

    StaticMaal Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    315
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010

    Nov 21, 2010
    315
    155
    68
    Hacking Android Phone
    Raleigh,NC
    @phatboyslim12
    If toddm27 haven't helped you flash your sprint s3 to vm pm me and I'll help you. I had mine flashed to vm from Dec 2012 - Jun 2013 until I saw the thread on flashing Sprint S3 to Verizon prepaid was alright for 2 months now data is acting up and I might be going back to VM. I used the sprint S3 roms and custom 4.2.2 roms for mms. Also if he has already helped you did you flash a VM modem to get 4G working if you had it in your area they just got it in mine now I'm even more eager to go back to VM if I can get LTE.
     
    GetPhuct likes this.
  9. oscarthevirgin

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013

    Aug 20, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    hey i happen to have a sprint galaxy s3 and would greatly appreciate if you could pm me some instructions on how to flash it to virgin mobile?
     
  10. ranjah

    ranjah Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013

    Sep 14, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    Can someone please provide me how to flash s3 from sprint to VM.

    Thank You
     
  11. GetPhuct

    GetPhuct Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010

    Nov 13, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    I would greatly appreciate any and all help with flashing a sprint Samsung Galaxy S3 to virgin mobile with a Motorola triumph donor. I'm fairly good at most of this stuff so hopefully I won't be hard to help. Thanks
     
  12. mavman42

    mavman42 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013

    Dec 27, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    If anyone can PM me how to do this that would be great I have qpst and dfs ready to roll. Thing is I can't seem to get my aaa key thus me hitting a brick wall and now stuck.
     

Share This Page

Loading...